Українська
русский [страна агрессор]
Attractions of Ukraine
Attractions of Cherkasy region
Attractions of Cherkasy district
Found 132 attractions
Cherkasy district
Open map
Available for
Availability settings
Museum / gallery
Medvedivka Museum of Local Lore is a branch of the Chyhyryn National Historical and Cultural Reserve.
Located in the former priest's house.
The exposition tells about the history of the Kholodny Yar from ancient times to the Second World War: Scythian times, Kyivan Rus, the Cossack era, Koliivshchyna, the Kholodnoyarska organization, partisan struggle during the Second World War.
A separate exhibition is dedicated to the participation of the residents of Kholodny Yar in the events on the Maidan in 2013-2014.
Museum employees also conduct tours throughout the territory of Kholodny Yar.
Maksyma Zaliznyaka Street Medvedivka
Rating
Add to favorites
Add to route
The Patriotic Museum of the Russian-Ukrainian War in Cherkasy was founded in 2018 by a serviceman of the 118th Terrodefense Brigade, volunteer Oleksiy Svyatenko. It is located on the territory of the motor vehicle enterprise.
The museum has collected hundreds of samples of weapons, ammunition and ammunition from the war zone from the beginning of the war in 2014 to the present day. In particular, you can see the tubes from the Javelin, NlAW and Fagot ATGMs, cartridges from the American Bradley infantry fighting vehicle, cartridges for mortars, tanks and guns, various small arms. Fragments of the Russian rocket from the Uragan MLRS, the remains of the Shahed drone shot down over Cherkasy, and samples of Russian military uniforms are also presented.
A separate part of the museum is dedicated to Dmytro Kotsyubaylo "Da Vinchi", who died in March 2023.
Near the entrance to the museum stands an evacuation vehicle, which was used by the fighters of the "Right Sector" military unit during the battles for the Donetsk airport in 2014 and in other hot spots.
Blahovisna Street, 2/3 Cherkasy
Reserve , Historic area
The State Historical and Cultural Reserve "Trakhtemyriv" was created in 1994 on the picturesque Trakhtemyriv Peninsula, formed by a steep bend of the Dnieper opposite Pereyaslav, between the villages of Trakhtemyriv, Hryhorivka and Buchak. This historical, cultural and natural area is considered the heart of the Middle Dnieper Region.
On the territory of the Trakhtemyriv Peninsula, the remains of the Scythian rampart, which protected the settlement of Scythian plowmen in the 7th – 2nd centuries BC, and several early Slavic settlements have been preserved. In princely times, the chronicled Old Rus city of Zarub stood on this site.
In 1147, the Trakhtemyriv Monastery is mentioned, built on the site of the Zarub Monastery destroyed by the Tatars. In 1576, a hospital for old and infirm Cossacks was established at the monastery. Two years later, the Polish king Stephen Bathory, having founded a registered Cossack army, bequeathed Trakhtemyriv to the Cossacks as their main residence.
In the 17th century, the Trakhtemyriv Fortress was built, which became the informal Cossack capital - hetmans were elected here, ambassadors were received, and supplies were stored. It was also repeatedly an outpost of popular uprisings. In 1665, during the suppression of one of the uprisings, the city and the monastery were destroyed.
The main locations of the State Historical and Cultural Reserve "Trakhtemyriv" are located in the area of the ancient Cossack village of Trakhtemyriv. A Cossack cemetery has been preserved on the outskirts of the village, a monument to Hetman Petro Sahaidachny has been erected, and a cross has been erected on the site of the monastery in the Tserkovshchyna tract. Only a few houses have survived in the village itself, one of which is permanently inhabited by the family of a hermit nicknamed "Scythian".
Part of the reserve belongs to the private Regional Landscape Park "Trakhtemyriv" (Agrarian-ecological association "Trakhtemyriv"), which in the early 2000s used the reserve lands as elite hunting grounds. In a picturesque place, next to the former children's camp, a large hunting lodge in the castle style was built (it burned down in 2015). Not far from it grows a tree in the shape of a trident, next to which a commemorative sign is installed. Entrance to the territory is paid, the price includes parking.
Other objects of the State Historical and Cultural Reserve "Trakhtemyriv" are located in the area of the coastal villages of Hryhorivka and Buchak. Official tours are conducted by reserve staff upon prior reservation, and private guides also work on the territory.
Berehova Street Trakhtemyriv
Museum / gallery , Architecture
The Historical Museum of the Korsun-Shevchenkivskyi State Historical and Cultural Reserve is located on the territory of the Stanislav Ponyatovsky Palace in Korsun-Shevchenkivskyi, and operates as a research department of the reserve.
More than 2,000 exhibits in six halls reveal the history of Korsun in the context of the history of all of Ukraine from ancient times to the present. Fragments of Trypillya pottery, items from Cimmerian and Scythian burials, Slavic ornaments, a Polish cannon, armor and weapons of Poles, Ukrainians and Moscow archers are presented.
Also on display are items from the Stanisław Poniatowski Palace.
The dioramas "Anti-serfdom uprising of 1855 in the Korsun region" and "Battle of Korsun in 1648" give a clear idea of the key historical events of the region.
Separate sections of the exposition tell about collectivization and the Holodomor, about the participation of Korsuns in the First and Second World Wars, the Ukrainian Revolution of 1917-1921 and the Russian-Ukrainian War.
Kotsyubynskoho Island Street, 4 Korsun-Shevchenkivskyi
Palace / manor , Architecture , Museum / gallery
The palace and park complex in Korsun, on the islands in the middle of the Ros River, was founded in 1782 by Prince Stanislav Ponyatovsky as his own summer residence.
The Ponyatovsky Palace was built in 1787-1789 on the basis of the old Polish fortress of the Vyshnevetsky princes, who in turn were created on the site of the Ancient Rus Korsun settlement. The project of the palace in the neo-Gothic style was developed by architects Zhan-Anri Myunts and Yan Lindsey.
The new owner, Prince Pavlo Lopukhin, significantly changed its architecture in the middle of the 19th century, giving it features of Russian romanticism with elements of neo-Gothic and classicism. The last owners of the Korsun estate were the Lopukhin-Demidov princes.
After the Bolshevik coup of 1917, the estate miraculously survived, surviving to this day almost unchanged. The famous silhouette of the Ponyatovsky Palace is created by the keel-shaped kokoshniks, above which the belvedere towers rise. Nearby is a large three-story outbuilding (1782-1783), which was connected to the palace by the Order Gallery. The entrance gate in the form of French defensive architecture was built in the middle of the 19th century (there is a cafe in the basement). Other manor buildings have been preserved: the service building, the "Swiss house", the Orthodox chapel.
Most of Kotsyubynsky Island is now occupied by a luxurious landscape park (area of 100 hectares, 80 species of trees and shrubs) with bridges, gazebos, sculptures and a romantic grotto. It is especially beautiful in the spring, when the lilac is blooming.
In Soviet times, the exhibition of the museum of the history of the Korsun-Shevchenkivskyi battle was placed in the premises of the Ponyatovsky Palace. An exhibition of military equipment was on display in the square in front of the palace. In April 2022, at a meeting of the Scientific and Methodological Council of the Korsun-Shevchenkivskyi Reserve, a decision was made to dismantle the exposition of the museum of the history of the Korsun-Shevchenkivskyi Battle and change its name to the "Military Museum" with the creation of a new exposition in the Ponyatovsky Palace.
The new exposition presents the works of artists of different times and different directions, styles, and techniques. These are, in particular, the works of unknown Italian sculptors of the 18th century (at one time they decorated the palace), the Italian engraver Domeniko Kuneho, the Ukrainian artist Ivan Soshenko, the Italian sculptor Luyidzhi Yorini, the Hungarian artist Syhizmund Bubiks, a lithograph from the work of a Polish artist of Ukrainian origin, Yuliush Kossak, works local artist Herontiy Bondarenko and Ukrainian artists of the 20th-21st centuries Mykola Prokopenko, Borys Fedorenko, Serhiy Shyshko, Andriy Chebykin, Serhiy Dupliy, Oksana Tymkiv.
You can also see the palace projects of the palace and the palace ensemble, the originals of which are kept in the Cabinet of Drawings of the Library of the University of Warsaw; photos of the interiors of the palace from the end of the 19th - beginning of the 20th century; copies of drawings and lithographs of the 18th and 19th centuries, in particular, by Zhan-Anri Myunts, the Polish artist Napoleon Horda, Vanicek, the French lithographers Fransua-Zhozef Dyupresuar and Yevheniy Hyuho, the Polish artist Adolf Kozarsky.
Porcelain and ceramics from the collection of Canadian citizen Olena Berykul-Kryvoruchko, representing 20 countries of the world, is exhibited in a separate hall. Most products are from England, Japan, China, Italy, Germany, USA, France. A separate hall is also dedicated to sacred art, where, among other icons, the icon of the icon painter Hryhori Stetsenko, the father of the composer Kyrylo Stetsenko, and icons restored by the artist and icon painter Oksana Tymkiv will be presented.
The exposition include museum objects of everyday life, which characterize the era of the 18th - 19th centuries.
Ostriv Kotsyubynskoho Street, 4 Korsun-Shevchenkivskyi
Temple
The double-enthroned church of All Saints of the Cherkasy Land and the Nativity of John the Baptist began to be built in the village of Khutory on the outskirts of Cherkasy in 1998.
The height of the church with the cross is 54 meters. The architecture of the church resembles an ancient castle. The temple has secret passages and hidden cells, suitable for a monastic retreat and overnight accommodation for pilgrims.
The temple icon of John the Baptist was made in prisons, in a special church workshop.
Elements of crosses are visible in the architecture of the lower church and the ceiling structure, as it is dedicated to John the Baptist.
The entire architectural composition of the temple abounds with figured porticos, arches, patterned relief protrusions. The belfry has two bells that survived the Second World War and have traces of bullets. You can climb the spiral staircase to the bell tower and the observation deck, which offers views of the city of Cherkasy and its surroundings.
The parish of the Church of All Saints of the Land of Cherkasy and the Nativity of John the Baptist belongs to the Orthodox Church of Ukraine.
Skhilnyi lane Khutory
Ethnographic complex , Museum / gallery
The Museum of Ancient Life and Folk Crafts in Pleskachivka recreates the atmosphere of rural life of the XIX century, inviting visitors to immerse themselves in the era of two hundred years ago, try to make a wheel for a cart or grind flour by hand.
Crafts have long flourished in the village (in particular, the production of pottery) (potters were called flatterers, hence the name of the village). Boxes with minted metal were supplied from Pleskachivka to St. Petersburg, Warsaw and Moscow.
The museum's exposition includes a working loom and other exhibits that give an idea of folk crafts. A collection of coal irons from Polish, Austro-Hungarian and German life is presented.
Brativ Bondarenkiv Street Pleskachivka
The Chyhyryn Archaeological Museum is located in a restored one-story building of the late 19th and early 20th centuries.
The exposition presents objects of material cultures that existed in the Middle Dnipro. In particular, Scythian weapons and armor found on the territory of Scythian settlements in the Kholodny Yar. More than 600 unique exhibits are stored in four exhibition halls.
A monument to Lenin, removed from its pedestal at the foot of Castle Hill in Chyhyryn, is installed in the courtyard of the archaeological museum.
Mykhayla Sikorskoho Street, 30 Chyhyryn
The Cherkasy City Archaeological Museum of the Middle Dnipro region was created in 2016 on the basis of the archaeological collection of the Cherkasy historian Mykhaylo Syvolap, which contains several tens of thousands of finds of all eras and cultures from the territory of the Middle Dnipro region, starting from the Paleolithic and ending with Cossack times, as well as objects of the XVIII-XX centuries.
Initially, the museum was located in one of the rooms of the "Ukraine" cinema, but in 2024 it moved to new premises on the first floor of a four-story building in the center of Cherkasy. The main exposition and three auxiliary ones are located here.
The exposition presents both fossil artifacts and items of traditional Ukrainian culture that have not yet had time to visit the earth. In particular, you can see fragments of ancient weapons, coins, tiles and restored Cherkasy tableware of the end of the 18th century. A numismatic and bonistic exposition is planned.
In the game hall, there is an interactive exhibition "Popular Archeology for Children", where archaeological workshops and archeological puzzles are offered. Visitors can assemble a model of an ancient vessel with their own hands, focusing on the shape and ornament, feeling like an archaeologist-restorer.
Пщпщд Street, 222 Cherkasy
Monument
Ukrainian artist and teacher Ivan Soshenko is buried in Korsun-Shevchenkivskyi, where he died in 1876 during a trip to his native Bohuslav.
Soshenko was one of the closest friends of the poet Taras Shevchenko, took an active part in his release from serfdom. Later helped him enter the St. Petersburg Academy of Arts.
A memorial stone with a memorial plaque and a later tombstone - a muse with a palette and brushes in hand above a scroll with a portrait of the artist - were installed on Soshenko's grave.
Ivana Soshenko Street Korsun-Shevchenkivskyi
Temple , Architecture
Assumption Cathedral was built in Kaniv in 1144 by Prince Vsevolod Olhovych. The type type of of architecture is close to the Kyiv churches - Saint Cyril’s Churchand Blessed Virgin Mary Pyrohoshcha Church.
From the year of foundation of Assumption Church, it is customary to keep the official chronicle of Kaniv, although the city existed earlier. A classic example of Byzantine architecture.
In 1185, a defense against the Polovtsy was being prepared near the walls of this temple after the unsuccessful campaign of Prince Ihor Svyatoslavych of Novhorod-Siverskyi. In 1587, Cossack leader Ivan Podkova, who was executed in Lviv, was buried here. Destroyed by the Turks in the 17th century, the temple was restored in 1805, and in 1861, a funeral procession with the ashes of the poet Taras Shevchenko, brought from St. Petersburg, left for Chernecha Hill.
In 2024, by court decision, the thousand-year-old Assumption Cathedral in Kaniv, which had been illegally used by the Moscow Patriarchate for over 20 years, was returned to state ownership with subsequent transfer to the operational management of the Shevchenko National Reserve.
The nearby building of the former Basilian school now houses the Museum of Folk Decorative Art, which previously occupied the premises of the church.
Nearby, there is a monument to Saint Makarius Kanivsky, who was the abbot of the Kaniv monastery in the 17th century and died during the Turkish invasion.
Heroyiv Nebesnoyi Sotni Street, 62 Kaniv
The Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary in Medvedivka was built in 1860-1864 at the expense of the Kyiv Civil Governor Ivan Fundukley, who owned Medvedivka in the 19th century.
The church is one-story, cruciform in plan. Its appearance is close to standard diocesan architecture, but at the same time it differs in some modern features.
The Assumption Church in Medvedivka is an architectural landmark of the 19th century of local importance.
The Church of the Assumption of the Holy Virgin Mary is located in the center of Smila, on the territory of the city park of culture and recreation.
The church in the neoclassical style was built on the site of the old wooden church in 1818-1827 at the expense of Antoniy Sovetskyi.
In Soviet times, the church, devoid of the central tower and two bells, was used as a cultural center, then as a district library.
In 2003, the Church of the Assumption was returned to the Roman Catholic community of Smila, and restoration is underway. The building of the parish house is located nearby.
Cherkaska Street, 31А Smila
The wooden church of the Assumption of the Holy Virgin Mary in Zhabotyn was built in 1708. It was rebuilt several times: in 1730, 1765, 1851 and 1881.
In the decorative design of the facades, elements of different stylistic directions are peculiarly interwoven. On the walls of the central volume - a monumental painting on canvas of a horse from the 19th century.
Assumption Church is a rare piece of folk wooden architecture with elements of romanticism on the Right Bank.
Boboshkivska Street Zhabotyn
The Museum of Bohdan Khmelnytskyi in Chyhyryn is located in the two-story building of the district administration reconstructed in 1995.
The building was built at the beginning of the 19th century at the foot of Castle Hill, where the Lower Town of the Hetman's capital was located.
Museum collections include about 2,000 exhibits. The main place in the exposition is occupied by monuments of the Cossack era: weapons and equipment, objects of decorative and applied art, numismatics, household items. With their help, the material environment in which Hetman Bohdan Khmelnytsky lived and performed state affairs was recreated.
The pride of the museum is the series of paintings "Hetmans of Ukraine" by the People's Artist of Ukraine Danylo Narbut.
The wings of the building are occupied by the administration of the National Historical and Cultural Reserve of Chyhyryn.
Nearby is the restored Peter and Paul Church, as well as the chapel of the Intercession of the Holy Virgin, in which the remains of 263 Cossacks and city residents who died during the Tatar raids of the 17th century are reburied.
The reconstruction of the complex of the fortified residence of Khmelnytskyi, embassy buildings and other buildings of the hetman's capital, on the basis of which the tourist historical and architectural complex "Residence of Bohdan Khmelnytskyi" was created, is being completed.
Mykhayla Hrushevskoho Street, 26 Chyhyryn