Attractions of Dubno

Online travel guide to attractions and sights of Dubno

Found 9 attractions

Dubno

change

Sights categories

Available for

Availability settings

Clear filters

All attractions and sights of Dubno

Монастир бернардинів, Дубно
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Bernardine Monastery

Temple , Architecture

The former church of the Bernardine monastery is the oldest church in the city of Dubno. The monastery was founded by Janusz Ostrozki in 1614. The temple complex in the early Baroque style was completed in 1630, already under the Zaslavsky princes.

Surrounded by defensive walls, the Bernardine monastery was part of the system of city fortifications of Dubno together with the Lutsk Gate. After the third partition of Poland in 1784, the Church of the Immaculate Conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary of the Bernardine monastery was transformed into an Orthodox church and rebuilt in a pseudo-Rus style.

In Soviet times, the building was used as a production facility. Currently, it is the Saint Nicholas Church of the Orthodox Church of Ukraine, which has been partially restored.

Map pin icon Danyla Halytskoho Street, 74 Dubno

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Монастир кармеліток, Дубно
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Carmelite Monastery

Architecture

The complex of buildings of the Carmelite monastery was built in Dubno in the early Baroque style during the time of the Zaslavsky princes.

The church and cell building are connected by side facades, an arched gallery runs along the main facade.

In 1890, the monastery was closed by royal decree. Subsequently, it temporarily resumed activity in 1921-1936. During the Soviet rule, the monastery finally ceased to exist.

In 1946, a cancer dispensary was placed in the former monastery buildings. Currently, it is an oncology hospice under the care of the Dubno Medical College. In 2004, with the consent of the head of the oncology dispensary, rooms were allocated here for the house church and for cells for the residents of the Holy Barbary Monastery of the UOC of the Moscow Patriarchate.

Map pin icon Tarasa Shevchenko Street, 51 Dubno

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Костел Яна Непомука, Дубно
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Church of Saint Jan Nepomuk

Temple , Architecture

The parish church of Saint Jan of Nepomuk is the only active Catholic church in the city of Dubno. It was built in 1817-1830 by the local parish priest Alois Osynsky on the site of an older church. There is a stone bell tower nearby.

During the Soviet rule, the gymnasium of the local sports school was closed and transformed.

In 1991, after Ukraine gained independence, services were resumed in the church. In 1994, the church of Saint Jan Nepomuk in Dubno was officially handed over to the faithful of the Roman Catholic parish

It is part of the State Historical and Cultural Reserve of the city of Dubno.

Map pin icon Kostyantyna Ostrozkoho Street, 18 Dubno

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Контрактовий будинок, Дубно
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Contract House

Architecture

The Contract House on the market square of Dubno was built in the 19th century. The building is made in the style of classicism.

The place of the famous "Dubno contracts" was the city of Dubno in the 18th century, until they were moved to Zviahel, and then to Kyiv. Grand fairs were held annually during the month immediately after Christmas. Later, fairs were revived on a smaller scale.

Nowadays, the Contract House is a house of children's creativity.

Map pin icon Kyryla i Mefodiya Street, 11 Dubno

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Дубенський замок, Дубно
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Dubno Castle

Castle / fortress , Architecture , Museum / gallery

The family castle of the princes Ostrozki was built in Dubno in the 15th century, then it belonged to several more aristocratic families: Zaslavsky, Sanhushsko, Lyubomirsky, Baryatinsky.

For centuries, the Dubno Castle remained impregnable - the fortress walls withstood repeated sieges by the Crimean Tatars in the 16th century, the Cossack units of Maksym Kryvonos, and the Russian army in the 17th century. During various wars of the 18th and 19th centuries, hetman Ivan Mazepa, the Swedish king Karl XII, tsar Peter I, generals Suvorov and Kutuzov visited here.

The Dubno castle is surrounded by a defensive moat, over which a bridge leading to the gate and the gatehouse is overturned. On the right is the Ostrozki Palace (XVI century), and on the left - the Lyubomirsky Palace (XVIII century), in which the stucco work of the Italian master Domenico Merlini has been preserved. In the 17th century, the castle was fortified with two bastions with towers designed by the engineer Vauban. The "Maiden's Tower" is associated with the legend of Princess Beata and her successful shot from a cannon at the tent of the Tatar Khan, who was besieging the castle.

There is a whole system of basements and underground passages. They are, in particular, described by Mykola Hohol in the novel "Taras Bulba", the main action of which unfolds around the Dubno Castle. In one of the basements, there is an exposition of the museum of torture, which conducts theatrical tours.

There is a souvenir shop and a cafeteria.

Map pin icon Zamkova Street, 7A Dubno

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Велика синагога, Дубно
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Great Synagogue

Temple , Architecture

The Dubno Great Synagogue was built in the 16th century.

It underwent reconstruction in the 18th century after destruction during the Liberation War of Bohdan Khmelnytskyi.

Until the middle of the 19th century, Dubno had the largest Jewish community in Lutsk County, which flourished thanks to the "Dubno Contracts" fairs that were regularly held in the city. There were 15 synagogues and prayer houses, as well as a Jewish printing house.

The Dubno Great Synagogue was badly damaged during the First World War, but has survived to this day.

Map pin icon Kyryla ta Mefodiya Street, 23 Dubno

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Луцька брама, Дубно
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Lutsk Gate

Castle / fortress

The Lutsk Gate is a three-tiered stone building that played the role of the western entrance gate and the forward defense tower - the Barbican, in the medieval system of Dubno city fortification. It was built in 1623 by the architect Yakub Madeline.

This type of defense structure is typical for Poland and is not found anywhere else in Ukraine. Researchers assume that the Lutsk Gate was connected to the Dubno Castle by a wide underground passage. Later, the building lost its defensive significance, the gate was bricked up, and the street was built next to it. The commemorative plaque indicates that the restoration was carried out in 1785.

According to legend, at the end of the 18th century, a masonic lodge met in the Lutsk Gate under the leadership of Grand Master Mykhaylo Lyubomyrskyi.

Now the Lutsk Gate is used as an administrative building. The monument needs restoration.

Map pin icon Danyla Halytskoho Street, 68 Dubno

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Свято-Іллінський собор, Дубно
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Saint Prophet Ilya Cathedral

Temple , Architecture

The Cathedral of the Holy Prophet Ilya in Dubno was built in 1905 at the expense of the parishioners.

The ornate temple is made in a bright neo-Rus style, and the belfry is in the Rus-Byzantine style.

Previously, the miraculous icon of the Mother of God, donated to the city of Dubno by Prince Kostyantyn Ostrozky, was kept in the Saint Ilya Church, but it was stolen. Now there is a copy in the temple.

It is the central cathedral of the Orthodox Church of Ukraine in the city of Dubno.

Map pin icon Danyla Halytskoho Street, 13 Dubno

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Спасо-Преображенська церква, Дубно
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Savior and Transfiguration Church

Temple , Architecture

The first Orthodox church in Dubno was built in the 16th century on Kampa Island near the Transfiguration Monastery, founded by the first owners of the city from the Ostrozky family.

The Transfiguration Church was first mentioned in 1592 in a letter of Prince Kostyantyn Ostrozky as "a creation of our ancestors". In 1643, a stone church was built on the site of the wooden church, which has survived to this day. In 1839, the bell tower was completed.

One of the medieval bells of the church (1572) is presented in the exposition "Our spiritual treasures" of the Dubno historical and cultural reserve.

Map pin icon Ivana Franka Street, 30A Dubno

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Functional temporarily unavailable