Attractions of Ukraine

Right arrow

Attractions of Kyiv

Attractions of Kyiv

Online travel guide to attractions and sights of Kyiv

Found 278 attractions

Kyiv

change

Sights categories

Available for

Availability settings

Clear filters

All attractions and sights of Kyiv

Замкова гора (Хоривиця), Київ
3.75
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
1

Castle Hill (Khoryvytsya)

Historic area

Castle Hill (Khoryvytsya) is a historical area of ​​Kyiv associated with the legend of the founders of the city. Along with Shchekavytsya Hill, Starokyivska Hill and Lybid River, Khoryvytsya is one of the main symbols of Kyiv.

According to legend, when the first Kyiv prince Kyi founded Kyiv Castle on Starokyivska Hill, his brother Khoryv built his city on the nearby Khoryvytsya Hill. Traditionally, Khoryvytsya is identified with the mountain that is now known as Castle Hill (Kyselivka), although according to another version, Khoryvytsya should be called the current mountain Yurkovytsya.

At the end of the 14th century, when Podil became the center of Kyiv, a wooden castle of the Lithuanian voivode was built on Castle Hill. In 1482, it was burned by the Tatars, but it was soon restored, and at the end of the 16th century it became the residence of the Polish voivode. The mountain began to be called Kyselivka in the middle of the 17th century after the Kyiv voivode Adam Kysil. The castle had 15 towers, its area was 16 thousand square meters. In 1651, the Ukrainian Cossacks burned down the castle, and since then it has not been restored.

In the 19th century, Castle Hill was transferred to the Florivsky Monastery, and a cemetery appeared on it. Now this place is popular with representatives of informal youth movements and followers of pagan cults. Reconstruction of the castle and the creation of a museum complex are planned.

Map pin icon Andriyivskyi Descent Kyiv

Rating

User icon
1
3.75
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Синагога Бродського, Київ
3.75
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
1

Central Synagogue (Brodsky Synagogue)

Temple , Architecture

The Central Kyiv Synagogue was built in 1897-1898 at the expense of a large sugar factory, Lazar Brodsky, and informally bears his name.

The design of the synagogue in the Moorish style was developed by architect George Shleifer. The building functioned as a Jewish religious center for three decades. In Soviet times, a puppet theater was located here. Since 1992, the service has been resumed.

A small museum has been created in the hall of the Brodsky synagogue - here you can see a Hanukkah by the famous Israeli sculptor Frank Meisler, a fragment of a Torah scroll of the II-V centuries, a copy of the key from the opening of the synagogue in 1898, old books, stacks, tefillin, mezuzahs, candlesticks.

Map pin icon Shota Rustaveli Street, 13 Kyiv

Rating

User icon
1
3.75
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Шоколадний будинок, Київ
3.75
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
1

Chocolate House Art Center

Palace / manor , Architecture , Museum / gallery

The mansion of the timber producer Semen Mohylyovtsev in Pechersk Lypky in Kyiv is nicknamed the "Chocolate House" for the color and texture of the exterior walls.

Academician of architecture Volodymyr Nikolaev is called the author of the project. Unique interiors are made in various artistic styles (modern, renaissance, gothic, baroque).

In the Soviet period, the "Chocolate House" was used as a residence, then as the city's Palace of Marriages. Until recently, it was in a state of emergency.

Currently, the "Chocolate House" is a branch of the Kyiv Art Gallery National Museum.

Map pin icon Shovkovychna Street, 17/2 Kyiv

Rating

User icon
1
3.75
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Покровська Подільська церква, Київ
3.75
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
1

Church of the Holy Intercession in Podil

Temple , Architecture

The Holy Intercession Church on Podil in Kyiv was built by the architect Ivan Hryhorovych-Barsky on the site of the ancient Armenian Church of the Intercession of the Holy Mother of God.

The church is made in the typical Ukrainian Baroque style. Nearby - a bell tower of the 18th century. Opposite - the bell tower of the church of Nicholas the Good (1716), destroyed in Soviet times, where the writer Mykhailo Bulhakov was married.

Map pin icon Pokrovska Street, 7 Kyiv

Rating

User icon
1
3.75
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Парк "Феофанія", Київ
3.75
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
1

Feofaniya Park

Historic area , Park / garden

The Feofaniya tract is a picturesque area on the southern outskirts of Kyiv, where the Feofaniya park and the Saint Panteleymon women's monastery are located.

It was mentioned for the first time in 1471 as a tract of Lazarivshchyna, belonging to the Kyiv administrator Khodyk. In 1803, Bishop Feofan of Chyhyryn settled here, and the village was named Feofaniya. At the same time, the first wooden temple in honor of the Miracle of Michael the Archangel and the bishop's house were built. In 1861, a hermitage was founded in Feofaniya, and in 1912, the majestic Panteleymon Cathedral was built here.

The monastery was closed by the Soviet authorities in the 1930s, medical institutions of various departments, the main observatory and field experimental laboratory of the Institute of Botany of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine were located here. Only in 1990, the mutilated cathedral building was returned to the Orthodox Church. Three years later, Feofaniya became a hermitage of the Holy Intercession Church Convent, and in 2002 the monastery became independent.

The territory of the tract has the status of a monument of garden and park art, subordinated to the State Reserve Farm "Feofaniya" of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine. Since 2003, the recreation area near the ponds has been reconstructed with the arrangement of water supply, drainage, gazebos, fountains, the laying of paths, lining of the shores, etc. The reconstruction has not yet been completed, but the park is already popular among the townspeople.

Map pin icon Akademika Lebedyeva Street, 32 Kyiv

Rating

User icon
1
3.75
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Галерея протестного мистецтва, Київ
3.75
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
1

Gallery of Protest Art

Architecture , Museum / gallery

The Gallery of Protest Art is part of the National Memorial to the Heavenly Hundred Heroes and Revolution of Dignity Museum.

It is located on Pechersk in Kyiv, on the second floor of the Uvarova manor of the early 20th century, where the Institute of National Remembrance is also located.

Exhibitions are held here that interpret and reflect the themes of protests, the Maidan and the struggle for independence and democratic values both in Ukraine and in the world. In particular, the reconstruction of the "Artistic Barbican" is presented - a Maidan location created by artists as a place for meetings, rest, heating and 24-hour duty on the territory of the protest.

Map pin icon Lypska Street, 16 Kyiv

Rating

User icon
1
3.75
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Золоті ворота, Київ
3.75
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
1

Golden Gate

Castle / fortress

"Golden Gates" - one of the few monuments of the fortification of Ancient Kyiv. They were the main, ceremonial gate of the city of Yaroslav.

Mentioned in the chronicle article of 1037, which tells about the construction activities of Prince Yaroslav the Wise. However, recent research proves that the construction of Kyiv fortifications, together with the "Golden Gates", was begun by Volodymyr the Great, and completed by his son Yaroslav the Wise, who erected the Church of the Annunciation on them, consecrated in 1022. The name of the gate comes from the golden dome of the Annunciation Church, which crowned the structure.

In 1832, thorough archaeological excavations were carried out. In 1982, to the 1500th anniversary of Kyiv, the "Golden Gates" were reconstructed. During the reconstruction, the late masonry adjacent to the walls of the first half of the 11th century, and the buttresses of the 19th century were preserved. The modern superstructure does not put pressure on the old walls, it rests on metal structures hidden in its thickness. The ancient foundations can be viewed inside the building.

In 1983, the pavilion-reconstruction "Golden Gates" became a museum. It is part of the National Reserve "Sophia of Kyiv".

Nearby in the park is a monument to Yaroslav the Wise (1997), a cast-iron fountain (19th century). From here begins Yaroslaviv Val Street, laid along one of the defensive ramparts of Ancient Kyiv.

Map pin icon Volodymyrska Street, 40А Kyiv

Rating

User icon
1
3.75
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей гетьманства (Будинок Мазепи), Київ
3.75
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
1

Hetmanship Museum (Mazepa House)

Architecture , Museum / gallery

The Museum of Hetmanship in Kyiv is dedicated to the history of state formation of Ukraine during the Zaporizhzhian Cossack Army and the Hetmanshchyna of the XVII-XVIII centuries, as well as the Hetmanate of the early XX century.

The museum's exposition reveals the essence of the specific hetman form of government and the structure of military-civilian administration in contemporary Ukraine, and tells about the history and traditions of the Cossack-Hetman era.

The Hetmanship Museum was founded in 1993 and is housed in a late 17th-century architectural monument known to Kyivans as "Mazepa's House." Indeed, this two-story mansion in the Baroque style typical of Cossack architecture was built during the reign of Hetman Ivan Mazepa, although there is no direct evidence of his stay here.

From 1717 the house was owned by the Cossack-bourgeois Sychevskyi family, whose representatives were part of the city magistrate. Among the few Podil mansions, this house survived the fire of 1811, as indicated by its location at an angle to later street planning. During the reconstruction of Podil, the architect Andriy Melenskyi completed the second floor and the pediment with columns.

In Soviet times, there were communal apartments. In 1992, the Ivan Mazepa Foundation carried out a restoration to create the Museum of Hetmanship.

The museum has more than 9,000 museum items. In the hall of Bohdan Khmelnytsky the banner of the hetman with his family coat of arms is presented. The scientific exhibitions "Hetman Ivan Mazepa", "Pylyp Orlyk - Hetman, the author of the first democratic constitution of Ukraine" and "Pavlo Skoropadskyi and the Ukrainian state of 1918" are constantly open. Among the exhibits: an engraving of 1706 "Mazepa among his good deeds", a map of Ukraine by Johann Baptist Homann in 1716, items from the personal collection of the Skoropadskyi family.

The museum periodically holds meetings of the discussion club "Hetman's Living Room".

Map pin icon Spaska Street, 16B Kyiv

Rating

User icon
1
3.75
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Національний музей історії України, Київ
3.75
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
1

History of Ukraine National Museum

Museum / gallery

The greatest treasury of Ukrainian antiquities of all time is the National Museum of History of Ukraine (NMHU), located in the historic heart of Kyiv, on the ramparts of the Kyiv Dytynets (Citadel).

The museum was founded in 1899 and officially opened in 1904 as the Kyiv Art, Industry and Science Museum. It was originally housed in a museum building built by architect Vladyslav Horodetsky, which is now occupied by the National Art Museum. The first museum department of archeology was headed by the discoverer of Trypillya and Chernyakhiv cultures, a prominent Ukrainian archaeologist Vikentiy Khvoyka.

After the Second World War, the historical museum moved to the current building in the style of classicism, which was built on Starokyivska Hill in 1937-1939 for the art school. Today, the National Museum of History of Ukraine is one of the leading museums in Ukraine in terms of the number and importance of collections. Its stock collections number about 850 thousand exhibits. These are world-famous archeological and numismatic collections, ethnographic collections, collections of weapons, monuments of decorative and applied arts, manuscripts, old prints, paintings and graphics, relics of the Ukrainian national liberation movement of the twentieth century. They are located in 33 halls and reflect the history of Ukraine from ancient times to the present.

In particular, you can see the mysterious binoculars of Trypillya vessels, an anthropomorphic idol of pit culture, an iron Scythian sword with a golden handle from the Bielsko settlement. The diorama "Kyiv of the X-XIII centuries" gives a clear idea of the medieval city. The grand royal carriage of Empress Elizabeth Petrivna, which she presented to Kyiv Metropolitan Raphael Zaborovskyi, impresses with its luxury. The pride of the National Museum of History of Ukraine is the holographic exhibition "Golden Treasury of Ukraine", where you can see in detail the hologram of the famous golden Scythian pectoral. The largest numismatic collection of the museum in Ukraine has 120 thousand units.

In addition to classic tours, the National Museum of History of Ukraine offers author's themed tours, theatrical tours with a deep immersion in the atmosphere of the era, interactive children's tours and quests. The museum shop offers historical publications, postcards, souvenir plates, magnets, etc.

Admission to the museum is free every last Monday of the month.

Map pin icon Volodymyrska Street, 2 Kyiv

Rating

User icon
1
3.75
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Покровський собор (Платонівська церква), Київ
3.75
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
1

Holy Intercession Cathedral (Platon's Church)

Temple , Architecture

The Holy Intercession Cathedral on Solomyanka in Kyiv is the work of Ipolit Nikolaev.

The church was built on the order of the Kyiv City Council during 1895-1897 in memory of the Metropolitan of Kyiv and Halytskyi Platon (Horodetskyi). It is also known by the name "Platon's Church" among Kyivans.

In 1905-1919, the future creator and first metropolitan of the Ukrainian Autocephalous Orthodox Church, Vasyl Lypkivskyi, was the rector of the church.

Belongs to the Orthodox Church of Ukraine.

Map pin icon Patriarkha Mstyslava Skrypnyka Street, 20/1 Kyiv

Rating

User icon
1
3.75
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Урочище Гончарі-Кожум'яки, Київ
3.75
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
1

Honchari-Kozhumyaki Tract

Historic area

The artisan settlements in the Honchari-Kozhumyaki tract in Kyiv Podil arose during the time of Kyivan Rus. The names of the streets Honcharna, Kozhumyacka and Dehtyarna reflect the nature of the residents' activities.

During Soviet times, the area fell into decline. Since the early 2000s, the Honchari-Kozhumyaki microdistrict has been built up with elite mansions in the style of the 19th century, creating a new architectural ensemble of the historical center of Kyiv.

Map pin icon Honcharna, Vozdvyzhenska, Kozhumyatska, Dehtyarna streets Kyiv

Rating

User icon
1
3.75
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Будинок з химерами, Київ
3.75
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
1

House with Chimeras

Architecture

The famous Kyiv "House with Chimeras" is one of the most extravagant creations of the architect Vladyslav Horodetskyi (he lived in this building until 1920).

The house is located on a steep cave slope, has three floors on one side, and six on the other. The facades are decorated with intricate sculptures on the themes of ancient myths and hunting, which served primarily as an advertisement for a new building material - cement. The legend attributes the gloomy sculptural subjects to the grief of Horodetskyi for his daughter who drowned in the Mediterranean Sea.

In Soviet times, the "House with Chimeras" was a communal building, then a hospital of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of Ukraine. Currently, it is a small residence for receptions of the President of Ukraine. Tours to the "House of Chimeras" are organized by the Kyiv History Museum. The President of Ukraine Office is located opposite.

Map pin icon Bankova Street, 10 Kyiv

Rating

User icon
1
3.75
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Пам'ятник Г. Сковороді, Київ
3.75
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
1

Hryhoriy Skovoroda Monument

Monument

A monument to the great Ukrainian philosopher and educator Hryhoriy Skovoroda is erected on Kontraktova Square in Kyiv in front of the building of the Kyiv-Mohyla Academy, where he studied from 1738 to 1750, sang in the choir, and later taught.

Hryhoriy Skovoroda is depicted as if returning to his alma mater. According to the idea of the author of the sculpture, Ivan Kavaleridze, he was supposed to be barefoot, with a Bible under his arm and a cross around his neck, but at the request of the party leadership, the philosopher was put in shoes, and the Christian symbols were removed.

The Skovroda monument became the mascot of the students of the Kyiv-Mohyla Academy. According to tradition, every year on the day of the academy on October 14, the monument is washed, and on June 28, on the day of the awarding of diplomas, a bonnet - a black graduate cap - is put on Skovoroda's head. It is also a traditional place for informal youth meetings.

Map pin icon Kontraktova Square Kyiv

Rating

User icon
1
3.75
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей Івана Гончара, Київ
3.75
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
1

Ivan Honchar Museum National Centre of Folk Culture

Architecture , Museum / gallery

The National Center of Folk Culture "Ivan Honchar Museum" was created in 1993 on the initiative of the People's Artist of Ukraine Ivan Honchar, co-founder of the Ukrainian Society for the Preservation of Historical and Cultural Monuments, and one of the largest open-air museums in the world - the Museum of Folk Architecture and Life of Ukraine.

The museum is housed in an ancient building - an architectural monument of the 18th century. The exposition is based on the private collection of Ivan Honchar, who in Soviet times searched for and collected highly artistic works of Ukrainian folk art, as well as the works of professional painters who could not enter state museums for ideological reasons.

A large collection of icons of the 16th-18th centuries, fabrics, ceramics, and musical instruments is presented.

Map pin icon Lavrska Street, 19 Kyiv

Rating

User icon
1
3.75
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей Ханенків, Київ
3.75
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
1

Khanenko National Museum of Arts

Museum / gallery

The National Museum of Arts named after Bohdan and Varvara Khanenko in Kyiv presents the world art of Europe, Asia and the Ancient World in Ukraine.

The exposition is based on the artistic collection of the Khanenko family - prominent Ukrainian entrepreneurs, collectors and philanthropists of the XIX-XX centuries. The museum is located in their family mansion, built in the late XIX century in the style of historicism using artistic features of Gothic, Renaissance, Baroque, Rococo.

The Khanenko Museum represents about 4,000 years of art development in different parts of the world, more than 1,000 works in a permanent exhibition. Western European art of the XIV-XVIII centuries is represented by the works of such masters as Francois Boucher, Peter Paul Rubens, Jacques-Louis David, Giovanni Bellini and others. Among them are two masterpieces of Spanish painting - "Still Life with a Chocolate Mill" by Juan Surbaran and "Portrait of Infanta Margarita" by Diego Velázquez. The Khanenkos themselves valued the painting "Venus Dedicates Bacchanalia in the Secret of Love", which was attributed to Titian, but modern researchers have concluded that it is only an imitation of the master of an unknown Venetian artist of the XVII century.

The Khanenko Museum also has a huge collection of art from the Middle and Far East: Japanese Nets, Chinese porcelain, Persian rugs and Tibetan bronze sculptures. A small collection of artifacts from South America and Africa is presented.

GENERAL INFORMATION ON ACCESSIBILITY: The premises of the Khanenko Museum are located in historical buildings, which makes it difficult to create proper conditions for accessibility. In 2022, the Museum Courtyard was opened as a fully accessible and inclusive space. For blind and partially sighted people, the Khanenko Museum offers a tactile experience of art - 3 tactile copies of ceramics, 2 plastic albums with 17 tactile copies of objects from the museum's collection, and 2 special tactile maps that help navigate the space.

Map pin icon Tereshchenkivska Street, 15-17 Kyiv

Rating

User icon
1
3.75
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Functional temporarily unavailable