Attractions of Ukraine
Attractions region
Attractions Chernihiv region
Attractions Pryluky district
Attractions Pryluky
Transfiguration Cathedral
The ancient five-bathroom Transfiguration Cathedral is the main architectural landmark of Pryluky.
It was built at the beginning of the 18th century at the expense of Colonel Hnat Galagan. It was located on the territory of the Pryluky fortress, on the site of the burnt wooden Savior's Church of the middle of the 17th century.
Nearby is the massive two-story church-bell tower of Saint Nicholas. A monument to Saint Yoasaf of Belhorod, who was born in Pryluky, was erected between them.
The stone Transfiguration Cathedral was built by folk craftsmen in the restrained forms of late Baroque, typical of Cossack churches. In 1834 ...
The ancient five-bathroom Transfiguration Cathedral is the main architectural landmark of Pryluky.
It was built at the beginning of the 18th century at the expense of Colonel Hnat Galagan. It was located on the territory of the Pryluky fortress, on the site of the burnt wooden Savior's Church of the middle of the 17th century.
Nearby is the massive two-story church-bell tower of Saint Nicholas. A monument to Saint Yoasaf of Belhorod, who was born in Pryluky, was erected between them.
The stone Transfiguration Cathedral was built by folk craftsmen in the restrained forms of late Baroque, typical of Cossack churches. In 1834, reconstruction was carried out.
Inside the cathedral, in a deep crypt, its founder, Colonel Galagan, is buried. The main shrine of the Transfiguration Cathedral is the icon of the Mother of God "Sorrowful".
Старовинний п'ятибанний Спасо-Преображенський собор є головною архітектурною домінантою Прилук. Споруджений на початку XVIII століття коштом полковника Гната Ґалаґана. Розташовувався на території Прилуцької фортеці, на місці спаленої дерев'яної Спаської церкви середини XVII століття.
Поруч знаходиться масивна двоярусна церква-дзвіниця Святого Миколая. Між ними встановлено пам'ятник Святому Йоасафу Бєлгородському, який народився у Прилуках.
Кам'яний Спасо-Преображенський собор збудовано народними майстрами у стриманих формах пізнього бароко, характерного для козацьких храмів. У 1834 році проведено реконструкцію. ...
Старовинний п'ятибанний Спасо-Преображенський собор є головною архітектурною домінантою Прилук. Споруджений на початку XVIII століття коштом полковника Гната Ґалаґана. Розташовувався на території Прилуцької фортеці, на місці спаленої дерев'яної Спаської церкви середини XVII століття.
Поруч знаходиться масивна двоярусна церква-дзвіниця Святого Миколая. Між ними встановлено пам'ятник Святому Йоасафу Бєлгородському, який народився у Прилуках.
Кам'яний Спасо-Преображенський собор збудовано народними майстрами у стриманих формах пізнього бароко, характерного для козацьких храмів. У 1834 році проведено реконструкцію.
Всередині собору в глибокому склепі поховано його засновника полковника Ґалаґана. Головна святиня Спасо-Преображенського собору - ікона Божої Матері "Скорботна".
Last update
3/15/2025
Categories | Temple, Architecture |
---|---|
Date of foundation | 1710-1720 |
Address |
Tarasa Shevchenko Street, 1
Pryluky |
Coordinates |
50.598° N, 32.3888° E
|
Additional services |
Add practical or descriptive information, photos, links