Українська
русский [страна агрессор]
Attractions of Ukraine
Attractions of Ivano-Frankivsk region
Found 303 attractions
Ivano-Frankivsk region
Open map
Available for
Availability settings
Temple , Architecture
The wooden Church of the Ascension of the Lord in Sniatyn was built in 1838 (according to other data, in 1784).
The iconostasis of 1894 has been preserved.
Natalya Kobrynska, a well-known writer and activist of the gender movement, was the wife of the abbot of the temple Teofil Kobrynskyi.
The parish of the Holy Ascension Church belongs to the Orthodox Church of Ukraine.
Kobrynskykh Street, 13 Sniatyn
Rating
Add to favorites
Add to route
The Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary in Verkhovyna is one of the largest wooden architectural structures in Ukraine.
It was built in the 18th century. Burned down in 1944, restored in 1994.
A vivid example of Hutsul folk architecture.
Ivana Franka Street, 7 Verkhovyna
The wooden five-log church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary was built in 1600 on a hill on the right bank of the Pistyn River in the western part of the village, near Sheshory.
It is considered the oldest Hutsul temple, but in some reference books the date of construction is 1858. Local residents also call this church "Horishnya", i.e. "upper". To protect against Tatar raids, the temple was surrounded by a rampart and stone walls, the remains of which have been preserved to this day.
The Horishnya church is well preserved, but its authentic appearance is spoiled by the galvanized iron coating. There is a stone belfry (XVIII century) near the Assumption Church.
Pistyn
Architecture , Temple
The Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary in Lysets was built in 1852 at the expense of Count Rudolf Stadion (Shtadion) on the site of a wooden church that had existed since the 17th century.
The church in the Romanesque style has five altars.
The peculiarity of the Lysets church was that parishioners of the Latin and Armenian religious denominations held services in it at the same time.
The oldest and most valuable treasure of the Assumption Church was the miraculous image of the Mother of God of Lysets. In 1945, deported Poles took the icon to Poland.
In Soviet times, the church had a cinema.
Currently, the temple has been returned to the Roman Catholics, restoration and repair work is ongoing. The image of the Mother of God of Lysets returned to the church in the form of a copy.
Tarasa Shevchenko Street, 3 Lysets
The Greek Catholic Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary was built in Horodenka in the 18th century at the expense of Mykola Vasyl Potoski.
According to legend, the temple was founded by Potoski to atone for his sin - the murder of a local girl (according to one version, these events formed the basis of the folk "Song of Bondarivna").
The author of the project is the famous architect Berdard Meretyn. Instead of the traditional cross, the temple is crowned with the "Pilyava" cross of the Potocki family coat of arms.
The iconostasis of the Church of the Assumption is similar to the iconostasis of Saint George's Cathedral in Lviv - it was also created by the outstanding Ukrainian sculptor Ivan Pinzel, who often worked together with Meretyn.
Tarasa Shevchenko Street, 70 Horodenka
The wooden church of the Assumption of the Holy Virgin Mary in Yaremche was built in 1884.
It is located in the city center, next to the railway crossing.
Yevhena Konovaltsya Street, 2A Yaremche
The wooden church of the Assumption of the Holy Virgin Mary in Yablunytsia was built in 1895.
In 1900, the nave of the church was painted by the famous Ukrainian monumental artist Modest Sosenko.
The church is an architectural monument of local importance.
Yablunytsia
The Church of the Assumption of the Holy Virgin Mary was built in Bolekhiv in the 1820s on the site of an old church that existed from the 16th-17th centuries.
The first church was wooden. A new church was built in its place in 1730-1738, but it collapsed due to engineering miscalculations.
The present Assumption Church in the Art Nouveau style was closed in Soviet times, used as a sports hall, then a boiler room.
In 1994-2000, the church was restored. Today it belongs to the Catholic community of Bolekhiv.
Sichovykh Striltsiv Street, 13 Bolekhiv
The Bernardine Monastery in Hvizdets was founded in 1715 by Prince Mykhaylo Puzyna. The baroque church of Saint Anthoniy and the Bernardine monastery were built in 1721-1735 at the expense of Princess Puzyna from the Potocki family.
The complex also includes a belfry over the gate and several outbuildings.
Tarasa Shevchenko Street, 8 Hvizdets
The building of the great synagogue in Bolekhiv was built in 1789-1808.
Before the Second World War, more than half of the population of Bolehov consisted of Jews, but almost all of them were exterminated by the Nazis.
In Soviet times, the synagogue premises were used as a club. The building is currently in a state of disrepair.
Yevhena Petrushevycha Street, 6 Bolekhiv
Natural object
Lake Brebeneskul is the highest mountain lake in Ukraine (1801 meters). The Brebeneskul River flows from here.
The glacial lake is located on the southwestern slope of the Chornohora ridge, in the valley between the Brebeneskul and Gutyn Tomnatyk mountains.
The lake is 67 meters wide and 147 meters long. The greatest depth is 3.2 meters. Lake Brebeneskul has an oval shape. The banks are steep, high, with stone screes. The water is clean and slightly mineralized, the bottom is covered with gray silt.
Popular among lovers of mountain tourism.
Chornohora tract Dzembronia
Museum / gallery
The brown bear museum in Maniava was opened in 2006 on the initiative of the public organization "Our Home - Maniava". In this way, local residents honored the four-legged beast, which is considered the master of the forest, a symbol of power and part of local culture.
More than 80 "bear" exhibits are collected in several rooms of the premises of the Maniava village council, including a stuffed bear.
Also on display are souvenirs made by local residents, toys, Hutsul tiles, watches and much more. A gallery of paintings dedicated to the bear theme is on display.
Excursions are free, but voluntary donations are welcome.
Nezalezhnosti Street, 26 Maniava
Bukhtivets waterfall is located on the mountain river Bukhtivets in the village of Bukove.
Its height is 8 meters. The stream flows from the mountain and falls into the valley, cutting the rock with a narrow canyon.
In 1972, the Bukhtivets waterfall was taken under protection as a hydrological monument of nature of local importance.
Nearby is the 10-meter-high Krapelny waterfall, which got its name due to the fact that the water in it does not pour in a stream, but sprays in drops.
There is a picnic area near the waterfalls.
Bukhtivets tract Bukove
The Museum of Carpathian loggers-butynars is part of the "Butynar" eco-mansion, which opened in Kosmach in 2021.
At the heart of the open-air museum exposition (skansen) is a reproduced wooden hut of butynars, in which they lived while working in the mountains. In the hut you can see working tools and household items of loggers: saws, axes, wooden utensils, etc.
On the porch of the Hutsul hut, there is an exhibition of miniatures, which demonstrate the daily life of butynars. Another exhibit of the museum complex is a tavern.
In the yard - an ancient space carriage and wooden sculptures of mythical creatures from Hutsul folklore. Samples of Carpathian wood, old maps, and other tourist attractions of Kosmach are displayed at the stands.
The estate complex includes a rest house above the pond.
Horishnya Street Kosmach
The monastery of the Catholic order of Capuchins was founded in Marynopil (Mariiampil) in 1742-1746 at the expense of the Bratslav voivode, Yan Kayetan Yablonovskyi.
In 1757, the construction of Saint Anthoniy's Church was completed. A collegium with philosophy and rhetoric classes, a school for orphans, and a hospital operated at the monastery.
Under the Austrian authorities, the monastery was handed over to the Sisters of Charity of the Order of Charits, and the church came under the control of the Greek Catholic community of Mariiampil.
In 1948, a boarding school was placed next to the monastery, then an LTP. Today it is the Halytskyi correctional colony.
Vyacheslava Chornovola Street Mariiampil