Українська
русский [страна агрессор]
Attractions of Ukraine
Attractions of Cherkasy region
Attractions of Cherkasy district
Found 132 attractions
Cherkasy district
Open map
Available for
Availability settings
Temple , Architecture
The wooden Transfiguration Church in Bilozirya was built in 1710. In 1867, the bell tower was rebuilt.
At the moment, the church yard is surrounded by a high concrete fence.
Oleksiya Stryzhachenko Street, 2 Bilozirya
Rating
Add to favorites
Add to route
The ancient Orthodox Trinity Motronynsky Monastery in Kholodny Yar is located on the site of an ancient Rus settlement and even more ancient Scythian settlements (Scythian ramparts have been preserved).
According to legend, during the time of Yaroslav the Wise, the fortress of Prince Voivode Myroslav stood here. Returning from a campaign against the Pechenegs in 1036, Myroslav decided to check the defense of the fortress, which he entrusted to his wife Motrona. Attacking the fortress under the guise of enemies, Myroslav was accidentally killed by Motrona herself. After learning about what happened, Motrona accepted monasticism and founded a monastery, which was named after her.
The year 1198 is considered to be the official foundation date of the Motronynsky Monastery, when the Simeoniv Chronicle mentions the Pereyaslav Bishop Pavlo, who founded the Church of John the Baptist in the Motronynsky Monastery. In 1568, the revival of the monastery began after the Mongol-Tatar destruction, it came under the patronage of the Cossacks.
In the 18th century, the Motronynsky monastery became one of the centers of the struggle against the Union, as well as a stronghold of the Haydamak movement. In 1768, 3,000 Haydamaks received a blessing here to fight against the Polish nobility, which was the beginning of Koliivshchyna. These events are described in the poem "Haydamaki" by Taras Shevchenko, who visited the monastery in 1845. During the Ukrainian Revolution in 1919-1922, the Motronynsky Monastery served as a stronghold of the rebel units of the Kholodnoyarska Republic
The Trinity Church, built in 1727 and reconstructed in 1805, has been preserved. The cell building was built in recent years. A memorial cross was installed on the grave of centurion Ivan Kompaniyets.
From the entrance to the Motronynsky monastery, the descent to the miraculous spring of Saint Onuphrius begins. Nearby is the Haydamatsky (Monastyrsky) pond, where the Haydamaks used to consecrate their weapons.
Kholodny Yar tract Melnyky
Natural object , Rest on the water
The Tyasmyn Canyon in Kamyanka is a landscape reserve of local importance.
Steep, almost straight rocks on the left bank of the Tyasmyn River rise upwards in places by 12-15 meters. The rocks are densely overgrown with young forest (Tatar and American maple, hawthorn, rare ferns and mosses).
The wonderful combination of river, stones, forest and steppe create the most beautiful landscapes.
Naberezhna Street Kamyanka
Park / garden
"Valley of Roses" in Cherkasy is a small park on the banks of the Dnipro 500 meters from the city center. One of the most favorite recreation places of the townspeople.
In recent years, it has been used for city-wide celebrations.
In 2012, a 15-meter sundial was installed on the territory of the park.
Knyazya Olherda Street, 11 Cherkasy
Monument
The first Varenyk (dumpling) monument in Ukraine was erected in 2006 near the "Rosava" hotel in Cherkasy.
The sculpture represents Cossack Mamai, who eats Varenyks. A huge dumpling in the form of a crescent moon is placed behind his back.
The author of the monument to one of the classic dishes of Ukrainian cuisine is sculptor, Honored Artist of Ukraine Ivan Fizer. The height of the monument made of ceramics is 2.5 meters. Before its opening, a real Varenyk weighing about 70 kilograms was prepared.
Verkhnya Horova Street, 29 Cherkasy
A memorial sign at the place of the last battle of Vasyl Chuchupaka, chief ataman of the Haydamaky regiment of the Kholodny Yar Republic, on the outskirts of Melnyky, was erected in 1995 at the initiative of the Kholodny Yar Historical Club and the public.
Kreseltsi khutir Melnyky
Architecture , Museum / gallery
The commercial bank building in the Art Nouveau style was built in 1914 on the fashionable Cherkasy - Khreshchatyk street.
The rounded forms with plant motifs in the architecture of the two-story building are characteristic of the European "Art Nouveau".
Since Soviet times, the editorial office of the newspaper "Cherkaskyi Kray" (formerly "Cherkaska Pravda") has been located here, where the famous sixties poet Vasyl Symonenko, who was killed by the Soviet special services in 1963 for his active human rights activities, worked here.
In 1998, a museum room was opened for the poet's birthday. The exhibition "Vasyl Symonenko's Office" recreates the atmosphere of those times: a table, a chair, a radio, a table lamp, an inkwell, a pen, a typewriter, which were used by the young journalist. His personal belongings (cloak, hat), first editions of his works, photographs, documents, letters of the poet are presented.
A monument to Vasyl Symonenko has been erected near the RAGS.
Free entrance.
Khreshchatyk Street, 251 Cherkasy
A monument to the Ukrainian sixties poet Vasyl Symonenko in Cherkasy was erected in 2010 next to the historic Shcherbyna house (now the Palace of Marriages).
In this city, the poet worked as a correspondent for the newspapers "Cherkaska Pravda", "Molod Cherkashchyny", "Robocha gazeta" in the early 1960s. Simonenko's anti-Soviet poems became famous thanks to self-publishing. The poet died after a severe beating related to his public activities aimed at exposing the crimes of the NKVD.
The author of the monument is Vladyslav Dymyon. The monument with a height of more than 2 meters conveys the image of the poet in gradual dynamics. The wing that envelops the figure symbolizes talent, the spark of God.
The editorial office of the newspaper "Cherkasky Kray" (formerly "Cherkaska Pravda") is located nearby, where Vasyl Symonenko's room-museum has been opened.
Heroyiv Nebesnoyi Sotni Street, 3 Cherkasy
Museum / gallery
The workshop-gallery "Creative Treasury" presents the works of Kaniv artist Halyna Morozova, co-founder of the creative union of the same name, as well as other artists from Kaniv.
Self-taught artist Halyna Morozova works in different styles: realism, impressionism, abstractionism, decorative art. She considers the painting "Bird of Happiness" to be her mascot work.
206-yi Dyviziyi Street, 12 Kaniv
Architecture
The house of gravedigger-contractor Yakiv Mayboroda was built in Cherkasy at the end of the 19th century by local architect Heorhiy Filofero.
The mansion is built of brick in the neoclassical style with the use of architectural forms and decorative elements of the Renaissance and Empire. The central and side portals are crowned with complex pediments. The house had three large and seven smaller rooms, a servant's house and a stable were located on the territory of the manor.
Later, the Mayboroda leased the mansion to the Second Four-Class School for Burghers. After the Bolshevik coup of 1917, it housed a branch of the Cherkasy Vseobuch, then a kindergarten, and then it was transferred to the city sanatorium.
From the interior to our time, the old filleted doors, authentic window joinery and parquet floor have been preserved.
Tarasa Shevchenko Boulevard, 287 Cherkasy
Zhabotynsky Saint Onuphrius Monastery is located in the Vitryana Gora tract to the east of the center of Chubivka village.
It was founded no later than 1706, as it is mentioned in documents as already existing in this year. The first temples were wooden (not preserved). In 1812, a stone church was built in the name of Saint Onuphrius the Great.
In 1767-1768, Maksym Zaliznyak, the future leader of Koliyivshchyna, was a novice in the monastery.
Two miraculous icons have been preserved: the Dormition of the Mother of God and the venerable Onuphrius the Great.
In the 1920s, the Zhabotynsky Monasterywas closed, but was revived in the early 1990s.
In addition to the stone Onuphrius church, there is a cave temple, cells and a network of underground passages, which are partially explored, but closed due to a state of emergency. According to legend, an underground passage connects the Zhabotynsky Monastery with the Motronynsky Monastery in Kholodny Yar, which is 8 kilometers from here.
Zhabotynsky Saint Onuphrius Monastery belongs to the Moscow Patriarchate.
Monastyrska Street Chubivka
Natural object
On the territory of the Otamansky Park between the villages of Holovkivka and the villages of Medvedivka, there is the "Zhyvun" Source, the water from which is attributed healing properties. According to legend, the Haidamaks treated their battle wounds with water from the "Zhyvun".
The water is drinkable, ecologically clean. According to the content of dissolved silver and other chemical elements useful for human health, it ranks first among the forest springs of the Kholodny Yar tract and the surrounding nature reserves.
A prayer service is held in the chapel near the spring every Friday morning.
Nearby is a small forest lake and several oaks 600-800 years old. Equipped place for rest.
Otamansky Park tract Holovkivka