Attractions of Kherson

Online travel guide to attractions and sights of Kherson

Found 27 attractions

Kherson

change

Sights categories

Available for

Availability settings

Clear filters

All attractions and sights of Kherson

Херсонський обласний краєзнавчий музей, Херсон
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Kherson Regional Local Lore Museum

Museum / gallery , Architecture

The Museum of Local Lore in Kherson arose on the basis of a collection of antiquities, which began to be collected in 1890 by archaeologist Viktor Рoshkevych, and the entomological office of botanist and ecologist Yosyp Pachosky. In 1963, the exhibitions were merged into a single museum, which since 1978 is housed in the former building of the Kherson District Court (1893).

The museum has three branches: "Literary Museum", "Nature Museum" and "Kakhovka Historical Museum".

Before the large-scale Russian invasion, the Kherson Local Lore museum's holdings included about 144,000 museum exhibits. The exposition included natural, archeological and historical departments, as well as the Suvorov Hall.

During the Russian occupation of Kherson in 2022, the invaders looted the Kherson Regional Museum of Local Lore. In particular, the occupiers took away collections of coins, weapons, Sarmatian jewelry of the Soviet era and the Russian Empire, antique furniture of the 18th-19th centuries, a collection of icons, paintings, as well as valuable materials from archaeological excavations at the late Scythian settlement of the Chervonyi Mayak.

The facade of the museum was damaged as a result of Russian shelling of Kherson. Now the building is preserved and awaiting restoration.

Map pin icon Soborna Street, 9 Kherson

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Літературний музей, Херсон
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Literary Museum

Architecture , Museum / gallery

The Literary Museum opened in Kherson in 1992 as a department of the Kherson Regional Museum of Local Lore. It is located in a historic building from the late 19th century in the city center.

Before the full-scale Russian invasion of Ukraine in 2022, the museum had three permanent exhibitions: "In the Labyrinth of Ancient Streets", "A Meeting Through Time" and "Futuristic Dreams".

The exhibition "In the Labyrinth of OLld Streets" introduces visitors to the most beloved street of Kherson residents - Yevropeyska Street. Vintage postcards, photographs, personal belongings of Kherson residents, schemes and plans of the old city recreate the unique flavor of the center of Kherson.

The exhibition "A Meeting Through Time" recreates the life of an aristocratic residence of the late 19th - early 20th centuries. Memorial items, works of art, antique furniture – all this became the basis for recreating the interior of the study and living room of that era.

Visitors to the exhibition "Futuristic Dreams" will see the pioneers of the new artistic movement, Davyd Burlyuk, Oleksiy Kruchonykh, Volodymyr Mayakovskiy, Mykhaylo Semenko and others, whose youth and search for a creative style took place in Kherson. Their first collections and paintings, which shocked the townspeople 100 years ago, are presented to visitors to the Literary Museum.

Map pin icon Teatralna Street, 1 Kherson

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Маріїнсько-Олександрівська гімназія, Херсон
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Mariyinsko-Oleksandrivska Gymnasium

Architecture

The building of the Second Mariyinsko-Oleksandrivska Women's Zemska Gymnasium in Kherson was built in 1896 in the style of eclecticism with the use of Moorish architectural traditions.

In Soviet times, the building housed a pedagogical institute.

Currently, it is an educational building of the Faculty of Technologies and Service Areas of Kherson State University.

Nearby is the church of Saint Oleksandra.

Map pin icon Perekopska Street, 3 Kherson

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей природи, Херсон
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Nature Museum

Architecture , Museum / gallery

The building of the Museum of Nature is a historical and architectural monument, erected in Kherson at the beginning of the 20th century at the expense of the Kherson provincial zemstvo and charitable contributions of the townspeople. The museum opened in 1906 and was the only building in Ukraine built specifically for the museum exposition.

The founder and first director of the museum was Yosyp Pachosky - an outstanding scientist, naturalist, who made significant discoveries in natural science. He devoted 26 years of tireless work to the formation of the first unique collection of flora and fauna of Southern Ukraine. The specimens he collected still adorn the museum exposition. Currently, the museum's natural history collection has over 49 thousand storage units.

Pachosky's memorial belongings, which were stored in the museum, allowed us to recreate a fragment of the scientist's study. Here you can see his photographs, manuscripts, and numerous scientific works. In the showcases are entomological boxes, stuffed mammals and birds, alcohol preparations, herbariums made by the scientist's hands.

The exposition "History of the Creation of the Kherson Museum of Nature" presents documents that tell about the activities of the provincial entomological office and the creation of the natural history museum. The showcases house the very first exhibits of the museum.

One of the most interesting expositions of the museum of nature "Kherson Safari" allows you to travel to different corners of the planet's wildlife. Here you can see the inhabitants of dense forests - bears, tigers; animals that live on mountain peaks and steppe expanses - snow leopards and wolves. Most of the exhibits involved in the exhibition represent rare and endangered species and were made by the best taxidermists of the late 19th - early 20th centuries.

The exposition "Inhabitants of the World Ocean" recreates shallow water areas and deep-water areas of the Lower Dnieper, Azov and Black Seas with the help of modern museum equipment. Here you can see birds typical of these places, typical species of commercial fish and bottom landscapes with various invertebrates.

The real highlight of the museum is the central exhibit - the largest museum item - a 26-meter skeleton of a giant fin whale, obtained by Ukrainian whalers off the coast of Antarctica.

The Museum of Nature is a department of the Kherson Regional Museum of Local Lore.

Map pin icon Teatralna Street, 5 Kherson

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Черешчатий дуб, Херсон
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Pedunculate oak

Natural object

The age-old oak in Shevchenkivskyi Park is one of the symbols of Kherson. The oldest park in the city was laid out by order of Prince Potomkin Tavriysky in 1785, but in the 19th century the trees were cut down, turning this place into a parade ground, where horse races were held.

In 1869, the park was revived on the initiative of the vice-governor Denys Karnovych. Before the revolution, the park was called Denysovsky in his honor.

The compositional center of the park is a huge petioled oak, according to legend, planted by Emperor Oleksandr II, although the tree was planted by Karnovych. The rays of eight shady alleys diverge from the tree in different directions, one of which leads to the church of Saint Fedir Ushakov.

Map pin icon Shevchenkivskyi park Kherson

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Пам'ятник Потьомкіну, Херсон
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Prince Potomkin Tavriyskyi Monument

Monument

The monument to Prince Hrihoriy Potomkin Tavriyskyi was erected by the will of Empress Catherine II in Kherson, the city where he was buried in 1791.

However, the construction of the monument began only under Oleksandr I, Catherine's grandson. The sculpture by Ivan Martos was installed in the Mykhaylo Hrushevskyi (formerly Potomkin`s) Square in 1836. During the Soviet rule, the monument was removed from the pedestal (a monument to Karl Marx was erected in its place), and then it disappeared.

Restored in 2003 to celebrate the 225th anniversary of the founding of the city.

In 2022, during the occupation of Kherson by Russian troops during the Russian-Ukrainian war, on the eve of the retreat from the city as a result of a successful counteroffensive operation by the Ukrainian army, the Russian occupiers dismantled the monument and took it out of the city.

Map pin icon Mykhayla Hrushevskoho Street Kherson

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Громадська бібліотека, Херсон
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Public Library

Architecture

The building of the Central RAGS was erected in 1896 for the Kherson Public Library. The construction was carried out on donations from the people of Kherson, part of the funds was allocated by the city administration.

The building was designed in the neoclassical style by the architect Mykola Tolvinsky. At the beginning of the 20th century, the Kherson public library was often visited by Borys Serhyeyev, the future writer Lavrenyev.

The first exhibition of the Kherson Museum of Antiquities was located here. The library served its purpose until 1987, when it was decided to house the city registry office in the building.

Map pin icon Torhova Street, 24 Kherson

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Костел Серця Ісуса, Херсон
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Sacred Heart of Jesus Church

Temple , Architecture

The Roman Catholic Church of the Sacred Heart of Jesus was founded on the initiative of Prince Hrihoriy Potomkin to attract foreigners to Kherson.

The first Catholic church in the name of the Savior, built in 1787, was adobe. A stone church was built on this site in the 1820s, later a spire was built above the bell tower. A Roman Catholic church school and a society for helping poor Catholics operated here.

In 1918, the first service was held in Ukrainian. In 1931, the church was closed, workshops were placed in it, then a children's cinema was opened.

In 1994, the temple was returned to believers and reconstructed. Today it is the Roman Catholic church of the parish of the Sacred Heart of Jesus.

Map pin icon Yevropeyska Street, 40 Kherson

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Свято-Катерининський собор, Херсон
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Saint Catherine Cathedral

Temple , Architecture

Saint Catherine Cathedral in Kherson - a landmark of the 18th century. The style of early classicism with the use of motifs of the Balkan medieval architecture.

The cathedral with a monumental bell tower was built in 1782-1787 on the site of the wooden Saint Michael's Church on the territory of the former Kherson fortress. Named after Saint Catherine and Empress Catherine II, who visited the temple in 1786. A chair made especially for the empress has been preserved. In the interior, there are paintings attributed to Volodymyr Borovykovskyi and Dmytro Levytskyi.

The "Pantheon of the Kherson Fortress" is located on the territory of Saint Catherine Cathedral - the burial place of officers who died in the Russian-Turkish war.

In 1791, Prince Hryhoriy Potemkin-Tavriyskyi was buried in the crypt under the cathedral. At the end of October 2022, during the occupation of Kherson by Russian troops during the Russo-Ukrainian War, on the eve of the retreat from the city as a result of a successful counter-offensive operation by the Ukrainian army, the Russian occupiers dug up the ashes of Prince Potemkin from under the floor of Saint Catherine's Cathedral and removed it from Kherson.

During the Russian invasion of Ukraine, Saint Catherine Cathedral was repeatedly damaged. In August 2023, the roof of the cathedral caught fire during a Russian artillery strike. On the night of December 27, 2023, Saint Catherine Cathedral was damaged during shelling by the Russians, as a result of which the facade and roof were damaged, and the windows were broken. On December 20, 2024, a Russian shell hit the light drum under the dome, as a result of which the facade and interior of the cathedral suffered significant damage.

Map pin icon Perekopska Street, 13 Kherson

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Миколаївський морський собор, Херсон
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Saint Nicholas Maritime Cathedral

Temple , Architecture

The Saint Nicholas Maritime Cathedral in Kherson was built in 1842 at the expense of a descendant of the Doroshenko hetman family, a collegian assessor Yakiv Doroshenko. It is located in the Zabalkivskyi suburb, which is separated from the city by a deep ravine.

The first wooden church of Saint Nicholas the Wonderworker appeared here at the beginning of the 19th century, but it quickly fell into disrepair, and then there was a need to build a new church. The stone temple in the style of classicism has a spherical dome and a two-tier bell tower.

During the Crimean War, the defenders of Sevastopol who died in Kherson hospitals were mourned in the Saint Nicholas Church.

In 2007, the Saint Nicholas Church was granted the status of a maritime cathedral.

Map pin icon Mostova Street, 31 Kherson

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Скульптура Божої Матері, Херсон
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Sculpture of the Mother of God

Monument

The sculpture of the Mother of God was opened in Pokrovsky Square in 2009. It is located on the site of the Church of the Holy Virgin, destroyed in the 1940s.

The figure, 2.5 meters high, made of white artificial stone, looks at the sunrise. The territory of the square, located near the city RAGS, which until recently was neglected and unattractive, has now been put in order: benches have been installed along the paths paved with pavement tiles, and flowers and conifers have been planted in the flowerbeds. And in the evening, lanterns burn here.

Map pin icon Torhova Street, 24 Kherson

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Будинок Суворова, Херсон
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Suvorov's House

Architecture

The building of the provincial government, where in 1792-1794 lived and worked the commander Oleksandr Suvorov, who oversaw the completion of the construction of the Kherson fortress. Under the command of General Anshef, the strengthening of the approaches to the fortress and the defense of the Kinburn district were carried out.

Now Suvorov's building houses shops and offices. A memorial plaque hangs on the building, on the left is a bas-relief of the work of Kherson sculptor Ivan Bilokur "Soldiers of Suvorov in battle".

At the beginning of the Yevropeyska pedestrian street, a monument to the commander was erected, cast in 1904 by master Mykola Rukavyshnikov. In 2022, during the occupation of Kherson by Russian troops during the Russian-Ukrainian war, on the eve of the retreat from the city as a result of a successful counteroffensive operation by the Ukrainian army, the Russian occupiers dismantled the monument and took it out of the city.

Map pin icon Yevropeyska Street, 1A Kherson

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Functional temporarily unavailable