The village of Mankivtsi on the Riv River is located 15 kilometers east of Bar.
According to legend, the village used to be called Tyahin, but it was renamed in honor of a certain landowner Manka, who became famous for her charity.
It was mentioned for the first time in 1539, when the Polish queen Bona Sforza joined the Mankivtsi to her Podil possessions. Later it belonged to Vyhovskyi, Lyubomyrskyi, Poninskyi and others. In 1763, the landowner Józef Dembsky founded the Church of the Holy Trinity, which was built in its current form in 1789. The last owners of the village were the landowners Lvovs.
The wooden Pokrovsky Church (1882) has also been preserved.
Holy Trinity Church
Temple , Architecture
The Church of the Holy Trinity in Mankivtsi was founded in 1763 by the landowner Yuzef Dembskyi. In 1789, it was rebuilt in stone in the forms of early classicism.
During Soviet times, the temple was closed, now it is in a dilapidated state. A slab with an epitaph in honor of Teklya Dembska-Vitoslavska (1830) has partially survived.
Administrative status | village |
---|---|
Founded / first mentioned | 1539 |
Latitude | 49.05398 |
Longitude | 27.831802 |
Population | 1025 |
Postal codes | 23030 |
Region | Vinnytsia |