Husiatyn is a town on the banks of the Zbruch River in the Medobory foothills, between Chortkiv and Horodok.
It was first mentioned in 1159 (according to other data in 1431). According to legend, it was founded by a settler named Us; it was called Usiatyn, Vsiatyn .
In 1455, Husiatyn received Magdeburg law. Podilsk voivode Yan Sverch built a defensive fortress in the 15th century to protect against the Tatars (it has not been preserved). In 1594, Severyn Nalyvayko, a native of Husiatyn, at the head of a detachment of rebel Cossacks, looted and burned his hometown to avenge the death of his father (a monument was erected).
Most of the architectural monuments date back to the 16th and 17th centuries, when the city was owned by the Kalinovsky nobles. In 1610, they built t ...
Bernardine Church
Temple , Architecture
The Bernardine church and monastery was founded in Husiatyn in 1610 by the Polish magnate Valentiy Oleksandr Kalynovskyi, who handed over the first wooden church to the Bernardine brothers.
10 years later, the future Crown Hetman Martyn Kalynovskyi started the construction of a baroque stone church and a two-story monastery building. In 1648, the monastery was destroyed by the Tatars. It began to be restored after the liberation of the city from Turkish rule, and was completed only in 1728.
Under the Austrians, the church became a parish church, and under the Soviet authorities it was closed. The revival began in 1991 with the efforts of the Franciscan brothers. Currently, it is the Catholic Church of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary, the building needs restoration.
Defense Synagogue
Architecture , Temple
The defensive synagogue in the Gothic-Moorish style is located on a hill in the oldest part of Husiatyn.
It was built in the 16th century, when there was a significant Hasidic Jewish community in the city. Initially, the building had a pronounced defensive character, but in many respects it lost it after the reconstruction of the 17th century. Gun loopholes have been preserved in the walls of the first tier.
During the Second World War, the building was badly damaged. Later, the synagogue was restored, placing a local lore museum in its premises. Later, the museum was moved to another building, the synagogue building is falling into disrepair.
Husiatyn Museum of Local Lore
Museum / gallery
Husiatyn Museum of Local Lore was founded in 1979. Until 2006, the exhibition was housed in an ancient synagogue building.
The museum has more than 16,000 exhibits: animal bones, stone and bronze tools, pottery, antique embroidery and more. In one of the halls there is an exposition of the settlement-sanctuary Bohit, which was part of the "Zbruch cult center" (village Horodnytsia). A copy of the famous Zbruchansky idol is presented.
Saint Onuphrius Church
Temple , Architecture
The Church of Saint Onuphrius in Husiatyn was built in the 16th century, when the defense system of the medieval city was being formed, which also included a castle and a synagogue.
Together with the church, they formed a fortified triangle with the town hall square inside. The thickness of the walls of the temple reaches 2.2 meters. The upper battle tier has not been preserved. It was probably a wooden gallery around the perimeter of the tower. The walls around the temple have been preserved.
During the Turkish rule of 1672-1683, the Saint Onuphrius Church was rebuilt into a mosque.
Today it is an active Greek Catholic church.
Administrative status | urban village |
---|---|
Founded / first mentioned | 1159 |
Latitude | 49.06971 |
Longitude | 26.18113 |
Population | 7139 |
Postal codes | 48200 |
Region | Ternopil |