Українська
русский [страна агрессор]
Attractions of Ukraine
Attractions of Khmelnytskyi region
Found 204 attractions
Khmelnytskyi region
Open map
Available for
Availability settings
Temple , Architecture
The Church of the Immaculate Conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary was built in 1699. Armenians who moved to Zhvanets after the expulsion of the Turks from Podillya.
Almost a century later, when the Armenians left the city, the building was rebuilt into an impressive baroque Catholic church.
During Soviet times, a factory was located in the premises of the Church of the Immaculate Conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary.
Today, the temple is gradually being restored, and worship has been resumed.
Tsentralna Street, 59A Zhvanets
Rating
Add to favorites
Add to route
Architecture
The neglected building of the inn yard (korchma) is located in the central historical district of Starokostiantyniv, between the castle and the watchtower.
The main architectural accent of the two-story house in the style of early classicism (end of the 18th - beginning of the 19th century) is a wide, massive arch. The strictness and restraint of the design of the facades of the building is somewhat disturbed by the active plastic decoration of the window openings. The use of small decorative elements (diamond-shaped overlays and niches, multi-shaped protrusions) is characteristic of provincial architecture.
Ivana Fedorova Street, 52 Starokostiantyniv
The Intercession church-castle stands surrounded by ponds on the southern outskirts of the village of Sharivka.
Its bell tower was built in the 14th century as a defensive tower on the "Kuchmansky Way". At first, it was five-tiered, square in plan. The thickness of the stone walls is 1.7 meters. In the 1430s, the nobleman Yan Domarat added a church building to the eastern facade. The volume of the church is a uniform cross.
In 1567, the church was damaged during the invasion of the Tatars, but was soon repaired by the manor headman Yakub Pretvych. For some time the temple was a Catholic church.
As a result of many alterations, the building lost its original Gothic forms. Paintings by the artist Prahtl have been preserved in the interior.
The Intercession Church-castle is a unique monument of defense architecture of Ukraine, representing a type of border triconch church.
Nahirna Street, 10 Sharivka
Temple
The Holy Intercession Cathedral in Khmelnytskyi was built in 1992 on the site of a small cemetery church of the Intercession of the Blessed Virgin Mary, which existed here since the first half of the 19th century. He was consecrated by the UOC of the Moscow Patriarchate.
On April 2, 2023, an incident took place in the Holy Intercession Cathedral with a priest of the Moscow Patriarchate beating a Ukrainian military officer, which caused a wave of indignation in the community, and on the same day a meeting of parishioners took place, which unanimously voted for the transfer of the religious community of the Intercession Cathedral to the Ukrainian Orthodox Church.
Volodymyrska Street, 113 Khmelnytskyi
Museum / gallery
The Iziaslav historical and local history museum is located in the premises of the cultural center.
The museum was founded in the 1920s and 1930s, but was closed during the Second World War, and was restored only in 2003.
The museum presents an exposition that tells about the history and ethnography of the region. In particular, you can see unique exhibits from the interior of the Church of Saint Michael, which was located on the territory of the Bernardine Monastery.
A separate exhibition tells about the culture and traditions of the Jewish community of Iziaslav: ritual objects, cult books of the 19th century.
An exhibition of works by local artist Mykola Tkachuk is on display: painting, sculpture, wood carving.
Tarasa Shevchenko Street, 40A Iziaslav
The Church of Saint John the Theologian in Trebukhivtsi near Medzhibizh was built in 1812-1818 on the site of an older wooden church.
The church is cruciform in plan with a separate belfry, made in the style of classicism.
It was closed during Soviet rule. It currently belongs to the UOC of the Moscow Patriarchate.
Tsentralna Street, 17/1 Trebukhivtsi
Palace / manor , Architecture
The estate with a palace and a park in Velykyi Zhvanchyk was established in 1868 by the landowner Ihnatiy Khelminsky. In 1881, a tower was added to the palace.
After the death of the owner of the estate, one of his two sons, Syhizmund Khelminsky, lost his half of the palace at cards to the landowner Matviy Krupensky. In 1902, Krupensky bought the second part of the building, becoming the full owner of the estate.
After the October coup of 1917, Krupensky left for Poland. The villagers looted the palace and tried to burn it down, but thanks to the efforts of the local priest, the building was saved.
In 1953, an anti-tuberculosis sanatorium was located in the premises of the estate, which in 1972 was repurposed into a children's pulmonology sanatorium. The village school was located in the rebuilt stable.
In 2023, with the support and assistance of the Romanian government, the palace premises began to be redeveloped into a sanatorium for children with limited physical characteristics.
Tsentralna Street, 74A Velykyi Zhvanchyk
The Museum of the History of the City of Khmelnytskyi is located in a modern building in the pedestrian zone.
This is a small chamber museum, the exposition of which tells about the main events in the history of the city.
The museum displays over 2,000 objects.
Proskurivska Street, 30 Khmelnytskyi
The Khmelnytskyi Regional Art Museum is located in the former bank building (1903).
The museum's collection includes 8,000 works of art by forty contemporary artists. All works have a bright national color - from the plot motifs and traditional element in the artistic form to the color structure. In particular, there is a permanent exhibition of the works of the artist Heorhiy Vereyskyi.
The Khmelnytskyi Regional Art Museum has a collection of works by the outstanding Ukrainian folk artist Mariya Prymachenko.
The art salon and fashion gallery "Art Podium" works at the museum.
Proskurivska Street, 47 Khmelnytskyi
The Khmelnytskyi Regional Literary Museum opened in 1992 as the Museum of the Writer Oleksandr Kuprin and the Writers of the Khmelnytskyi Region.
It is located in a small one-storey house in the center of Khmelnytskyi, opposite Shevchenko Park.
The exposition of the first hall tells about oral folk art, folklore, ancient writing, the beginning of new Ukrainian literature.
In the second hall you can get acquainted with the classics of Ukrainian literature, whose names are associated with modern Khmelnytskyi: Taras Shevchenko, Lesya Ukrayinka, Mykhaylo Kotsyubynsky, Leonid Hlibov, Mykhaylo Starytsky and others. The literature of national minorities of the region is also presented here.
The third exhibition hall tells about the writers of the XX century and modern Ukrainian literature.
Meetings with writers, presentations of new publications, thematic literary and musical evenings take place in the literary and musical room "Shine of Viburnum" with an exposition about the poet-biker Mykyta Hodovanets.
Mykhayla Hrushevskoho Street, 68 Khmelnytskyi
Khmelnytskyi Regional Museum of Local Lore is located in a modern building in the city center.
The museum's collections include over 60,000 items, including treasures of medieval coins and jewelry from the times of Kyivan Rus, including 4 treasures of jewelry from the Bolokhiv land.
The Khmelnytskyi Museum of Local Lore presents a large collection of porcelain from the 19th and 20th centuries, antique furniture, and tableware.
Podilska Street, 12 Khmelnytskyi
The manor house in Rakhnivka was built in 1910 by the descendants of Baron Oleksandr Korf, who bought the manor house in 1888. The last hostess was Yelyzaveta-Sofiya Korf.
The building is one-story, with minimal decor. In Soviet times, a village school was located in the premises of the Korf Palace, now it is the Rakhnivka Gymnasium.
Shkilna Street, 4 Rakhnivka
Historic area
In 1362, the Lithuanian prince Olherd liberated Podillya as a result of the victory over the Tatars near Zhovti Vody. He transferred the administration of the region to the sons of his brother Koriat.
The Lithuanian chronicle shows that the Koriatovych brothers rebuilt a castle over the Smotrych River and built a fortress on a rock, which is still called "Koriatovych Fortress". Probably, the new owners of Podillya rebuilt the city after the Tatars destroyed it in 1240. Tatars burned the city several times and later.
During the War of Liberation, it was captured by the Cossacks, and the Smotrych castle was finally destroyed. Since then, a network of complex and confusing underground passages, as well as an ancient church, remained on the site of the stronghold.
Heroyiv Nebesnoyi Sotni Street Smotrych
The palace of the Koselskyi landowners in Vinkivtsi was built by Karol Koselskyi in the first half of the 19th century in the so-called "Volochian style".
An architectural monument of local importance.
Now it is one of the buildings of the district hospital.
Tsentralna Street, 6 Vinkivtsi
Palace / manor
The Koselsky Palace in Manykivtsi dates back to the beginning of the 19th century, when the estate was bought by the nobleman Vinsent Koselsky.
The two-storey house in the Romanesque style has a rectangular shape with three corner towers - two hexagonal on the north side and rectangular on the south. Initially, the towers had pointed roofs with spiers, but they were replaced by ordinary tent roofs in Soviet times, when the palace housed an agricultural college, then a local club.
Parquet and tiles have been preserved in some rooms. Basements, which once housed a kitchen and pantry, have also been preserved.
Now the palace houses the Manykivtsi comprehensive school of I-III degrees.
Mekhanizatoriv Street, 11 Manykivtsi