Attractions of Chernihiv

Online travel guide to attractions and sights of Chernihiv

Found 27 attractions

Chernihiv

change

Sights categories

Available for

Availability settings

Clear filters

All attractions and sights of Chernihiv

Філармонійний центр, Чернігів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Chernihiv Regional Philharmonic Center (Diocesan Brotherhood)

Architecture , Theater / show

The Chernihiv Regional Philharmonic Center of Festivals and Concert Programs is located in the former building of the Nicholas Diocesan Brotherhood.

During construction, the Oleksandr Nevsky Chapel, built in 1870, was included in the general ensemble of the building. From 1932 until the beginning of World War II, the Taras Shevchenko Ukrainian Music and Drama Theater of Chernihiv was located in the building.

It was burned in August 1941 during German bombing. Restored in the post-war years with a 3rd floor superstructure over the former chapel.

An example of neo-Rus style architecture, common at the turn of the 19th and 20th centuries.

Since 1964, the Philharmonic Hall has been located in the building.

Map pin icon Myru Avenue, 15 Chernihiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Церква Михаїла і Федора, Чернігів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Church of the Holy Martyrs of Chernihiv Prince Michael and his Boyar Fedir

Temple , Architecture

The Church of the Holy Martyrs of Chernihiv Prince Michael and his Boyar Fedir is located on the banks of the Stryzhen River, on the site of the estate of the famous Colonel Pavlo Polubotko.

Before the revolution, there was a theological seminary near the church - one of the oldest educational institutions in pre-revolutionary Chernihiv. Now the buildings of the military hospital are located here.

In the world, only three churches bear the name of the holy martyrs of Chernihiv prince Mykhaylo Vsevolodovych and his boyar Fedir, who refused to bow to the Mongol idols during the invasion of Batiy and were brutally executed by the Mongols. There are such temples in Chernihiv, Moscow and a small Canadian town.

Belongs to the Orthodox Church of Ukraine.

Map pin icon Hetmana Polubotka Street, 40 Chernihiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей історії Лісковиці, Чернігів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

History of Liskovytsya Museum

Museum / gallery

The Museum of the History of Liskovytsya is located in the old premises of Chernihiv School No. 4 with more than a hundred years of history.

The museum is dedicated to the district of Liskovytsya, Chernihiv Podil, which has been known since ancient Rus times, where artisans and burghers lived. Various periods of its history are told by the exhibits in the sections "Liskovytsya in the period of Kyivan Rus", "Liskovytsya - one of the Christian centers of Chernihiv", "History of the school" and others.

One of the central exhibits is an ancient loom.

Map pin icon Tolstoho Street, 23 Chernihiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Садиба Глібова, Чернігів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Hlibov Estate

Palace / manor , Architecture

The estate of the leader of the Chernihiv nobility Hryhoriy Hlibov appeared on the outskirts of Chernihiv - on Bobrovytsa - at the end of the 19th century.

Deputy of the State Duma, wealthy landowner Hryhoriy Hlibov had the reputation of an eccentric person. He built his romantic palace in the Neo-Gothic style, decorating it with a somewhat clumsy watchtower. A linden avenue led to the manor, along which lay large boulders. Even then, local residents nicknamed the Hlibov Palace "castle".

Currently, the Institute of Agricultural Microbiology of the Ukrainian Academy of Agrarian Sciences is located in the Hlibov estate.

Map pin icon Tarasa Shevchenko Street, 97 Chernihiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Свято-Троїцький собор, Чернігів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Holy Trinity Cathedral

Temple , Architecture

The Holy Trinity Cathedral in Chernihiv is part of the complex of the Trinity-Elijah Monastery, founded on the Boldyni Hills in the 11th century by Antoniy Pecherskyi.

After the Mongol-Tatar invasion, the monastery was revived in 1649 on the initiative of Colonel Stepan Podobaylo. The ensemble of the Trinity Cathedral with the bell tower, the Church of the Introduction and the Refectory was built in 1679-1695 at the expense of Hetman of Ukraine Ivan Mazepa. The wonderful architecture in the Ukrainian Baroque style is the work of the talented Vilnius architect Yohann-Batyst Zauer (Yohann Baptyst).

Since 1790, the Trinity-Elijah Monastery has served as the residence of the Archbishop of Chernihiv - the so-called "Archbishop's House" is located here.

The monastery itself is closed, but the cathedral is open to parishioners. The relics of Chernihiv saints rest in the Trinity Cathedral: Saint Theodosius of Chernihiv, Saint Lavrenty, Saint Filaret (Humylevskyi), parts of the relics of some Kyiv saints.

The biker poet Leonid Hlibov is buried near the southern wall of the cathedral.

The 58-meter-high monumental bell tower is open for visitors (195 steps), the best panorama of Chernihiv opens from above.

The Holy Trinity Cathedral is part of the National Architectural and Historical Reserve "Ancient Chernihiv".

Map pin icon Tolstoho Street, 92 Chernihiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Військово-історичний музей, Чернігів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Military History Museum

Museum / gallery

The Military History Museum in Chernihiv is a department of the Chernihiv Historical Museum.

His expositions are dedicated to the participation of Chernihiv residents in the Second World War, in partisan detachments, tell about the fate of camp prisoners, the defense of Chernihiv region in 1941 and its liberation in the fall of 1943.

The exposition also reveals the contribution of Chernihiv residents to the liquidation of the Chornobyl accident and its consequences. In the courtyard of the museum there is a small exhibition of military equipment.

During the large-scale Russian invasion in 2022, the Military History Museum in Chernihiv was heavily damaged by shelling.

Map pin icon Tarasa Shevchenko Street, 55A Chernihiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Пам'ятник борцям за волю, Чернігів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Monument to fighters for freedom and independence of Ukraine

Monument

The monument to the fighters for the freedom and independence of Ukraine near the Catherine's Church in Chernihiv was erected in 2009 for the 13th anniversary of the Constitution of Ukraine.

Back in the early 1990s, activists of national-democratic organizations installed a memorial stone here, near which various actions were held.

The author of the monument is Vinnytsia sculptor Volodymyr Smarovoz. The figure of a Cossack with a child in his arms represents young Ukraine.

Map pin icon Myru Avenue, 6A Chernihiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей "Пласт-Арт", Чернігів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Plast-Art Modern Art Museum

Museum / gallery

Chernihiv Museum of Modern Art "Plast-Art" opened in 2010 on the basis of one of the first non-state art galleries of Ukraine "Plast-Art", founded in 1994.

It is located in the historical center of Chernihiv in the premises of the regional art museum named after Hryhoriy Galagan in seven modernly equipped exhibition halls with a total area of ​​700 square meters.

The museum organizes many exhibition projects of various scales - from debut shows of novice artists to international festivals and conceptual expositions of famous masters in the techniques of painting, graphics, photography, sculpture, etc. Festivals of contemporary art are also held, which are aimed at presenting the work of the best contemporary artists, popularizing contemporary Ukrainian and foreign art, supporting young talented artists, sculptors, photographers.

Both personal and collective exhibitions were presented: by Mykhaylo Shemyakin, Feodosiy Humenyuk, Viktor Kovtun, Vasyl Lopata, Anatoliy Haydamaka, Petro Lebedyntsya, Leonid Bernat, Olha Solovyova, Nataliya Papirna, Oleksiy Kulakov, Mykola Nebylytsia, Anatoliy Furlet and many other famous artists.

Map pin icon Muzeyna Street, 6 Chernihiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Спасо-Преображенський собор, Чернігів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Savior and Transfiguration Cathedral

Temple , Architecture , UNESCO world heritage site

Savior and Transfiguration Cathedral in Chernihiv is one of the oldest Christian churches in Ukraine, a unique example of ancient Rus architecture.

It was built for Prince Mstyslav Khorobryi, becoming his tomb. Ihor Svyatoslavovych, the hero of "A word about Ihor's campaign", is buried here.

Fragments of ancient Rus frescoes, a wonderful iconostasis of the 18th century have been preserved in the interior of the Transfiguration Cathedral. Part of the collection of gold and silver church utensils of the Transfiguration Cathedral is kept in the Chernihiv Historical Museum.

Chernihiv Savior and Transfiguration Cathedral is included in the UNESCO list of cultural values.

Nearby is the archbishop's house (1780), which now houses the archive.

Since 1967, the Transfiguration Cathedral has been part of the National Architectural and Historical Reserve "Ancient Chernihiv".

Map pin icon Preobrazhenska Street, 1A Chernihiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

No image
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Vasyl Dunin-Borkovsky Manor

Palace / manor , Architecture

The manor of Chernihiv colonel Vasyl Dunin-Borkovsky, general of the Hetmanshyna, was located on the outskirts of Chernihiv, in the village of Bobrovytsia (now a microdistrict of the city).

On the basements of the one-story colonel's house, built in the 1680s and 1690s, there is now a two-story house built later in the classicism style.

The facility is located on the territory of a military unit, access is limited.

Map pin icon Tarasa Shevchenko Street, 105 Chernihiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Будинок Тарновського, Чернігів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Vasyl Tarnovsky's house

Architecture

The house in the pseudo-Gothic style was built at the end of the 19th century on the then northeastern outskirts of Chernihiv as a craft class of an orphanage.

In 1900-1901, it was rebuilt and expanded to accommodate the historical exposition of the famous patron Vasyl Tarnovsky, Jr., who bequeathed his unique collection of paintings and manuscripts to the city. In 1902, the Chernihiv Museum of Ukrainian Antiquities was opened in the renovated building. More than 700 items were dedicated to Taras Shevchenko.

Until 1979, the Tarnovsky House, as the building was nicknamed, housed the exposition of the Chernihiv Historical Museum, and since 1980, the regional library for youth has been located here.

On March 11, 2022, as a result of the bombing by Russia, the building suffered significant damage. The Russian military aircraft dropped three high-explosive 500-kilogram bombs on the yard of the Tarnovsky House and the nearby stadium. The bomb that fell in the yard destroyed the wall of the Tarnovskyi House, the roof and the interior floors.

Map pin icon Tarasa Shevchenko Street, 63 Chernihiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Єлецький монастир, Чернігів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Yeletsky Dormition Monastery

Temple , Architecture

The Yeletsky Dormition Monastery was founded in Chernihiv in the 11th century by Prince Svyatoslav Yaroslavovych of Chernihiv (1027-1076) as a country princely residence.

Restored in 1445-1495 after the Mongol-Tatar invasion. Caves from the Ancient Rus period have been preserved. After the reconstruction of the 17th century, the architectural ensemble of Yeletsky Monastery took on the features of the Ukrainian Baroque: Dormition Cathedral (XII century), 36-meter-high belfry above the gate, Peter and Paul Church with a refectory, cells, Lyzohub tomb, wooden house of Archimandrite Theodosius Uhhlytskyi (1688).

In the strict interior of the cathedral, fragments of ancient frescoes have been preserved.

The Yeletsky Dormition Monastery is part of the National Architectural and Historical Reserve "Ancient Chernihiv".

Map pin icon Knyazya Chornoho Street, 1 Chernihiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Functional temporarily unavailable