The village of Navariia is located in a recreation area 10 kilometers from Lviv in the direction of Pustomyty.
It has been known since 1493 as a small town within the Rus Voivodeship of Poland. In 1578, the Polish king Stefan Batoriy granted Navaria the Magdeburg right, which had a great impact on the economic development of the city.
The Church of the Ascension was built in 1641-1645, completely reconstructed in 1740-1760 under the leadership of the famous Lviv architect Bernard Meretyn.
The village is home to the Hlynna-Navariia lake, which has long attracted vacationers from Lviv. There is a modern recreation complex.
Село Наварія розташоване в рекреаційній зоні в 10 кылометрах від Львова в бік Пустомит.
Відоме з 1493 року як маленьке містечко в складі Руського воєводства Польщі. В 1578 році польський король Стефан Баторій надав Наварії Магдебурзьке право, яке справило великий вплив на економічний розвиток міста.
Вознесенський костел побудований в 1641-1645 роках, повністю реконструйований в 1740-1760 роках під керівництвом знаменитого львівського архітектора Бернарда Меретина.
В селі знаходиться озеро Глинна-Наварія, яке здавна привертає відпочиваючих зі Львова. Є сучасний комплекс відпочинку.
Ascension of Holy Virgin Mary Church
Temple , Architecture
The first wooden Catholic church in the village of Navariia near Lviv was built at the turn of the 16th and 17th centuries, but it was soon burned down by the Tatars.
The same fate befell the second wooden temple.
Only in 1641-1645 was the stone Ascension Church built at the expense of Elzhbeta Humnytska. The temple was damaged during the Liberation War and in 1739 the shrine was partially dismantled. The money for the reconstruction was allocated by the Venyavskyi family, and in 1740-1748, the prominent Lviv architect with Italian roots, Bernard Meretyn, built a new Ascension Church on the old foundations in the then popular late baroque style. It was probably the first work of the master.
Finishing and decoration with the participation of the artist Antonio Tavelli continued for several more decades. A bell tower was built in 1766.
In 1991, the church, restored after the Soviet period, was re-consecrated as the Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary, and after 2011 it changed its title to Saint Valentine, since the relics of this saint have been kept here since the 17th century.
{{itemKey}} | {{itemValue}} |
---|---|
Region |
Lviv |