Attractions of Zolochiv district

Online travel guide to attractions and sights of Zolochiv district

Found 51 attractions

Zolochiv district

change

Sights categories

Available for

Availability settings

Clear filters

All attractions and sights of Zolochiv district

Бродівська гімназія, Броди
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Brody Gymnasium

Architecture

The Brody Gymnasium was founded in 1865. The construction of the current building in the style of classicism began in 1881, and the first classes were held in 1883.

During both world wars, the building was used as a barracks and a hospital. In the post-war period, it was returned to its main purpose - secondary school No. 1 was opened here.

In 1997, a gymnasium was revived on the basis of the school, which was named after a former graduate, the outstanding Ukrainian artist Ivan Trush. The classic of Austrian literature Yozef Rot, General of the Ukrainian Galician Army Myron Tarnavskyi also studied here.

The museum of the Brody Grammar School operates in five sections: "Austrian Grammar School named after Archduke Rudolf", "Polish Grammar School named after Yuzef Kozhenevsky", "Secondary School No. 1", "Revived Grammar School named after Ivan Trush", "Faces in the History of the Grammar School".

Map pin icon Mykhayla Kotsyubynskoho Street, 2 Brody

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Монастир капуцинів, Олесько
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Capuchin monastery

Architecture , Temple

The monastery of the Catholic order of Capuchins opposite the Olesko castle was built at the expense of Volyn Voivode Severyn Rzhevuskyi.

The project was developed by Podillya architect Martyn Dobravskyi. Construction was completed in 1739. The monastery complex consisted of the church of Saint Anthony, built in the Baroque style, and a square cell building with an inner courtyard.

In 1939, the monastery was closed. After 1945, an agricultural school was located here. Currently, the complex belongs to the Lviv National Art Gallery named after Borys Voznytskyi and is used as a storage facility, access is closed.

Map pin icon Zamkova Street, 27A Olesko

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Буська ратуша, Буськ
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

City Hall

Architecture

Busk City Hall is an architectural landmark of the city center. It was built only in 1999, although the traditions of self-government in the city are very old - it received Magdeburg law in 1411, one of the first in Galicia.

The current building of the city hall was built on the site of the county court, which housed the Gestapo during the Second World War.

Today, the city council and the tax inspectorate are located here. In 2011, a clock made by the famous Lviv craftsman Oleksiy Burnayev was installed on the tower of the city hall. The clock's repertoire includes 12 melodies that play every hour. At noon, the national anthem of Ukraine plays.

Nearby is the new Peter and Paul Church (1998).

Map pin icon 900-richchya Buska Square, 1 Busk

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Чортів Камінь, Підкамінь
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Devil Stone

Natural object

The huge 16-meter stone-relic "Devil Stone", which gave the village its name, is located on the top of a hill on the southeastern outskirts of Pidkamin.

The uniqueness and grandeur of this natural monument have attracted people to it since ancient times. One of the legends says that devils brought a piece of rock from the Carpathians, intending to drop it on the Pochaiv Lavra, but God threw the stone aside. According to the scientific version, this is a fragment of an ancient coral reef.

6 grave pits were hollowed out on top of the stone. In pre-Christian times, there was a pagan temple here. During the times of the Galicia-Volyn principality, a defensive church was built on top, from which traces in the form of grooves and ditches remained on the surface.

Nearby are stone crosses of the 17th century.

Map pin icon Pidkamin

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Воздвиженський костел, Підгірці
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Exaltation of Holy Cross and Saint Joseph Church

Temple , Architecture

The Roman Catholic Church of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross and Saint Joseph the Betrothed was built according to the project of the engineer Karol Romanus as a temple-tomb of the Rzevuskyi family (according to one version, the author of the project was Prince Vaclav Rzevuskyi himself).

Made in the Baroque style in the form of a rotunda, to which a 300-meter linden alley leads from the Pidhirtsi Castle. Figures of the Mother of God and Saint Joseph on columns are installed in front of the church. The main facade is decorated with a portico of 14 columns of the Corinthian order, on the attic of which 8 sculptures of saints by Fessinger and Leblas were installed (one of them was destroyed during the Second World War).

The interior of the Exaltation of Holy Cross Church has preserved frescoes by Lukash Smuhlevych and several Galician masters.

Since 1861, the temple was a parish church, in 1945 it was closed by the Soviet authorities. Currently, the church is under restoration, but you can get inside during services held by the Greek Catholic parish of the Church of the Blessed Mykola Charnetskyi and the New Martyrs of the Ukrainian Greek Catholic Church.

Map pin icon Mykhayla Hrushevskoho Street, 13A Pidhirtsi

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Воздвиженський костел, Новий Милятин
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Exaltation of Holy Cross Church

Temple , Architecture

The Roman Catholic Church of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross was built in 1780-1790 on the site of the church of the Discalced Carmelites, who came to Novyi Myliatyn in 1745 from Lviv and brought here the miraculous image of Jesus Christ from the village of Novyi Stav, which was kept in the Sobeshansky chapel.

In 1788, the Austrian government liquidated the monastery, and its premises came under the care of parish priests. The new Exaltation Church was built at the expense of Frantsisheka Hlohovsky according to the project of the architect Frantsysk Kulchytsky.

The architecture of the facade combined baroque features with elements of classicism. The facade is decorated with a decorative balcony, under which the inscription "De Tuis Donis..." is partially preserved.

Fragments of wooden sculpture and carvings of the main altar have been preserved in the interior. The walls are decorated with decorative paintings of the 19th century.

There was also an organ in the Church of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross, which during Soviet times was dismantled and taken to the Cathedral of Saint George in Lviv, where it remains to this day.

Map pin icon Tsentralna Street Novyi Myliatyn

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей родини Федунів, Клекотів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Fedun Family Manor-Museum

Museum / gallery

The memorial estate-museum of the Galician family Fedun opened in the village of Klekotiv in 2011 during a congress of the large Fedun family, which gathered in the family village from all over the world.

The museum-estate is located in a hut built in 1938 by Mikhaylo Fedun, who, together with his younger brother Hrihoriy, was tortured during the first Bolshevik occupation of 1939-1941, and their families were repressed and sent to Siberia. The estate was completely reconstructed by Mikhaylo's sons Vasyl and Ihor - the original interior, furniture and other household items of the peasant Fedun family were restored.

The museum's exposition is decorated with a genealogical tree of the Fedun family. A separate room is dedicated to the founder of the family – Vasyl Fedun (father of Mykhaylo and Hrihoriy), an active public figure of the Brody region, an associate of the educational and cooperative movement. In the same room there are stands telling about the life of the family of Mykhaylo Fedun, who was shot by the Bolsheviks.

The kitchen recreates the interior of a peasant kitchen with household items from the first half of the 20th century. In the room of Mykhaylo and Teodoziya Fedun, the original interior is recreated and stands are placed that reveal the thorny path of the children and grandchildren of Vasyl and Anna Fedun (the founders) after World War II.

The Fedun family estate-museum is a branch of the Brody Historical and Local Lore Museum.

Map pin icon Tsentralna Street, 2 Klekotiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Монастир францисканців (Боярський двір), Золочів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Franciscans Monastery (Boyar Court)

Castle / fortress , Temple , Architecture

The boyar court in Zolochiv, also known as the Zolochiv Arsenal, is a former fortified residence of the town's owners, built in the 15th century by representatives of the Shchechy boyar family.

This is the oldest architectural monument of Zolochiv. After the Zolochiv castle was built, the building began to be used as a city arsenal, then it was handed over to the parish church for the care of the poor.

Until recently, the building of the Boyar Court was in a state of disrepair. In 2012, it was transferred to the Ukrainian Greek-Catholic Church of the Exaltation of the Life-giving Cross, which carried out reconstruction and opened there the Holy Cross Monastery of Saint Damian Friars Minor (Franciscans) and the Chapel of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross of the Lord.

Map pin icon Markiyana Shashkevycha Street, 13 Zolochiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Велика синагога, Буськ
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Great City Synagogue

Architecture

The majestic city synagogue in Busk was built in the 18th century thanks to the donation of Yakob Hlanzer.

It is located near Rynok Square, where the Jewish community of the city used to live, which owned most of the shops.

During the Soviet times, the synagogue operated as a gym, later it was turned into a building materials warehouse, and later part of the synagogue was turned into a residential building. The building was rapidly collapsing. In the early 2000s, in order to preserve the monument, the uninhabited part of the synagogue was transferred to the Evangelical Christian community, which partially restored the building.

Map pin icon Rynok Square Busk

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Бродівська Велика синагога, Броди
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Great Synagogue

Temple , Architecture

A large defense-type choral synagogue was built in Brody in 1742 instead of a wooden temple that burned down. The large brick building of the synagogue is crowned with a two-story attic.

During the Second World War, the synagogue was badly damaged and was not restored during the Soviet era. It is currently in a dilapidated state. In March 2021, one of the columns fell and part of the roof collapsed.

Map pin icon Honcharska Street, 12 Brody

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Троїцька церква (Костел), Олесько
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Holy Trinity Church

Temple , Architecture

The Defense Church of the Holy Trinity was built in Olesko in 1481 in the Renaissance style. In 1625-1627, the then owner of Olesko, Ivan Danylovych, added two side chapels to the church, which were later consecrated in honor of the Most Holy Mother of God and Saint John the Theologian.

The church was heavily damaged during a fire in 1806, was rebuilt in 1809, but burned again in 1841 and was rebuilt in 1847. As a result of these events, the interior lost its original Gothic character and received support pillars that divide it into naves. In 1927, the church was once again modified during another restoration.

The main dominant feature of the building is the round defensive bell tower. The epitaph to Ivan Danylovych (1618) has been preserved.

In 1945, the Soviet authorities closed the temple and used it as a warehouse. In 1993, the church was handed over to the community of the Ukrainian Autocephalous Orthodox Church. Today, is the temple of the Holy Trinity of the Orthodox Church of Ukraine.

Map pin icon Tarasa Shevchenko Street, 59 Olesko

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Каплиця на честь перемоги під Хотином, Новий Милятин
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Honor of victory near Khotyn Chapel

Monument

The chapel in honor of the victory near Khotyn is located at the entrance to the village of Novyi Myliatyn on the route Kyiv - Lviv.

The monument was erected by order of King Yan III Sobesky in honor of the joint victory of the Cossacks led by Petro Sahaydachny and the Polish army near Khotyn in 1621.

The chapel has the form of a three-tier tower-pillar with niches in the form of arches on each tier.

Map pin icon Tsentralna Street Novyi Myliatyn

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Церква Воскресіння Господнього, Золочів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Lord's Resurrection Church

Temple , Architecture

The Church of the Resurrection of the Lord in Zolochiv was built in 1624-1627 by Yakiv Sobesky, the father of King Yan III Sobesky, as a parish Catholic church.

In 1838, as a result of the agreement with the Roman Catholic parish, the church was transferred to the Greek Catholic community of Zolochiv.

Built in the Renaissance style, the Church of the Resurrection is characterized by simplicity of form.

Today it is an active Orthodox church.

Map pin icon Markiyana Shashkevycha Street, 9 Zolochiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей Маркіяна Шашкевича, Підлисся
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Markiyan Shashkevych Museum-Reserve

Museum / gallery

The museum-reserve of the Ukrainian writer Markiyan Shashkevych was opened in 1986 in his native village of Pidlyssia on the occasion of the 175th anniversary of his birth. It is located on the territory of the restored manor of the Shashkevych family.

Markiyan Shashkevych, a religious and cultural and public figure, the initiator of the new Ukrainian literature, the "awakener" of national consciousness in Galicia, was born in Pidlyssia in 1811, and spent his childhood years there.

The first Shashkevych museum room was opened at the local library back in 1959. Later, according to descriptions and documents, the Shashkevych estate was recreated, including his grandfather's house. The house reproduces the Western Ukrainian lifestyle of the first half of the 19th century.

The exposition reveals the difficult life path, priestly, social and creative activities of Markiyan Shashkevych, in particular his chairmanship of the "Ruthenian Triad" (Ruska Triytsia) society. The central place is given to the edition of "The Mermaid of Dniester" - a folk-literary almanac, printed in 1837 in a lively colloquial Ukrainian language. Among Shashkevych's personal belongings are presented a casket and a tuning fork, handed over from Poland by Yulian Kupchynskyi.

A well and an old oak from the time of the spiritual enlightener have been preserved on the territory of the manor. A bust of Markiyan Shashkevych by Dmytro Krvavych is installed near the museum.

Museum-Reserve of Markiyan Shashkevych is a branch of the Lviv National Art Gallery.

Map pin icon Markiyana Shashkevycha Street, 78 Pidlyssia

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Краєзнавчий музей, Маркопіль
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Markopil Museum of Local Lore

Museum / gallery

The local history museum of the village of Markopil is located in the premises of the Markopil secondary school.

Since 1998 he has been working on a voluntary basis. The museum exposition is divided into the periods "Ancient History", "Markopil Castle", "Markopil during the World Wars", "School Education of Markopil".

The museum has about 1,000 exhibits.

Map pin icon Shkilna Street, 7 Markopil

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Functional temporarily unavailable