Українська
русский [страна агрессор]
Attractions of Ukraine
Attractions of Chernihiv region
Attractions of Chernihiv district
Found 71 attractions
Chernihiv district
Open map
Available for
Availability settings
Museum / gallery
The museum "Chernihiv region - a journey through the ages" was opened in the village of Kalitianske in 2018 on the site of the previously established museum of the famous scientist and traveler Mykola Mykluho-Maklay.
The museum exposition highlights the history of Chernihiv Region from the pre-Christian period, Kyivan Rus, the Hetmanshchyna to the imperial and Soviet times, as well as to the present day.
Models of the most famous historical buildings of the region are presented, in particular, the palace and park complex in Kachanivka, the Transfiguration Cathedral, Yeletsky Holy Dormition Monastery, etc.
Myklukho-Maklaya Street, 2A Kalytianske
Rating
Add to favorites
Add to route
The History and Local Lore Museum of the village of Mykhailo-Kotsiubynske was established in 1987.
The museum's exposition, which includes about 3 thousand exhibits, reflects the history of the origin and development of the village, tells about famous residents of Mykhailo-Kotsiubynske and Chernihiv districts.
Separate sections are dedicated to the Revolution of Dignity and the Russian-Ukrainian war.
At the beginning of the full-scale Russian invasion of Ukraine in 2022, the village of Mykhailo-Kotsiubynske found itself in the zone of occupation of the Russian invaders. Having broken out the windows, the invaders broke into the museum and plundered the exposition of the ATO soldiers, damaged the ancient hand mill in the exposition of ancient household items and smashed everything inside the museum.
Myru Street, 4A Mykhailo-Kotsiubynske
Temple , Architecture
The Church of the Nativity of the Holy Virgin Mary was built in Kolychivka near Chernihiv in 1778, completed in 1885.
A five-story wooden building with a vestibule and a two-story belfry. A three-tiered iconostasis with icons of the 18th century has been preserved. Inside the bell tower you can see ancient inscriptions.
The Church of the Nativity of the Most Holy Virgin is a little-known example of the wooden monumental architecture of the Sivershchyna at the end of the 18th century.
Dyoshyna Street, 22 Kolychivka
Architecture , Museum / gallery
The local history museum of the city of Oster is located in the former mansion of Lieutenant General Volodymyr Solonyna, a representative of the Cossack-Starshin family.
The first director was the well-known public figure Anatoliy Rozanov.
Currently, the museum has more than 16,000 exhibits. In 9 halls there are expositions dedicated to the nature, history and culture of Prydesennya.
Museum employees also conduct tours of the territory of the ancient Rus settlement with a visit to the Yuryeva Bozhnytsia.
Tatarivska Street, 30 Oster
The Kamyanytsya of Chernihiv colonel Pavlo Polubotko in Liubech is one of the few examples of stone civil architecture of the 18th century in Chernihiv region.
Previously, these lands belonged to Hetman Mazepa, but after his alliance with the Swedes, Peter handed over Ljubech to Colonel Polubotko for excellent service. Later, Polubotko became the commanding hetman of Ukraine, but as a result he was arrested and died in the Peter and Paul Fortress.
The Polubotko Kamyanytsya was located on the territory of the old fortress at the post of Liubech (near the current cultural center). In 2012, the tenement house was completely restored, and a temporary exhibition of exhibits from the collection of the Chernihiv Historical Museum opened in the premises. It is planned to create a museum of the Cossack era and hetman Pavlo Polubotko.
Nearby, on the steep banks of the Dnipro River, the second of the two Liubech cave temples attributed to Antoniy Pechersky, the so-called Near Cave, was recently discovered. According to archaeologists, the temple was created in memory of Antoniy Pechersky in the 19th century on the territory of the park of Count Miloradovych's estate.
Pecherska Street Liubech
Monument
The People's Friendship Monument, popularly known as the "Three Sisters", was erected in 1975 on a high mound at the triple border junction of the borders of Ukraine, Russia and Belarus.
Three roads lead from the monument to the automobile checkpoints "Senkivka" (Ukraine), "Novi Yurkovichi" (Russia) and "Veselovka" (Belarus).
The monument was designed by Homel architect Leonid Stukachov with the participation of Chernihiv architect Mezhenny. It consists of three pylons, girded with a wide bronze ring. The bas-reliefs depict episodes from the history of the three peoples.
Every year on the last Saturday of June, the International Festival "Slavic Unity" was held near the monument. After the beginning of the Russian occupation of Crimea and part of Donbas in 2014, the holiday was no longer held.
In 2022, during the full-scale Russian invasion of Ukraine, Russian troops destroyed the Senkivka checkpoint and turned the Three Sisters monument into a firing position. On May 30 of the same year, the Russians blew up a section of the road near the Three Sisters monument on the Ukrainian side. In June 2022, the Chernihiv Regional Military Administration decided to remove the Three Sisters monument from the list of historical monuments of local importance.
Senkivka
Chernihiv Museum of Modern Art "Plast-Art" opened in 2010 on the basis of one of the first non-state art galleries of Ukraine "Plast-Art", founded in 1994.
It is located in the historical center of Chernihiv in the premises of the regional art museum named after Hryhoriy Galagan in seven modernly equipped exhibition halls with a total area of 700 square meters.
The museum organizes many exhibition projects of various scales - from debut shows of novice artists to international festivals and conceptual expositions of famous masters in the techniques of painting, graphics, photography, sculpture, etc. Festivals of contemporary art are also held, which are aimed at presenting the work of the best contemporary artists, popularizing contemporary Ukrainian and foreign art, supporting young talented artists, sculptors, photographers.
Both personal and collective exhibitions were presented: by Mykhaylo Shemyakin, Feodosiy Humenyuk, Viktor Kovtun, Vasyl Lopata, Anatoliy Haydamaka, Petro Lebedyntsya, Leonid Bernat, Olha Solovyova, Nataliya Papirna, Oleksiy Kulakov, Mykola Nebylytsia, Anatoliy Furlet and many other famous artists.
Muzeyna Street, 6 Chernihiv
Architecture
The two-story building of the Regimental Office is located in Kozelets in the park behind the Cathedral of the Nativity of the Virgin.
It was built almost simultaneously with the cathedral by the same architects - Ivan Hryhorovych-Barsky and Andriy Kvasov. At that time, the Kozelets Hundred of the Kyiv Regiment was located in Kozelets, and the regimental office - the headquarters of the regiment - was also located there.
In the future, the building performed the functions of the Kozelets magistrate. Now it is the central library of Kozelets.
Fausta Sydoruka Street, 3 Kozelets
The Resurrection Church in Sedniv is the family tomb of the Lyzohub Cossack-senior family.
The church was built in 1690 by Yakiv Lyzohub in the Baroque style. The structure resembles Ukrainian wooden log churches. Rebuilt in 1796-1814. At the same time, a two-story belfry over the gate was added.
For centuries, representatives of the Lyzohub family were buried here. In Soviet times, the dungeon-crypts were destroyed, the mummified remains were used for anti-religious propaganda, but later one mummy, miraculously preserved in the Kyiv-Pechersk Lavra, was returned to Sedniv and placed in a crypt.
Restoration was carried out in the 1980s. Today, the Resurrection Church is active.
Nearby is the grave of the local "non-canonized saint" Hryts Zolotyusenky, who is associated with many legends about prophecies and healings.
Leonida Hlibova Street, 1 Sedniv
Ripky Historical and Local Lore Museum was opened in 1985 in a one-story building with a carved wooden porch in the center of the village of Ripky.
The museum has more than 7,000 museum items. Numerous documents, photographs, household items, fragments of military weapons reflecting the most important events, the development of the economy and culture of the Ripky region are exhibited in 5 halls. The collection of Cossack pipes of the XVII-XVIII centuries attracts attention in the historical exposition.
The ethnographic and household department recreates the interior of a Ukrainian house of the end of the 19th century. A collection of ceramics by local ceramists is presented.
Contemporary events are also covered: the Chornobyl nuclear power plant accident, the Revolution of Dignity, the Russian-Ukrainian war.
Lyubetska Street, 3 Ripky
Architecture , Temple
The wooden church of the holy great martyr Dimitriy of Thessaloniki was built in Dobrianka in 1790.
This is the only Old Believer church in Chernihiv region. For a long time, according to the decree of Emperor Nicholas I, the bell was forbidden in the temple. The Bolsheviks closed the church before the Second World War, but it became active again under the Germans.
The parishioners consider the icon of the Mother of God "Calmation of Disease" to be the main shrine.
Recently, a belfry was added to the Saint Demetrius of Thessaloniki Church.
Poliska Street, 100 Dobrianka
Saint George's Monastery was founded in 1654.
Development began in 1708, when monks from the Pochaiv monastery moved here. The Rozumovsky family was directly related to the development of the monastery. In 1741, the construction of the stone Saint George's Cathedral in the Ukrainian Baroque style began at the expense of Vira, the sister of Oleksiy and Kyrylo Rozumovsky, who married Colonel Yukhym Darahan. This is one of the best examples of a three-domed temple.
During the Second World War, the bell tower was destroyed. Until recently, there was a home for the elderly on the territory of the monastery. In 1995, the monastery was reopened, and in 1997 it was presented with an Orthodox shrine - the famous icon "I am with you and no one is against you".
You can enter the territory with pilgrims or during the service (07:00, 16:00). Maximum strictness in clothing should be observed.
Brativ Hzhytskykh Street, 1 Danivka
The wooden church of Saint Michael in the village of Maksym in the Chernihiv region was built in the 18th century.
It is a rather large wooden structure with one dome and an attached bell tower.
It has remained unchanged to this day.
Tsentralna Street Maksym
The wooden church of Saint Nicholas in Morivsk was built in the 19th century.
During the Soviet rule, the temple was closed. To this day, the Saint Nicholas Church has been preserved and is functioning again, but the recent reconstruction has completely changed its appearance, and the church has lost its historical appearance.
Soborna Street, 4 Morivsk
Saint Nicholas Church in Kozelets was built in 1781-1784 on the site of an old wooden church.
The stone single-domed Saint Nicholas Church is located in the historical center of Kozelets on the banks of the Oster River, not far from the Cathedral of the Nativity of the Virgin. The location of the temple marks the southern border of the Kozelets fortress of the XVII-XVIII centuries.
The church has well preserved its original architectural forms in the late Baroque style, with the exception of the bathhouse, the completion of which was replaced by a spherical dome in 1811.
In 1981-1989, restoration works were carried out and the lost finish of the bath was restored. Recently, a new iconostasis was created, the basis of which was the painting of the Volodymyrsky Cathedral.
Today, the Saint Nicholas Church is a working temple.
Svyato-Mykolayivska Street, 2A Kozelets