The ancient village of Panivtsi on the Smotrych River is located 10 kilometers downstream from Kamyanets-Podilskyi.
It was first mentioned in 1460 as the property of the Kamianets bishops. Around 1590, Kamianets chief Yan Potoski built the Panivtsi Castle, which soon became a refuge for Calvinists who fled Western Europe from the persecution of Protestants. Calvinists built a church in Panivtsi and founded a collegium, and in 1608 they launched the first printing house in Podillya. Several anti-Catholic publications were issued from the Panivtsi printing house, which sharply criticized the policy of the Pope. Only after the death of Yan Potoski in 1611 was the printing house closed, and the Calvinists were ex ...
Panivtsi Castle
Castle / fortress
The castle in Panivtsi was founded in 1590 by Jan Potoski, the elder of Kamyanets, on the basis of older fortifications.
The stone fortifications were surrounded by a deep moat (now filled in). A two-story palace was attached to the defensive wall between the northern towers, a chapel was arranged in the southwestern tower, and a two-story collegium building and a gate tower were located between the southern towers. On the first floor of the palace was the Calvinist printing house, which worked from 1608 to 1611.
During the Liberation War, the Panivtsi Castle was destroyed by the Cossacks, and in 1769-1770 it was partially restored.
In 1840, Count Karol Starzhynskyi built a luxurious two-story palace with arcades (now in ruins) between the two northern towers above Smotrych.
The southern castle wall with a gate tower and a collegium attached to it on both sides is well preserved. Adjacent to the collegium is a church built in 1907 on the basis of the south-western tower-chapel (now the building of culture and village council).
The stables and farm buildings of the count's estate were converted into a village school during Soviet times.
Despite the many reconstructions and the general poor condition, the Panivtsi Castle reflects the evolution of a regular wall castle to a tower castle.
Administrative status | village |
---|---|
Founded / first mentioned | 1460 |
Latitude | 48.62412 |
Longitude | 26.609411 |
Population | 1048 |
Postal codes | 32376 |
Region | Khmelnytskyi |