The village of Kyriivka is located on the right bank of the Ubed River, 10 kilometers northeast of Sosnytsia.
It was founded at the beginning of the 17th century when the northern lands were settled by Ukrainian Cossacks and people from Muscovy. Probably, the first settler was called Kyrei, hence the name.
The Orthodox church in Kyriivka existed since 1638, and a parish school was opened in 1894. In 1904, the current wooden Transfiguration Church was built.
The former cultural center has now been transformed into the Kyriivka Center of Folk Traditions and Customs.
Transfiguration Church
Temple , Architecture
The Church of the Transfiguration in Kyriivka was built in 1904 in the classical style of the monumental wooden architecture of Ukraine at the beginning of the 20th century.
The single-domed temple stands on a stone foundation, the three-tiered belfry is attached to the nave and topped with a tent with a lantern and an onion crown. The height of the bell tower to the top of the cross is approximately 25 meters.
The church is bright because it has 19 large rectangular two-meter windows in the lower part and 8 of the same windows on the dome. The log house is made of oak and pine beams. The outer walls are sheathed with boards facing each other: below the level of the windows - vertically, above - horizontally.
There are similar temples in the villages of Kobyzhcha and Ploske, Chernihiv region.
Administrative status | village |
---|---|
Founded / first mentioned | XVII |
Latitude | 51.6044 |
Longitude | 32.58446 |
Area, sq. km | 1.79 |
Population | 558 |
Postal codes | 16133 |
Region | Chernihiv |