Attractions of Cherkasy district

Online travel guide to attractions and sights of Cherkasy district

Found 132 attractions

Cherkasy district

change

Sights categories

Available for

Availability settings

Clear filters

All attractions and sights of Cherkasy district

Дитячий парк, Черкаси
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Children's Park

Park / garden

A small cozy park in the central part of the city. There are sports grounds near the castle town. The park is decorated with alpine slides and flowerbed compositions, which create a special atmosphere of coziness characteristic of green corners.

There are also many sculptural compositions made of stone and wood.

Map pin icon Khreshchatyk Street, 176 Cherkasy

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Покровська церква, Канів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Church of Intercession of Holy Virgin

Temple , Architecture

The wooden Cossack Church of the Intercession of the Holy Virgin in the Monastyrok tract at the foot of Taras (Chernecha) Hill in Kaniv was restored in 2014 for the 200th anniversary of the birth of Taras Shevchenko.

The Church of the Intercession existed on this site in the 17th and 18th centuries. It was the spiritual center of the Kaniv Holy Intercession Orthodox Monastery, which gave the name to the tract and Chernecha Hill. The monastery was destroyed by the Poles in 1776, but the Greek Catholics preserved the church and moved it to the Assumption Cathedral, which was destroyed at that time. There he was painted by the outstanding French artist Jean-Henri Muntz. Muntz's drawing became the basis of the project of reconstruction of the Church of the Intercession. It is also called the Tarasov Church.

There is a Cossack memorial in front of the church.

Map pin icon Monastyrok Street, 2A Kaniv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Руїни костелу, Медведівка
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Church Ruins

Temple , Architecture

The ruins of the Roman Catholic church are located in the central part of Medvedivka. The temple was built in the 19th century. Made in the Neo-Gothic style.

In Soviet times, the church building was used for economic purposes. It is currently in a state of emergency.

Map pin icon Vyacheslava Chornovola Street Medvedivka

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Чигиринська АЕС (ГРЕС), Вітове
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Chyhyryn NPP (GRES)

Architecture

The complex of constructions of the unfinished power plant is located on the bank of the Dnipro near the village of Vitove to the east of Chyhyryn.

The decision to build the Chyhyryn GRES with a capacity of 4,800 thousand kW was made by the Central Committee of the Communist Party of Ukraine in 1970. It was also planned to build a modern town of energy workers for 20,000 residents. By 1981, after repeated changes to the project, construction was frozen, but soon a decision was made to build a nuclear power plant on the finished site. Construction work was carried out until 1989, when, under public pressure, it was decided to stop construction.

Now the complex of the unfinished nuclear power plant together with the town of Orbita energy workers are abandoned ruins. Empty 9-story residential buildings, administrative buildings, shops and other infrastructure objects have been preserved. Here you can chat with people who still live on the territory of the former construction site, where they worked in Soviet times.

Map pin icon Vitove

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей Козацької слави, Виграїв
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Cossack Glory Museum

Museum / gallery

The Museum of Cossack Glory in Vyhraiv reveals the history of Cossack victories through the prism of the fate of their descendants.

The main hall is dedicated to the historical battle of Korsun in 1648, which took place in the Hlyboky Yar on the southwestern edge of the current village of Vyhraiv, which was then called Horokhova Dibrova. In this battle, the Cossack army of Hetman Bohdan Khmelnytsky defeated the Polish troops of Hetman Mykolay Potoski, imposing a battle in unfavorable conditions for the Polish cavalry in the wooded rugged terrain. The ambush arranged in Hlyboky Yar by the regiment of Maksym Kryvonos was of decisive importance.

The museum also has halls of ethnography and rural life: chests, towels, dishes, furniture, spinning wheels, a loom, etc.

A separate exhibition is devoted to the Holodomor of 1932-1933.

Map pin icon Bohdana Khmelnytskoho Street Vyhraiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Будинок лікаря (Земська лікарня), Мошни
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Doctor's House (Zemsky Hospital)

Architecture

The wooden one-story doctor's house was built according to the project of the famous Kyiv architect Vladyslav Horodetskyi, who often visited Moshny in the estate of the Balashov landowners, and also performed various architectural orders for them.

During one of the Balashovs' visits, they asked an architect to design a complex of Zemsky hospital buildings for the village.

In its original form, only one case was preserved, decorated in the "Zemsky" style with bright carvings.

Map pin icon Spaso-Preobrazhenska Street, 60 Moshny

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Козацький хутір, Стецівка
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Ethnographic complex "Cossack farm"

Museum / gallery , Ethnographic complex

The ethnographic and touristic complex "Cossack Farm" (Kozatsky khutir) near Chyhyryn reproduces the flavor of the Ukrainian village of the Cossack era.

The central element of the exposition of the open-air museum, located on the outskirts of the village of Stetsivka, is the 18th-century Saint Nicholas Church, which was moved here from the village of Drabivtsi in the Zolotonosha region. It is surrounded by typical village houses: the headman's house, the father's house, a tavern, and outbuildings. Construction continues.

And in the center of the village, the Museum of Milling is being built. 14 windmills from all regions of Ukraine are collected here. The construction of a water mill is planned.

Map pin icon Stetsivka

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Етнографічний комплекс "Зерноленд", Івківці
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Ethnographic complex "Zernoland"

Museum / gallery , Entertainment / leisure , Ethnographic complex

The public ethnographic educational and entertainment complex "Zernoland" was founded in the village of Ivkivtsi in 2014 as part of the creation of a "thematic village" of the Polish-Ukrainian project "Invent a new village".

The complex includes an ethnographic museum, a forge, a pottery, a paper factory, a bakery, a variety of entertainment and master classes. In winter - roller skating.

Map pin icon Bohdana Khmelnytskoho Street, 1 Ivkivtsi

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Рибний ряд, Черкаси
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Fish Row

Architecture

Fish row in Cherkasy is one of the old pavilions of the Cherkasy market. It was built in 1908-1909 along with the butcher's shop. Two brick trade pavilions were the main component of the central city market complex in Cherkasy.

The famous Kyiv architect Vladyslav Horodetsky participated in the design of the buildings. Only Fish Row - the original building in the Art Nouveau style - has survived. Currently, this is the commercial premises of the Cherkasy National University.

Map pin icon Khreshchatyk Street, 190 Cherkasy

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей декоративного мистецтва, Канів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Folk Decorative Art Museum

Museum / gallery , Architecture

The Museum of Folk Decorative Art is located in Kaniv in the two-story building of the former Basilian school, founded in 1781 by the Uniate priest Bonifatiy Fizykevych at the expense of Count Stanislav Ponyatovsky, who owned the city at the time.

The school was closed in 1838. In the future, the building was also used for its intended purpose as a school. The second floor was built during Soviet times.

In 1990, the Museum of Folk Decorative Art, which was previously located in the neighboring building of the Assumption Cathedral, moved to this premises.

The museum has more than 5,000 exhibits: a collection of glass from the XIII-XVI centuries, wood products, paintings. There is a collection of samples of traditional Ukrainian clothing and household items of the three central regions - Cherkasy, Kyiv and Poltava. In particular, the primitivist works of the People's Artist of Ukraine Mariya Prymachenko, the unique embroidery of the artist Svitlana Ustymenko, and others are presented.

Map pin icon Heroyiv Nebesnoyi Sotni Street, 64 Kaniv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Зелений млинок, Кам'янка
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Green Mill

Architecture

The unusual round water mill building "Green Mill" (green mill) in the park on the bank of the Tyasmyn River in Kamyanka is also called the "Mill of the Decembrists".

The rotunda mill was built by Kaluha masters Havrilov and Dmitriev by order of the owner of the Kamyanka estate, the Decembrist Vasyl Davydov. According to one version, the "Green Mill" was originally conceived by Davydov as a secret room for conspiratorial meetings of the Southern Society of Decembrists, similar to Masonic lodges. According to the traditions of the Davydov family, it was near the mill that Ivan Shervud, a non-commissioned officer of the 3rd Ukrainian regiment, eavesdropped on the conversations of the conspirators, then passed on their content to Emperor Oleksandr I, which caused the failure of the Decembrist uprising.

As part of the Davyd family estate, "Green Mill" is included in the complex of the Kamyanka State Historical and Cultural Reserve.

Map pin icon Heroyiv Nebesnoyi Sotni Street, 2 Kamyanka

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Пам'ятник героям Холодного Яру, Мельники
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Heroes of Kholodny Yar Monument

Monument

The monument to the heroes of Kholodny Yar was erected in 2003 in the center of the village of Melnyky, which was considered the capital of the Kholodny Yar Republic and the center of the liberation struggle of various eras.

Sculptors Valentyn and Maksym Siri made a sandstone monument resembling a felled tree trunk with an oak and images of Kholodny Yar heroes carved on its surface. The stele is crowned with a gilded trident.

Nearby, in 2010, a monument to the officer of the army of the Ukrainian People's Republic, writer Yuriy Horlis-Horsky, author of the famous novel "Kholodny Yar" was erected.

Map pin icon Kholodnoyarska Street Melnyky

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Резиденція Богдана Хмельницького, Чигирин
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Historical and architectural complex "Residence of Bohdan Khmelnytsky"

Palace / manor , Museum / gallery

The historical and architectural complex "Residence of Bohdan Khmelnytsky" in Chyhyryn was built in 2006-2009 as part of the "Golden Horseshoe of Cherkasy Region" program.

Copies of the fortified residence of Khmelnytsky were built on the place where the hetman's capital was located in the middle of the 17th century. The complex consists of defensive walls, an entrance gate with a tower, a hetman's house, a military office, a treasury (treasury), a Cossack guard hut and outbuildings.

Near the residence is the rebuilt defensive church of Saint Peter and Paul. A monument to Metropolitan I. Nelyubovych-Tukalsky, who was the rector of the church in the 17th century, was erected next to it.

Due to the termination of funding, several facilities remain unfinished, and the existing buildings do not have the appropriate interior design and exposition content.

Map pin icon Hetmanska Street Chyhyryn

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Історичний музей (Будинок управителя), Кам'янка, Кам'янка
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Historical Museum (Estate Manager House)

Museum / gallery

The house of the estate manager in Kamyanka is part of the former estate of the Decembrist Vasyl Davydov's family.

The house was built by the son of the Decembrist Lev. Since his father was exiled to Siberia and deprived of his property, the son had no right to his father's inheritance. Then he was invited to the position of chief manager of the Kamyanka estate. That is, de facto he managed his estate, but de jure it did not belong to him.

He built a house for his family and office premises on the plot allocated to him. Petro Chaykovsky, whose sister was married to Davydov, often stayed in this house.

In the 1920s, the Kamyanka NKVD was located here, later a polyclinic and a children's music school named after Chaykovsky.

Currently, the Kamyanka Historical Museum, the Kamyanka Art Gallery and the office of the Kamyanka Historical and Cultural Reserve are located here.

Map pin icon Dekabrystiv Street, 5 Kamyanka

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Глибокий яр, Виграїв
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Hlybokiy Yar

Historic area , Monument

A Hlybokiy Yar (Deep Ravine) on the southwestern edge of the village of Vyhraiv is the site of the famous Korsun battle in 1648.

In this battle, the Cossack army of Hetman Bohdan Khmelnytskyi defeated the Polish troops of Hetman Mykolay Potoski, imposing a battle in unfavorable conditions for the Polish cavalry in rugged wooded terrain. The ambush arranged in Hlyboky Yar by the Cossack regiment of Maksym Kryvonos was of decisive importance. After this victory, the village was renamed Vigraiv, and the ravine was also called Rizany.

Remains of trenches dug by Maksym Kryvonos' Cossacks, preparing for an ambush attack, have been preserved.

In 2008, a memorial sign was erected at the site of the Battle of Korsun.

Map pin icon Hlybokiy Yar tract Vyhraiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Functional temporarily unavailable