Attractions of Zolochiv district

Online travel guide to attractions and sights of Zolochiv district

Found 50 attractions

Zolochiv district

change

Sights categories

Available for

Availability settings

Clear filters

All attractions and sights of Zolochiv district

Монастир Хреста Господнього, Підкамінь
3.75
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
1

Monastery of the origin of the tree of the Cross of God

Temple , Architecture

The magnificent monastic complex of the origin of the tree of the Cross of God (the former Dominican monastery) in the magnificent baroque style rises above Rozhenytsia Mountain on the outskirts of the village of Pidkamin.

The current architectural ensemble was formed in the 17th-18th centuries, however, according to one of the versions, the monastery was founded by Kyiv-Pechers monks back in the 13th century. The first mention of the wooden monastery of the Dominican Catholic order dates back to 1464, but it was soon burned down by the Tatars.

In 1612, the architect Pavlo Hizhitskyi and the engineer Hristian Dahlke began the construction of a new defensive monastery complex, which lasted for more than 80 years. The complex is dominated by the Church of the Ascension with a tall tower with a baroque spire, which can be seen from Pochaiv. The cells are adjacent to it, the bell tower, the chapel of Saint John Nepomuk (now the church of the New Martyr Nicholas) is located nearby. The complex is surrounded by walls with towers and bastions. In the center of the yard is a Corinthian column with the figure of the Mother of God (1719), and there is a 100-meter well on the territory. The monastery had a complex title - the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary, the Cross of the God, the Apostles Peter and Paul and all the Saints. The main shrine was the miraculous icon of Our Lady of the Snows, which is now in Wroclaw.

In 1944, the monastery was closed by the Soviet authorities, a concentration camp for Ukrainian clergy was organized on the territory, where, in particular, Mykola Tsehelskyi, proclaimed a blessed martyr of the Ukrainian Greek Catholic Church, was held. Later, a closed psychoneurological boarding school was established within the monastery walls, and the church was turned into a stable and even later into a garage. Grain was stored in one chapel, mineral fertilizers in another, and prison guard dogs were fed in another.

In 1997, the revival began with the efforts of a small brotherhood of Greek-Catholic monks of the Studite statute, and restoration is underway. In October 2022, the monastery bell tower restored with the funds of the European Union was consecrated.

Map pin icon Otsya Metodiia Street, 11 Pidkamin

Rating

User icon
1
3.75
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей-криївка вояків ОУН-УПА, Гавареччина
3.75
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
1

Museum-Kryivka of OUN-UPA Soldiers

Museum / gallery , Monument

The Museum-Kryivka of OUN-UPA Soldiers near the village of Havarechchyna was solemnly opened for the 65th anniversary of the UPA in 2007. It was at this place that on the night of February 17-18, 1947, Ivan Kernytsky (pseudonym "Krylatiy"), the representative of the regional district of the OUN, died in a battle with the Moscow invaders.

In a forest kryivka near Havarechchyna, the insurgents were preparing training materials and anti-election propaganda literature. A thorough reconstruction of the hiding place demonstrates the situation of a typical kryivka and the daily life of UPA fighters. The Gallery of Heroes was also opened, where portraits of fighters for the freedom and independence of Ukraine are presented and the history of the struggle of the UPA for the Ukrainian state is told.

A memorial complex was built nearby, a symbolic grave was filled and an oak cross with a commemorative tablet was installed.

Excursions are conducted by employees of the "Northern Podillya" National Nature Park.

Map pin icon Zelena Street Havarechchyna

Rating

User icon
1
3.75
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Олеський замок, Олесько
3.75
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
1

Olesko Castle Museum-Reserve

Castle / fortress , Architecture , Museum / gallery

Olesko Castle, which is part of the "Golden Horseshoe of Lviv Region", is one of the most famous castles in Ukraine. It is considered the only surviving stone fortress from the times of Ancient Rus' in Ukraine.

The medieval castle rises above the town of Olesko on a 50-meter hill, it is clearly visible from the road. Built in the XIII-XIV centuries. Galician-Volyn princes. The castle was first mentioned in 1327, when it became the property of Prince Yuriy II Boleslav. In the Middle Ages, the fortress was repeatedly attacked by Tatars, destroyed and rebuilt.

In the XVII century. Olesko Castle was owned by the magnates Danylovychs, who rebuilt it in its current form. In 1629 the grandson of Jan Danylovych, the future King of Poland Yan III Sobeskyi, was born here. Mykhaylo Khmil, Bohdan Khmelnytsky's father, served here.

The restoration of the castle after a strong earthquake in 1882 was carried out by the Polish Society for the Guardianship of the Castle in Olesko.

Since the 1970s, a branch of the Lviv National Art Gallery has been housed in Olesko Castle. In particular, the exhibition presents works by world-famous Ukrainian sculptor Ivan Pinzel.

The pearl of the collection is a huge (7.65 m x 7.3 m) battle canvas by Martino Altomonte "Battle of Vienna".

On the slopes of the hill is an Italian park with ancient and modern sculptures.

Map pin icon Zamkova Street, 30 Olesko

Rating

User icon
1
3.75
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Церква Архістратига Михаїла, Кути
3.75
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
1

Saint Archangel Michael Church

Temple , Architecture

The unique wooden church of Saint Archangel Michael in Kuty was preserved thanks to the students of the University of Banking of the National Bank of Ukraine, who managed to raise funds for its complete reconstruction in 2008. Until that time, the temple was in a deplorable condition.

This masterpiece of sacred architecture was created by the carpenter Hryhoriy Hebych from Sasiv in 1697. The temple is three-log, measuring 13.3 by 6.1 meters. In 1865, an arched gallery was added around the perimeter, which gave the Saint Michael's Church a romantic look.

Today, the Church of Archangel Michael has acquired its original appearance. The funds collected by the students were spent on covering the roof of the church, installing a fire protection system and alarm equipment. The following year, a small area around the temple was paved with cobblestones. Also, the old iconostasis of the 17th century, which was kept in the Olesko castle until now, was returned to the church. The solemn opening of the restored temple took place on September 26, 2010.

Map pin icon Kuty

Rating

User icon
1
3.75
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Золочівський замок, Золочів
3.75
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
1

Zolochiv Castle Museum-Reserve

Castle / fortress , Palace / manor , Architecture , Museum / gallery

The wonderfully preserved Zolochiv Castle is one of the key objects of the "Golden Horseshoe of Lviv Region" tourist route. It represents the neo-Dutch type of defensive structures and belongs to the monuments of the "palazzo in fortezzo" type, that is, it combines the functions of defense and housing.

The Renaissance fortress in Zolochiv was built in the first half of the 17th century by the Polish magnate Jakub Sobieski, the father of the future king of Poland Jan III Sobieski. It is a rectangular citadel with four bastions at the corners and walls along the perimeter, inside which there are residential and economic buildings.

In 1686, by order of King Jan III Sobieski, the castle was restored and decorated with works of art. His mistress for a long time was the wife of King Marie Casimire.

Since the XIX century, the castle began to decline, later used as a prison by the Austrian, Soviet, Polish and German authorities. At the end of the XX century. restoration was carried out.

The museum exhibits are located in the Grand Palace (a residential building with complex communications) and the Chinese Palace, which is made in a rare Eastern European style. The construction of palace toilets is of great interest to visitors.

In the yard there are stones found on the outskirts with mysterious Gothic writings (XV century), which the legend connects with the activities of the Knights Templar.

In front of the gate the castle ravelin (advanced fortification) was restored. Inside there is a cafe "Ravelin" and a souvenir shop, on top there is an observation deck.

Zolochiv Castle Museum-Reserve is a branch of the Lviv National Art Gallery.

Map pin icon Ternopilska Street, 5 Zolochiv

Rating

User icon
1
3.75
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Історико-краєзнавчий музей, Броди
3.25
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
1

Brody Museum of Local History

Museum / gallery

The Brody Museum of Local History is located in an old tenement house on the central square of the city.

The building was built in the 18th century for a Catholic monastery, then various administrative institutions were located here.

The museum exposition in seven halls highlights the history of the region from the earliest times to the middle of the 20th century. Also presented is a photo gallery of attractions of the district, a panorama of "Brody of the XVII-XVIII centuries".

Of particular interest are materials devoted to the struggle for Ukraine's independence during the ZUNR period, as well as the activities of the OUN-UPA.

Museum employees conduct tours of the city and Brody Castle.

Map pin icon Maidan Svobody, 5 Brody

Rating

User icon
1
3.25
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Майстерня "АртҐава", Гавареччина
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

"ArtGava" Workshop

Entertainment / leisure

Ceramic workshop "ArtGava" of the potter Ivan Lukovsky in the village of Havarechchyna seeks to revive the traditions of this center of the famous Havarechchyna black-smoked ceramics, known for its stable black color and metallic luster.

The art of firing Havarechchyna ceramics has been passed down from generation to generation since ancient times. At the beginning of the 20th century, more than 40 potters and almost 70 kilns worked in Havarechchyna. But during Soviet times, this craft in the village almost disappeared. It was only thanks to the initiative of the "Lion Society" and individual enthusiasts that the ancient fishery was restored.

Ivan Lukovsky's workshop of Havarechchyna ceramics offers visitors to get acquainted with the technology of making ceramic dishes according to traditional local technology. Workshops on making clay products are held in the workshop. Excursions in Havarechchyna and dinners with fire-cooked dishes are offered.

Map pin icon Tsentralna Street, 7 Havarechchyna

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Карстові озера "Сині вікна", Ясенів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

"Blue Windows" Karst Lakes

Natural object

The "Blue Windows" karst lakes (Blue Well, Khovanets) are located on the territory of the Northern Podillya National Nature Park among the hills that form the Voronyatsky Ridge.

They are located on the edge of the forest 2 kilometers southeast of the village of Yaseniv, 4 kilometers east of the village of Pidhirtsi. There are three lakes here, two of which are very close, and the third is a little further to the east. The lakes are natural monuments of local importance, although they do not have nature conservation status.

The name "Blue Windows" comes from the bright turquoise color of the water, which is most likely due to the dissolution of limestone rocks. The color of the water changes depending on the season. The depth of two unique reservoirs is approximately 3.5-3.8 meters. The water is cool and clear. The powerful perennial beeches of the northwestern edge of the Podillya Highlands adorn the blue water bodies.

In winter, the "Blue Windows" karst lakes do not freeze.

Map pin icon Yaseniv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Костел Успіння Діви Марії, Білий Камінь
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Assumption of Blessed Virgin Mary Church

Temple , Architecture

The Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary in Bilyi Kamin is one of the best works of the Lviv architect Amvrosiy Prykhylny.

The founders of the temple were Prince Yuriy Korybut Vyshnevetskyi and his wife Teresa.

The Church of the Assumption is surrounded by a stone wall with an exit gate and two bell towers. The wall paintings in the interior were made at the end of the 18th century.

In 1983-1991, the temple was used by the Lviv Art Gallery.

The Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary harmoniously combines elements of Baroque and Renaissance architecture.

Map pin icon Bilyi Kamin

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Костел Успіння Діви Марії, Золочів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary Church

Temple , Architecture

The Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary (the former Church of the Ascension) was founded in Zolochiv in 1730 together with the monastery and the collegium of piary.

After the liquidation of the Order of piary by the Austrian authorities in 1788, the church was closed, and warehouses were placed in the building. In 1838, the Roman Catholic parish moved here from the Resurrection Church, which was transferred to the Greek Catholics.

In Soviet times, it was the only functioning church between Lviv and Zbruch.

The Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary is made in the magnificent late baroque style. During the restoration in 1878, a quadrangular tower with a clock made of hewn stone was erected on the main facade, a veneered pediment, a roof covered with galvanized sheet metal, and five stone sculptures were installed in the niches. The vaults of the nave and apse are richly decorated with carvings and paintings.

Map pin icon Hryhoriya Skovorody Street, 6 Zolochiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Аустерія, Новий Милятин
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Austeria

Architecture

The old Austeria is located in the village of Novyi Myliatyn near the Exaltation Church.

Built in the Baroque style, the inn consisted of an inn, stables and rooms for merchants who come to the fair.

In 1934-1935, restoration work was carried out on the building, and since 1961 it housed a grocery store.

The Novyi Myliatyn Austeria is an architectural monument of national importance, but is now in a neglected state.

Map pin icon Novyi Myliatyn

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Палац Бадені, Буськ
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Badeni Palace

Palace / manor , Architecture

The palace in Busk in the park above the Buh, the last owner of which was Count Kazymyr Badeni, was built in 1810 by the Busk landowner Voytsekh Miyer as a residential building and office.

The governor of Galicia, Kazymyr Badeni, bought it in 1876 and rebuilt it for his own summer residence. At the same time as the palace, a park (now named after Ivan Franko) was laid out, the avenues of which smoothly descend to the Buh. The complex consists of a main two-story building and two side wings. The decoration of the palace is a two-story portico with columns and a balcony with a balustrade. In the interiors, the old parquet, laid out in seven colors, as well as the stucco coat of arms of the count family of Badeni have been preserved.

In the period after the Second World War, a military unit was stationed here. Currently, the abandoned building is owned by the Ministry of Internal Affairs of Ukraine. In May 2016, the ministry handed over the palace of Count Badeni to the community of the city of Busk. As a result of a fire in November 2016, the roof and ceiling were damaged on an area of 150 square meters.

The issue of restoration and creation of a museum is under consideration.

Map pin icon maidan Nezalezhnosti, 2 Busk

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Василіанський монастир Вознесіння, Золочів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Basilian Monastery of Ascension of Our Lord Jesus Christ

Temple , Architecture

The Zolochiv Monastery of the Basilian Order was founded in 1567, and was then located 10 kilometers east of Zolochiv (now the village of Monastyrok).

Soon it was destroyed by the Tatars, but in 1665 it was restored by Yan Sobesky, the future king of Poland.

In 1704, Teodor Yavorskyi founded a new monastery with the Church of the Ascension - on the current site, on the western outskirts of Zolochiv. In 1740, the two monasteries were united into one Greek-Catholic Basilian monastery. In the 1840s and 1860s, the complex was rebuilt in stone at the expense of Countess Lukiya Komarnytska.

In Soviet times, a tuberculosis dispensary was located on the territory of the monastery.

Currently, it is an active monastery of the Ascension of our Lord Jesus Christ of the Basilian Order of Saint Josaphat.

Map pin icon Lvivska Street, 48 Zolochiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Бродівський замок, Броди
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Brody Castle

Castle / fortress

A powerful citadel was built in Brody by Crown Hetman Stanislav Konetspolsky in 1630-1635 on the site of the old castle.

The complex with a defensive rampart and a system of casemates in the shape of an octagon was designed by Hiyom de Boplan based on the bastions of Dutch and Italian fortresses. The construction work was supervised by the Italian architect Andrea del Akva. In 1648, the fortress withstood a siege by the troops of Bohdan Khmelnytskyi.

In the middle of the 18th century, Stanislav Potoski reconstructed the fortress, which had lost its strategic importance, into his own residence. The Rococo-style Potoski Palace has been preserved in the courtyard.

Until recently, Brody Castle was in the hands of the military, as a result of which it fell into serious disrepair. Now the palace houses a boarding school, tours of the castle are conducted by employees of the Brody Museum of Local History.

Map pin icon Zamkova Street, 1A Brody

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Бродівська гімназія, Броди
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Brody Gymnasium

Architecture

The Brody Gymnasium was founded in 1865. The construction of the current building in the style of classicism began in 1881, and the first classes were held in 1883.

During both world wars, the building was used as a barracks and a hospital. In the post-war period, it was returned to its main purpose - secondary school No. 1 was opened here.

In 1997, a gymnasium was revived on the basis of the school, which was named after a former graduate, the outstanding Ukrainian artist Ivan Trush. The classic of Austrian literature Yozef Rot, General of the UGA Myron Tarnavskyi also studied here.

The museum of the Brody Grammar School operates in five sections: "Austrian Grammar School named after Archduke Rudolf", "Polish Grammar School named after Yuzef Kozhenevsky", "Secondary School No. 1", "Revived Grammar School named after Ivan Trush", "Faces in the History of the Grammar School".

Map pin icon Mykhayla Kotsyubynskoho Street, 2 Brody

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Functional temporarily unavailable