Attractions of Ukraine
Attractions region
Attractions Ternopil region
Attractions Kremenets district
Attractions Shumsk
Savior and Transfiguration Church
The Transfiguration Church in Shumsk was founded as a church of the Franciscan monastery in 1715.
The monastery in Shumsk itself was founded by the Volyn voivode Malynsky back in 1637, and was originally a Basilian (Uniate) monastery. In 1676, one of the voivode's descendants, who converted to Catholicism, handed over the monastery to the Franciscans.
The church was made in the Gothic-Renaissance style, the building had a defensive character. At the end of the 18th century, a three-tier bell tower was added. In 1837, the church was rebuilt in the Ukrainian Baroque style and became an Orthodox church.
Above the entrance, the coat of arms of the family of the founders of the Malynsky temple is still preserved.
Спасо-Преображенська церква в Шумську була закладена як костел францисканського монастиря в 1715 році.
Сам шумський монастир був заснований Волинським воєводою Малинським ще в 1637 році, спочатку був василіанським (уніатським). У 1676 році один із нащадків воєводи, який перейшов у католицизм, передав монастир францисканцям.
Костел був виконаний у готично-ренесансному стилі, будівля мала оборонний характер. В кінці XVIII століття було прибудовано триярусну дзвіницю. В 1837 році костел був перебудований у стилі українського бароко та став православним храмом.
Над входом досі зберігається герб сім'ї фундаторів храму Малинських.
Last update
3/25/2024
Categories | Temple, Architecture |
---|---|
Date of foundation | 1715 |
Address |
Ukrayinska Street, 13
Shumsk |
Coordinates | 50.12° N, 26.11111111° E Coordinates copied |
Additional services |
Add practical or descriptive information, photos, links