Українська
русский [страна агрессор]
Attractions of Ukraine
Attractions of Mykolaiv region
Attractions of Mykolaiv district
Found 57 attractions
Mykolaiv district
Open map
Available for
Availability settings
Park / garden
Pushkin Square was opened in Mykolaiv in 1988. It is located at the intersection of Pushkin Street and Naberezhna Street, where the Inрul Bridge begins.
In 2011, the square was reconstructed, and the fence around it, which was regularly painted with graffiti, was decorated with drawings based on the plots of famous fairy tales and episodes from the writer's life.
A bronze sculpture of twenty-five-year-old Pushkin on a granite pedestal, created by Yuriy Makushyn, was installed in the park. In 2022, during the Russian-Ukrainian war, the Pushkin sculpture was dismantled by the municipal services of the city by the decision of the Mykolaiv city council.
Naberezhna Street Mykolaiv
Rating
Add to favorites
Add to route
Temple , Architecture
The RomanCatholic Church of Saint Joseph was built at the expense of Catholic parishioners in 1896 according to the project of the architect Vladyslav Dombrovskyi.
In 1934, the church was closed by the Bolsheviks. A local lore museum was housed in a nearby building on the territory - one of the first museums of antiquities in the territory of the former Russian Empire (founded in 1803, more than 160,000 exhibits were collected: antiquities from Olbia, instruments of Kyivan Rus, Cossack weapons, etc.).
Since 1992, services have been resumed in the Saint Joseph Church. In recent years, an organ has been installed, and organ music concerts are held. In the yard - a collection of stone women.
Zakhysnykiv Mykolayeva Street, 32 Mykolaiv
The stone Saint Nicholas Cathedral in Mykolaiv was built in 1813 in the style of classicism. Ornaments and paintings of the 19th century have been preserved.
Since its consecration, the temple has never been closed for a long time, even in the midst of the struggle with religion. After the establishment of the Nicholas and Ascension Diocese, when the city of Mykolaiv became the diocesan center, the Saint Nicholas Church was given the status of a cathedral. The temple was restored, bells appeared on the belfry. In the southern part of the cathedral, a side altar was built in honor of the Intercession of the Holy Mother of God. A place for the consecration of water was built near the northern door on the outside.
Saint Nicholas Cathedral in Mykolaiv is included in the list of architectural monuments of state importance.
Oleksiya Vadaturskoho Street, 4 Mykolaiv
The former Turkish mosque is the only Ochakiv building preserved from Turkish times.
It is located on the ramparts of the Ochakiv (Achi-Kale) fortress, which was taken by Russian troops and Black Sea Cossacks in 1788 after the defeat of the Turkish squadron by the Russian-Zaporozhzhian fleet and the troops of Oleksandr Suvorov.
After the capture of the city in 1794, the mosque was transformed into the Orthodox Church of Saint Nicholas the Wonderworker. Initially, a wooden dome was built, and in 1804-1807, a major reconstruction was carried out: a stone altar, vestibule and porch were added, and the stone minaret was transformed into a belfry.
In Soviet times, the Suvorov Military History Museum was located here. Currently, the building has been handed over to the church again and the Ochakiv Saint Nicholas Cathedral is located here again, restoration is in progress.
Marine artist Rufin Sudkovskyi and Ochakiv commandant Orest Shchetynin are buried in the church circle.
Nikolska Street, 1 Ochakiv
Temple
The Chapel of Saint Nicholas was founded in Mykolaiv in 2004 on Soborno-Mykolayivska Square.
Before the revolution, next to this place, at the intersection of Admiralska and Soborna streets, was the main temple of Mykolaiv - the majestic Admiralty Cathedral.
The Church of Saint Nicholas was designed by the architect Oleksandr Domoratskyi. The height from the base to the cross is 16 meters.
Soborno-Mykolayivska Square Mykolaiv
Archaeological site
The ancient settlement "Wild Garden" is the remains of the Cimmerian settlement of the 12th century BC.
This port city at the confluence of the Ingul River with the Pivdennyi Buh appeared during the time of the legendary Troy, half a millennium before the foundation of the ancient Greek Olbia.
The settlement was discovered by the archaeologist Feodosiy Kaminsky in 1927, and regular archaeological research has been conducted since 1990. One of the first finds was a bronze cauldron. Next, fragments of ceramic dishes, tools, and animal bones were discovered - these finds are presented in the local history museum.
The foundations of the walls of the ancient premises, the remains of two stone bridges, and the temple premises of the sun worshipers were cleared. In the northern part, a fragment of a defensive wall and a watchtower were excavated.
The settlement "Wild Garden" was a well-fortified Black Sea port city, an important administrative and trade center that received ships and land caravans. Some researchers consider this settlement to be a proto-state.
It is planned to create a museum complex "Settlement "Wild Garden".
Architecture
In one of the highest places in Mykolaiv, on the top of Spassky Hill, a water tower has been standing for more than a hundred years, the peculiarity of which is its hyperboloid construction.
Despite the curvature, it was built from straight beams. This form was first introduced into architecture by the famous Russian engineer Volodymyr Shukhov, in whose honor this tower was named. According to his project, many similar structures were built in Russia and abroad, including the famous television tower in Moscow on Shabolovska Street.
The question of the need to build a water tower arose in Mykolaiv in July 1904. The city community then spent more than 35 thousand rubles on the implementation of the project.
When the city was occupied by the fascists, the Shukhovska Tower was blown up and overturned. Soon after the liberation of Mykolaiv, the landmark was restored.
Now the tower is not used for its intended purpose, but it still remains the pride of Mykolaiv. The height of the building is 25 meters, and the total capacity of the tank is 50,000 buckets.
Ryumina Street, 9 Mykolaiv
Monument
The monument to Suvorov in Ochakiv was erected in 1907.
Commander Oleksandr Suvorov played a decisive role in the capture by the Russian Empire of the Turkish fortress Ochakiv and the entire Northern Black Sea region. In 1787, during the Battle of Kinburn, Suvorov's troops managed to repulse the attack of the Turkish landing force and hold the Kinburn fortress on the spit opposite Ochakiv. The following year, the Kinburn fortress became the base for the assault on Ochakiv by the Russian troops of Hryhoriy Potomkin and the Black Sea Cossacks of Antin Holovatyi. Suvorov's coastal batteries supported the actions of the Russian squadron under the command of Prince Nassau-Siegen and the Cossack flotilla of Ataman Sidor Belyi, which partially destroyed and partially pushed back the Turkish fleet of Hassan Pasha from Ochakiv.
The opening of the monument to Suvorov in Ochakiv was dedicated to the 120th anniversary of the Battle of Kinburn. Sculptor Borys Eduards depicted Suvorov at the moment when the commander, having been wounded in the chest, nevertheless continued to command the troops.
The monument is located in the square near the Saint Nicholas Cathedral.
Prymorskyi Uzviz, 1 Ochakiv
Museum / gallery
The Toy Museum in Mykolaiv was opened in 2024 by the local travel agency "Kotyhoroshko" in the premises of the House of Artists. The exhibition presents a huge number of soft toys and various dolls.
Young visitors are invited to listen to amazing stories about toys, take part in master classes on making toys and children's entertainment. For adults: various thematic events, quests and meetings, as well as original locations for photos.
Inzhenerna Street, 22 Mykolaiv
A commemorative sign in honor of the 50th anniversary of the founding of the Zorya - Mashroyekt State Enterprise of the NVK Gas Turbine Construction was installed in 2004 on the square in front of the "Molodizhny" PC.
458 warships and civilian ships operating under the flags of 16 countries are equipped with the company's gas turbine engines.
Teatralna Street, 1 Mykolaiv
Architecture , Museum / gallery
The Museum of the Underground Partisan Movement in the Mykolaiv Region was opened in 1975 in an old mansion of the end of the 19th century, which belonged to the family of German colonists von Schardt, well-known in Mykolaiv.
In 1941-1943, the intelligence officer Viktor Lyahin, the head of the Mykolaiv underground resistance center during the Second World War, lived here.
The museum contains a rich collection of documents, photographs, and objects that tell about the struggle of the residents of the Mykolaiv region against the German invaders. Presented are fictitious medical certificates, passes, passports, copies of German seals, made by the underground to save young people from being deported to Germany and to organize the escape of prisoners of war from the concentration camp.
In the center of the hall, a collection of small arms and large-scale models of military equipment are exhibited.
Heroyiv Ryatuvalnykiv Street, 5 Mykolaiv
The National Museum "History of the Village of Radisnyi Sad and Winemaking of Lower Pobuzhye" was created in the 1990s by local historian and local historian Viktor Zadorozhny.
The four exhibition halls reflect the history of the village of Radisnyi Sad, which arose on the basis of vineyards nationalized by the Soviet authorities in the 1920s, founded in 1908 by the German colonist Klyundt.
The exhibits collected in the museum explore the history of the development of viticulture and winemaking in Lower Pobuzhye.
Myru Street, 10 Radisnyi Sad