Attractions of Zarvanytsia

Online travel guide to attractions and sights of Zarvanytsia

Found 2 attractions

Zarvanytsia

change

Sights categories

Available for

Availability settings

Clear filters

All attractions and sights of Zarvanytsia

Церква Пресвятої Трійці, Зарваниця
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Holy Trinity Church

Temple , Architecture

The parish church of the Holy Trinity and the Holy Intercession was founded in Zarvanytsia in 1738 by the efforts and funds of the then owner of the village, Petro Myonchynskyi.

Initially, it was a wooden temple named after Saint John the Baptist. A miraculous icon of the Mother of God was installed here, and in 1740 another image - the Crucifixion of Jesus Christ, which Lviv Metropolitan Atanaziy Sheptytskyi officially recognized as miraculous.

A fire soon destroyed the temple, but the miraculous icons were saved. A stone cross was erected on the site of the burnt temple, which has survived to this day. In 1747-1753, the brick church of the Holy Trinity was built. Miraculous icons were transferred here. In 1784, the church was painted by the artist Andriy Soletskyi.

The miraculous icon of the Mother of God of Zarvanytsia is located in the left aisle (a stone annex to the main building), the icon of the Crucifixion of Jesus Christ is in the right aisle.

Map pin icon Klymentiya Sheptytskoho Street Zarvanytsia

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Марійський духовний центр, Зарваниця
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Marian Spiritual Center

Temple

The Marian spiritual center in Zarvanytsia is the main shrine of the Greek Catholics of Ukraine.

A folk tale tells about a Kyiv monk to whom the Virgin Mary appeared in a dream and ordered him to found a monastery. At this place, a healing spring flowed and an icon of the Mother of God appeared, which was named Zarvanytsia. At the same time, a cave monastery was founded.

It is believed that the first church in Zarvanytsia was built in the 13th century by Prince Vasylko Terebovlyansky after his miraculous healing.

The written mention of the monastery dates back to 1458. In the 17th century, the Tatars destroyed the monastery several times, but the miraculous icon was preserved.

In 1754, Count Myonchynskyi rebuilt the Holy Trinity Church, which has survived to this day (it now houses the icon of the Mother of God of Zarvanytska). In 1867, Pope Pius IX crowned the Zarvanytsia icon, after which the monastery became a major center of pilgrimage.

During the Soviet rule, the monastery was razed to the ground, but local residents managed to save the icon. Until 1988, religious services were conducted secretly. Only in 1991 did the revival of the shrine begin.

On the slope of the mountain near the Strypa River, the majestic Cathedral of the Mother of God of Zarvanytsia with a four-tiered bell tower 75 meters high was built. Nearby - the gate church, the chapel above the spring and the singing field.

Map pin icon Klimentiya Sheptytskoho Street, 92A Zarvanytsia

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Functional temporarily unavailable