The remote Polissyan village of Pekariv is located in the confluence of the Desna and Seym rivers, 100 kilometers east of Chernihiv, 10 kilometers southeast of Sosnytsia. Administratively, it is part of the Sosnytsia hromada of the Koryukivka district of the Chernihiv region.
The first written references to the village of Pekariv date back to the first half of the 17th century, when it belonged to Oleksandr Kysil. Among local historians there is a version that the name of the village is connected with the fact that the first settlers were bakers from Kyiv.
In 1762, Hetman Kyrylo Rozumovskyi handed over the village to the Nizhyn regimental commander Hryhoriy Dolynskyi, who was the chief caretaker of the post office of the Kyiv tract. Since then, Pekariv belonged to the Dolyns ...
Dolynsky Palace
Palace / manor
The wooden palace of the Dolynskyi landowners in the village of Pekariv in the Chernihiv region was built in 1834 in the style of classicism. This is a rare example of wooden manor construction of the Left Bank of Ukraine, preserved from the 19th century.
The regimental osavul Hryhoriy Karpovych Dolynskyi received the village of Pekariv from hetman Kyrylo Rozumovskyi in 1762. His grandson Hryhoriy Hryhorovych Dolynskyi built a new palace on the site of his grandfather's estate. Its last resident was the landowner Sofiya Dolynska.
The two-story building is made in the style of early classicism with baroque elements. The main and park facades are decorated with four-column porticoes of the Tuscan order. The walls are decorated with wood carvings. A spiral staircase leads to the second floor.
During Soviet times, the Dolynskyi estate housed a school, thanks to which the building has survived to this day. The palace has been empty since 2001. Activists plan restoration.
Administrative status | village |
---|---|
Founded / first mentioned | XVII |
Latitude | 51.47277 |
Longitude | 32.61925 |
Area, sq. km | 1.61 |
Population | 416 |
Postal codes | 16150 |
Region | Chernihiv |