Hoshchansky Intercession Monastery, Hoshcha

Temple

Architecture

Info icon
Information on this page is translated from Ukrainian language automatically by machine translation and may not always accurately express the original. We nevertheless hope it will be of use to you and make it easier for you to plan your trip.

General information about Hoshchansky Intercession Monastery (Hoshcha)

The Hoshchansky Orthodox Monastery was founded in 1639 at the Saint Michael's Church, which, according to the protective plaque, was built in Hoshcha in 1632.

The founder of the monastery was Regina Solomyretska-Hoyska, who inherited Hoshcha from her brother Roman Hoysky. Soon, a relative of Metropolitan Petro Mohyla of Solomyretska transferred here from Vinnytsia a branch of the Kyiv-Mohylyanska Orthodox School, whose rector was Innokenty Hisel. The monastery and the school were helped in every possible way by the champion of Orthodoxy, the Ukrainian nobleman Adam Kysil, who owned the Hoshcha house since 1642. Soon, the Michael Church and the monastery passed to the Greek Catholics, but in 1833 they were finally returned to the Orthodox.

Each time the temple was rebuilt ...

The Hoshchansky Orthodox Monastery was founded in 1639 at the Saint Michael's Church, which, according to the protective plaque, was built in Hoshcha in 1632.

The founder of the monastery was Regina Solomyretska-Hoyska, who inherited Hoshcha from her brother Roman Hoysky. Soon, a relative of Metropolitan Petro Mohyla of Solomyretska transferred here from Vinnytsia a branch of the Kyiv-Mohylyanska Orthodox School, whose rector was Innokenty Hisel. The monastery and the school were helped in every possible way by the champion of Orthodoxy, the Ukrainian nobleman Adam Kysil, who owned the Hoshcha house since 1642. Soon, the Michael Church and the monastery passed to the Greek Catholics, but in 1833 they were finally returned to the Orthodox.

Each time the temple was rebuilt, but did not lose its distinctive features. In particular, the window openings have preserved their original slightly arrowed contours - echoes of Gothic architecture. The building acquired its modern appearance as a result of reconstruction in 1888. The warm Saint Nicholas Church was built next to it with a cell building attached to it.

During the Soviet rule, the premises were used for economic purposes. At present, the restored churches are part of the complex of the Saint-Intercession Hoshchansky women's monastery.

Гощанський православний монастир заснований у 1639 році при Михайлівській церкві, яка, як свідчить охоронна табличка, була побудована в Гощі в 1632 році.

Засновницею монастиря була Регіна Соломирецька-Гойська, яка успадкувала Гощу від свого брата Романа Гойського. Незабаром родич Соломирецької митрополит Петро Могила перевів сюди з Вінниці філію Києво-Могилянської православної школи, ректором якої був Інокентій Гізель. Монастирю та школі всіляко допомагав поборник православ'я, український шляхтич Адам Кисіль, який володів Гощею з 1642 року. Незабаром Михайлівський храм та монастир перейшли до греко-католиків, але в 1833 році були остаточно повернуті православним.

Щоразу храм перебудовувався, але не втратив своїх виразних рис. Зокрема, віконні отвори зберегли первісні зле ...

Гощанський православний монастир заснований у 1639 році при Михайлівській церкві, яка, як свідчить охоронна табличка, була побудована в Гощі в 1632 році.

Засновницею монастиря була Регіна Соломирецька-Гойська, яка успадкувала Гощу від свого брата Романа Гойського. Незабаром родич Соломирецької митрополит Петро Могила перевів сюди з Вінниці філію Києво-Могилянської православної школи, ректором якої був Інокентій Гізель. Монастирю та школі всіляко допомагав поборник православ'я, український шляхтич Адам Кисіль, який володів Гощею з 1642 року. Незабаром Михайлівський храм та монастир перейшли до греко-католиків, але в 1833 році були остаточно повернуті православним.

Щоразу храм перебудовувався, але не втратив своїх виразних рис. Зокрема, віконні отвори зберегли первісні злегка стрілчасті контури - відлуння готичної архітектури. Сучасний вид споруда набула в результаті реконструкції 1888 року. Поряд було споруджено теплу Миколаївську церкву з прибудованим до неї корпусом келій.

За радянської влади приміщення використовувалися в господарських цілях. На даний час відреставровані храми входять до комплексу Свято-Покровського Гощанського жіночого монастиря.

Practical information about Hoshchansky Intercession Monastery (Hoshcha)

Last update

Calendar icon

4/4/2023

Categories Temple, Architecture
Date of foundation 1632
Address Tarasa Shevchenko Street, 3

Hoshcha

Coordinates 50.597206° N, 26.6706822° E Copy icon Coordinates copied
Phone +380 3650 22 435,
Additional services
International Symbol of Access

Аccessibility information

Info icon

Have you visited Hoshchansky Intercession Monastery in Hoshcha?

Add practical or descriptive information, photos, links

News and blogs about Hoshchansky Intercession Monastery (Hoshcha)

Reviews about Hoshchansky Intercession Monastery (Hoshcha)

Functional temporarily unavailable