The settlement of Vesele is located on the right bank of the Kakhovsky Reservoir on the Dnipro, near the Kakhovska HPP, next to the urban-type village of Kozatske. Administratively, it is part of the Kakhovka district of the Kherson region.
In the 14th century, when these lands were the southern outskirts of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania, there was a sentinel post of Vytovtova Mytnytsia (customs), which controlled one of the largest crossings of the Lower Dnipro - Tavan. Since then, the Vytautas Tower has been preserved - the only surviving defense structure from the time of the Lithuanian-Ruthenian state in the south of Ukraine.
The current village of Vesele was founded in 1889 by Prince Pyotr Trubetskoy (Petro Trubetsky), who owned these lands at the end of the 19th century ...
Prince Trubetskoi Winery
Architecture , Museum / gallery , Winery / brewery
Prince Trubetskoi Winery, which is also called "Prince Trubetskoi Chateau", is an ancient winery that produces wines according to classical technology. It is located in the village of Vesele near the urban-type village of Kozatske in the Kherson region.
Wine production in the lower reaches of the Dnipro was started by Prince Petro Trubetskoi, who owned these lands at the end of the 19th century. His relative, the chief winemaker of Crimea Lev Holitsyn, convinced the prince to engage in winemaking. In 1898, Trubetsky planted vineyards on the Dnipro slopes, built wine cellars for 180,000 buckets, and built a winery not far from his palace in Kozatske. Rhine Riesling and Cabernet Sauvignon were chosen as the main grape varieties. White (rainwine, riesling, saber), red (lafite and cabernet), dry (sautern and claret), strong (port wine), and dessert (dried riesling and others) wines were produced here. The best varieties received the "Grand Prix" at the world exhibition in Paris in 1900, in 1902 - the first All-Russian prize.
In Soviet times, the winery in Vesely became famous for the wines "Oksamyt Ukrayiny", "Naddnipryanske" and "Perlyna stepu". For some time, Prince Trubetsky's winery specialized in the production of wine materials for champagne wine factories. In 2005, reconstruction was carried out, a new workshop was built, and modern production was established.
Now the Chateau of Prince Trubetskoi has a developed tourist infrastructure, which includes a museum, a derustation hall, a restaurant, and a hotel. Before the large-scale Russian invasion, tours were conducted to Prince Trubetskoi's estate, the company's production workshops and wine cellars (constant temperature +14 degrees). Wine tastings were offered.
During the Russian occupation in 2022, Prince Trubetskoi winery was looted by the invaders. The winery building was damaged by shelling.
Vitovt Watchtower
Architecture
The water tower, which supplied water to Prince Trubetsky's estate, was built on the basis of the ruins of an ancient watchtower of the 14th century by the owner of the local manor, Prince Petro Trubetsky, at the end of the 19th century.
According to one version, the tower was built during the time of Prince Vitovt (XIV century), when the border of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania passed through these lands. Later, a fourth tier with arrow windows in the pseudo-Gothic style was added.
Currently not in use.
Administrative status | settlement |
---|---|
Founded / first mentioned | 1889 |
Latitude | 46.795513 |
Longitude | 33.3564 |
Area, sq. km | 38 |
Population | 2637 |
Postal codes | 74344 |
Region | Kherson |