Attractions of Ukraine
Attractions Lviv region
Attractions Sambir district
Attractions Dobromyl
Saint Onuphrius Basilian Monastery
The Basilian Monastery of Saint Onuphrius the Great near Dobromyl was first mentioned in 1613, when Yan Shchensny Herburt and his wife Yelyzaveta, a princess from the Zaslavsky family, granted the holy monastery a foundation deed.
First, the church of Saint Father Nicholas was built, which stood for more than two hundred years and was dismantled after a natural disaster by order of the abbot Venedykt Olshynsky. In 1723, the stone church of Saint Onuphrius was built, and in 1731 - a two-story building of cells and a bell tower adjacent to it.
In plan, the bell tower is square, from the facade it is two-story, but inside it has four floors. The lower tier with a passage covered by a semi-circular vault, the upper one is finished with a bulbous head. The facades are decorated w ...
Last update
6/12/2024
Categories | Temple, Architecture |
---|---|
Date of foundation | 1613 |
Address |
Zamkova Street, 165
Dobromyl |
Coordinates |
49.5529155° N, 22.7717173° E
|
Phone | +380 3238 33 124, |
symeon@ukr.net | |
Official site |
https://www.dobromyl-monastery... |
https://www.facebook.com/dobro... |
Add practical or descriptive information, photos, links