The main City Gate is one of the key elements of the defense system of the Old City of Kamyanets-Podilskyi.
It belongs to the oldest defensive structures of the city. The gate closed the entrance to Kamyanets through the Turkish Bridge from the Old Fortress.
The City Gate complex was rebuilt in 1746 by the military engineer Christian Dahlke. The entrance to the city was carried out through the Gate Tower, in the premises of which there is now a small cafe. The current passage is cut in the defensive wall. On the opposite side, there is a casemate-laboratory for testing gunpowder, which was produced at gunpowder mills on the Smotrych River. Currently, the laboratory complex houses the restaurant "Under the Gate".
A little above the gate is the Armenian bastion ...
Last update
3/26/2024
Categories | Castle / fortress |
---|---|
Date of foundation | XVI-XVIII centuries |
Address |
Zamkova Street, 1A
Kamyanets-Podilskyi |
Coordinates |
48.67327° N, 26.56772° E
|
Add practical or descriptive information, photos, links