The city of Kremenets is a picturesque regional center in the hilly valley of the Irva River among the spurs of the low Kremenets Mountains.
It was first mentioned in the Ipatiyiv Chronicle in 1226, when Prince Mstyslav Udatnyi defeated the troops of the Hungarian king Andriy II, who was trying to capture the city. The Kremenets castle in 1240 withstood the siege of the horde of Khan Batyi, but in 1259 Prince Vasylko (brother of Danylo Halytskyi) himself destroyed the fortress under the terms of an agreement with Temnik Burunday.
The fortifications were restored only during the reign of Mstyslav Danylovych at the end of the 13th century. After joining Lithuania and Poland in 1431, Kremenets received the Magdeburg Law. In 1536 p. King Sigismund I presented the city ...
Kremenets Castle Bona
Castle / fortress
Stone Kremenets Castle on the site of an ancient Rus settlement was built in the 12th century on the top of Castle Hill (Bona). In the 15th century, by order of the Grand Duke Vitovt of Lithuania, it was strengthened with defensive walls.
The prosperity of Kremenets Castle is connected with the name of the Neapolitan princess Bona Sfortsa, the wife of Polish King Syhizmund I, who gave her Kremenets in 1536. A relative of the Roman emperor, Bona strengthened the castle, which at that time had three towers, high walls and a garrison armed with cannons. The castle yard housed barracks, a powder cellar, a siege well (80 meters) and a palace, which Bona turned into a luxurious residence. Although there is no reliable information about the stay of Queen Bona in Kremenets, since those times there have been legends about her beauty, temperament, experience in intrigues, but also about her extreme cruelty.
In 1648, the Kremenets Castle was stormed and completely destroyed by the Cossack detachment of Maksym Kryvonos. A tower with a gate and defensive walls have been preserved.
Excursions are conducted by employees of the Kremenets-Pochaiv state historical and cultural reserve.
Arsen Richynskyi Museum
Museum / gallery
The Arsen Richynskyi Museum was founded in 2004 at the Kremenets Medical School, which bears the name of this outstanding Ukrainian public, political and church figure, composer, photographer, local historian, founder of Ukrainian ethnology of religion, and doctor. The museum was opened in 2008.
The museum's exposition contains numerous and interesting historical documents, books, and photographs that illustrate the life path of this extraordinary personality. The author of most of the photographs displayed on the museum stands is Arsen Richynskyi himself, as he was a professional photographer. The captions to the photographs are his own.
Cossack Cemetery
Historic area
A monument to the Cossacks Maksym Kryvonos, who died in 1648 during the storming of Kremenets Castle, as well as graves with stone Cossack crosses of the 17th and 18th centuries are located on the territory of the current Pyatnytskyi cemetery at the foot of Mount Chercha.
Over a hundred stone tombstones with crosses have survived in the Cossack cemetery of Kremenets, some of which have inscriptions. The monument in the form of a cross was erected in 1995.
Countess Dzembovska Palace
Palace / manor , Architecture
The palace of Countess Karolina Dzembovska was built in the neoclassical style by the architect Yuzef Hofman before 1750.
The building is maintained in a romantic style with elements of Moorish color. A park was created around the villa by the English gardener Dionysius Mikler.
At the end of the 19th century, the estate belonged to Count Pavlo Demydov. Now it is secondary school No. 2.
Education History Museum "Volyn Athens"
Museum / gallery
The Museum of the History of Education "Volyn Athens" was established in Kremenets in 2024. It is a structural unit of the Taras Shevchenko Kremenets Regional Humanitarian and Pedagogical Academy.
The museum includes: "Museum of the History of Education", "Scientific Laboratory "Creativity of Ulas Samchuk and Borys Kharchuk: Artistic Chronicle of the 20th Century", "Mazurko Educational and Methodological Center", "European Linguistic and Didactic Educational Hub for the Study of Languages and Cultures", "Gallery of the Founding Fathers of Educational Institutions of the City of Kremenets", etc.
The museum exposition reflects all stages of the history of the Academy.
Administrative status | city |
---|---|
Founded / first mentioned | 1226 |
Latitude | 50.0967 |
Longitude | 25.726414 |
Area, sq. km | 18.138 |
Population | 20674 |
Postal codes | 47002-47004 |
Region | Ternopil |