The village of Mariiampil is located on the high left bank of the Dniester, 20 kilometers southeast of Halych.
In the 12th-15th centuries, there was an ancient Rus settlement of Chortopil at this place, which was later destroyed by the Tatars (it was first mentioned in 1378). In the 17th century, a wooden castle Bozhyi Vydok, belonging to the nobleman Tadeush Belzetsky, was built on the hillfort, which was also burned by the Tatars.
The new settlement of Mariiampil was founded in 1691 by the Polish hetman Stanislav Yan Jablonovskyi. He built a stone castle and a church for the miraculous icon "Victory" or "Knight's Mother of God" (in honor of the Virgin Mary, the settlement proba ...
Capuchin Monastery
Temple , Architecture
The monastery of the Catholic order of Capuchins was founded in Marynopil (Mariiampil) in 1742-1746 at the expense of the Bratslav voivode, Yan Kayetan Yablonovskyi.
In 1757, the construction of Saint Anthoniy's Church was completed. A collegium with philosophy and rhetoric classes, a school for orphans, and a hospital operated at the monastery.
Under the Austrian authorities, the monastery was handed over to the Sisters of Charity of the Order of Charits, and the church came under the control of the Greek Catholic community of Mariiampil.
In 1948, a boarding school was placed next to the monastery, then an LTP. Today it is the Halytskyi correctional colony.
Yablonovsky Castle
Castle / fortress
The Mariiampil castle on the high left bank of the Dniester was built in 1691 by the famous Polish commander, the great crown hetman Stanisłav Yablonovsky.
In the 12th-15th centuries, there was an ancient Rus settlement of Chortopil on this place, and later - a wooden castle of Bozhiy Vydok. Yablonovsky Castle was named Mariiampil in honor of the icon of the Virgin Mary "the Victorious", who accompanied the hetman in all his military campaigns. The fortress had four defensive towers, two entrance gates, a residential building and garrison barracks, a siege well.
In the 18th and 19th centuries, part of the defensive structures were dismantled for the construction of a new palace, which has survived to this day (now a hospital). A 600-year-old oak tree grows in front of the palace, and an ancient park is located behind the house.
There is a healing spring at the foot of Castle Hill (Zamkova Hora).
Administrative status | village |
---|---|
Founded / first mentioned | 1691 |
Latitude | 49.034054 |
Longitude | 24.851698 |
Population | 1015 |
Postal codes | 77181 |
Region | Ivano-Frankivsk |