The half-destroyed bell tower is the only surviving fragment of the Church of the Assumption in Kiliia. It is also the only surviving structure of the Kiliia fortress, except for the defensive moat.
The Church of the Assumption of the Mother of God was built in the 15th century by the order of the Moldavian ruler Stephen III the Great at the same time as the construction of the fortress according to the project of the Byzantine architect and military engineer Privani, who gave the church some features of Sophia of Constantinople.
In 1825-1830, a two-story bell tower was built near the main entrance to the Church of the Assumption.
In 1947, the Soviet authorities razed the ancient temple to the ground. Today, only the remains of the bell tower have survived.
Last update
7/30/2024
Categories | Temple, Architecture |
---|---|
Date of foundation | XV century |
Address |
Bukova Street
Kiliia |
Coordinates |
45.433748° N, 29.268748° E
|
Add practical or descriptive information, photos, links