The Catholic Church of the Holy Trinity is one of the first and largest in Podillya, founded in 1603 in Khmilnyk, which was a significant center of Protestantism at the end of the 16th century.
The temple was damaged during the Liberation War, then it was badly damaged during the Turkish rule at the end of the 17th century. Majorly renovated and expanded at the expense of Mykhaylo Zaleskyi, rededicated in 1728 under the name Beheading of Ioann the Baptist.
The last reconstruction was carried out at the beginning of the 20th century. An oil painting of the early 20th century has been preserved in the interior of the church in the Tuscan Baroque style.
Today it is an active Roman Catholic church of the Holy Trinity of the Kamyanets-Podilskyi diocese.
Last update
2/27/2025
Categories | Temple, Architecture |
---|---|
Date of foundation | 1603 |
Address |
Tarasa Shevchenko Street, 7
Khmilnyk |
Coordinates |
49.55437° N, 27.94746° E
|
Phone | +380 4338 22 512, |
kostel.khmilnyk@hotmail.com | |
Official site |
https://kostel2khmilnyk2ua.wix... |
https://www.facebook.com/koste... |
Add practical or descriptive information, photos, links