The neo-Gothic building under the mountain Uzdyhalnytsia on the Andriyivsky descent bears the romantic name "Castle of Richard the Lionheart", built on the order of the merchant Dmytro Orlov as a profitable house.
According to legend, the builders, dissatisfied with the payment, specially planned the ventilation in such a way that the wind would howl in the pipes, which led to rumors of ghosts in the house.
During Soviet times, bohemians lived here. In 1992, Richard's Castle was purchased by an American investor for a hotel, but due to problems with local authorities, the reconstruction was suspended.
Last update
1/22/2025
Categories | Architecture |
---|---|
Date of foundation | 1902-1904 |
Address |
Andriyivsky descent, 15
Kyiv |
Coordinates |
50.46° N, 30.5162° E
|
Add practical or descriptive information, photos, links