Attractions of Cherkasy district

Online travel guide to attractions and sights of Cherkasy district

Found 132 attractions

Cherkasy district

change

Sights categories

Available for

Availability settings

Clear filters

All attractions and sights of Cherkasy district

Палац Ростішевського, Косарі
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Rostishevsky Palace

Palace / manor , Architecture

The stately estate of landowner Volodymyr Rostishevskyi in Kosari is one of the few noble estates that survived in Cherkasy region after the Bolshevik coup of 1917.

A young landowner built it for his bride from Germany. The palace project was developed by a German architect, the executive was also a German. Together, they created an exquisite two-story palace with tall mirrored windows, walls decorated with toothed ornament, granite stairs, and gentle terraces. The construction of the castle cost the Polish nobleman 90,000 rubles.

The house was surrounded by a luxurious garden. Flowers and exotic plants were brought here from the Kyiv Botanical Garden.

However, the young wife of Rostishevsky, who was used to the hectic city life, was bored in the quiet village, and within a year she returned to her homeland. Rostishevsky sold his estate to the Chyhyryn Zemstvo, which in 1912 placed a hospital in the palace. Since 2001, this is a home for the elderly.

Map pin icon Modestova Street Kosari

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Рожена криниця, Бучак
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Rozhena Krynytsya

Historic area , Natural object

The spring "Rozhena Krynytsya" is located on the northwestern outskirts of the village of Buchak (convenient drive-in from the village of Ivankiv).

The name of the spring is connected with the name of the legendary beauty Rozhena. According to local legend, Rozhena treated the Kyiv princes Svyatoslav, Ihor and Volodymyr, who were on their way to the battle with the Polovtsy, with their wives.

A large ancient Rus settlement and burial ground were discovered on the hill closer to the river.

Map pin icon Hrebinets tract Buchak

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей історії села Сагунівка
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Sahunivka Village History Museum

Museum / gallery

The Sahunivka Village History Museum was created in 1962 on the initiative of local history teacher Vasyl Tsarenko in the premises of the Sahunivka Secondary School. In 1976, the school's historical museum was reorganized into a village-wide museum of village history, and the exhibition was moved to the House of Culture.

The museum's collections include over 3,500 exhibits, which are located in 4 exhibition halls. The first hall contains information about the distant past of the region - here are presented a map of 1872, a tax book for 1916, ancient objects (a Cossack mace, an axe, a hammer, etc.), a complete village implement, a collection of coins and money, a unique model of the ancient Cossack Church of the Holy Mother of God, made back in 1924.

The second hall contains visual information about the village in the 20th century: models of the villages of Lomovate and Sahunivka, a model of a steamship from the 1920s, a zemstvo school from 1914. The stands and showcases depict the Holodomor, World War II, and post-war reconstruction.

The third hall is dedicated to honoring the memory of fellow villagers who died in World War II.

The exhibition hall houses a gallery of paintings by amateur artists of the Cherkasy region, as well as paintings by the professional artist Shyrokov. The gallery also contains three paintings by the People's Artist of Ukraine Danylo Narbut.

Map pin icon Lesi Ukrayinky Street, 77/3 Sahunivka

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Церква святого Дмитра, Тернівка
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Saint Demetrius Church

Temple , Architecture

The wooden church of Saint Demetrius of Thessaloniki was built in 1822 at the expense of Major General Krystian Hrave, a hero of the Franco-Russian War of 1812.

During the war, Hrave managed the Kyiv Arsenal, where the cannons used in the Battle of Borodino were cast. The Saint Demetrius Church was built as Hrave's ancestral tomb. A family crypt with a monument has been preserved next to it.

During Soviet times, the temple was intended to house a museum of the War of 1812, but in the early 1990s it was moved to the school building, and the temple was returned to the faithful.

The baptismal church itself in plan, with the bell tower adjacent to it. Small crosses are located around the entire perimeter of the temple. Above the entrance is an image of Saint Demetrius of Thessalonica with the inscription: "Martyr Saint Demetrius".

Map pin icon Tsentralna Street, 40 Ternivka

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Іллінська церква, Суботів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Saint Elijah Church

Temple , Architecture

The defensive Saint Elijah Church-tomb of Hetman Bohdan Khmelnytskyi is the only surviving building of the Khmelnytsky family estate in Subotiv.

The church was built in 1653 at the expense of Bohdan Khmelnytsky in the Cossack Baroque style (depicted on the modern 5 hryvnia banknote). It is located on the castle grounds, where the fortified country residence of the hetman was located. It served as one of the fortification nodes of the Subotiv fortress, as evidenced by the keyholes in the embrasures on the gable.

After the death of Bohdan Khmelnytskyi in 1657, the hetman was buried in his ancestral church-tomb.

The foundation of the defense tower, over which a protective pavilion was built, has also been preserved from the manor. Nearby - stone crosses of the 18th century, a Cossack cannon, a restored Ukrainian hut of the 18th century.

During Soviet times, the memorial museum of Bohdan Khmelnytskyi was opened in the premises of the Saint Elijah Church.

Today, the church is active, although part of the exposition of the Subotiv historical museum, located on the territory of the former Khmelnytsky manor, remains in it.

Map pin icon Svyatoillinska Street, 10 Subotiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Михайлівська церква, Михайлівка
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Saint Michael the Archangel Church

Temple , Architecture

The wooden church of Saint Michael the Archangel in Mykhailivka was founded in 1820, but during the fire of 1841 the church was completely destroyed.

Saint Michael's Church was restored at the expense of the local landowner Heorhiy fon Shtal (Staal) in 1845.

The temple was closed by the Soviet authorities in the period from 1920 to 1990. Restoration began in the mid-1990s. In 1997, Saint Michael Church in Mykhailivka was opened for parishioners. Belongs to the Orthodox Church of Ukraine.

The graves of members of the Shtal (Staal) family have been preserved on the territory of the temple.

Map pin icon Soborna Street, 1 Mykhailivka

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Свято-Михайлівський кафедральний гарнізонний собор, Черкаси
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Saint Michael's Cathedral Garrison Cathedral

Temple

Saint Michael's Cathedral in Cherkasy is the largest Orthodox church in Ukraine (it reaches 72 m in height).

Built in 8 years in the Byzantine style. Can accommodate up to 12 thousand people at a time. It is planned to build a bell tower over 100 meters high.

On October 17, 2024, Saint Michael's Cathedral in Cherkasy, which had long been under the control of the Moscow Patriarchate, was transferred to the Orthodox Church of Ukraine and became a garrison church. The cathedral will house a center for national-patriotic education, a Sunday school, and chaplain training.

Map pin icon Nadpilna Street, 212 Cherkasy

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Михайлівська церква, Городище
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Saint Michael's Church

Temple , Architecture

Saint Michael's Church in Horodyshche was built in the Neo-Gothic style in 1844 at the expense of Count Mykhaylo Vorontsov, according to the project of the Italian architect Dzhordzho Torrichelli.

In Soviet times, it was closed, the bell tower was dismantled, and a sports hall was built in the church itself. Paintings of the 19th century were whitewashed.

In the 1990s, the church was restored, the bell tower was rebuilt, and the painting "The Last Judgment" (area 102 square meters) was washed and restored.

The architecture of Staint Michael's Church is very unusual for an Orthodox church. Neo-Gothic architecture is reminiscent of Catholic churches, and the tines on the belfry, orange walls and green roof make the temple look like a fairy-tale castle.

Map pin icon Tarasa Shevchenko Street, 1/15 Horodyshche

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Церква Святого Михаїла, Юрчиха
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Saint Michael's Church

Temple , Architecture

The Church of Saint Michael is located in the village of Yurchykha near Kamyanka.

The brick church was built in 1897. The in the form of a cross in the plan. The height of the dome with the cross is 30 meters.

There is a grave of an unknown person on the territory of Sint Michael's Church (the inscription is illegible). Divine services are held on Sunday. The rest of the time the church is closed.

Map pin icon Kazaryana Street Yurchykha

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Миколаївська церква, Орловець
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Saint Nicholas Church

Temple , Architecture

The wooden church of Saint Nicholas in the village of Orlovets was built in 1876-1886 on the site of an even older church, founded in 1779 by the Zaporizhzhian Cossack Kyrylo Polov. Consecrated in 1888.

An icon of Saint Nicholas hangs above the entrance to the church. One of the doors to the temple as a whole is also an icon.

Saint Nicholas Church belongs to the Orthodox Church of Ukraine.

Map pin icon 2nd Smilyanskyi lane, 4 Orlovets

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Миколаївська церква, Тубільці
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Saint Nicholas the Wonderworker Church

Temple , Architecture

The wooden church of Saint Nicholas the Wonderworker in Tubiltsy was founded in 1843 by Prince Mykhaylo Vorontsov.

Initially, the church was planned to be consecrated as Intercession, because that was the name of the previous church in Tubiltsy, but due to the fact that the new one was built from the materials of the dismantled church of Saint Nicholas in Moshny, the built church was also dedicated to this saint.

At the beginning of the 20th century, on the initiative of Countess Kateryna Balashova, the Saint Nicolas Church was reconstructed.

During the Soviet period, the baths were removed from it and turned into a warehouse.

Now it is a working temple again. The dome and bell tower have not yet been restored, but even without them the church looks very colorful. The high stone foundation and huge windows are especially impressive.

Map pin icon Tarasa Shevchenko Street Tubiltsi

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Церква-ротонда Св. Олександри, Лебедівка
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Saint Oleksandra Rotunda Church

Temple , Architecture

The rotunda church of Saint Oleksandra in Lebedivka was built in 1843 by retired captain Porfyriy Krasovsky, who owned the village in the middle of the 19th century. Before that, there was an old wooden temple here.

The current stone church in the style of classicism has an unconventional for Orthodoxy round shape of a rotunda, which is accented on three sides by porticoes of the Tuscan order with paired columns.

The interior is decorated with stucco and monumental painting. Choirs are arranged in the western part of the rotunda, to which the balcony on the facade corresponds.

There is an assumption that the temple was Masonic, which explains its unconventional architecture.

Map pin icon Soborna Street Lebedivka

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

No image
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Saint Peter and Paul Church

Temple , Architecture

The wooden church of Saints Peter and Paul was built in the village of Chorniavka by order of the Chamber of State Property in 1860, and completed in 1863.

The church was closed for a long time. It was revived in the 1990s, at the same time three small baths, removed during the Soviet era, were restored on the church. The improvised belfry is a piece of pipe hanging on a crane beam.

On July 26, 2015, the Peter and Paul Church in Chorniavka burned down.

Map pin icon Chorniavka

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Церква Петра Калнишевського, Буда
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Saint Petro the Long-suffering (Kalnyshevsky) Church

Temple

The Church of Saint Righteous Petro the Long-suffering (Kalnyshevsky) was built on the Buda farm in 2012 at the initiative of the public organization "Free Cossacks of Kholodny Yar" at the expense of entrepreneurs Olesya and Oleh Ostrovsky, who own the nearby ethnographic complex "Dykiy khutir".

The brick temple is made in the form of traditional Cossack churches and is decorated with wood. This is the first church in Ukraine, dedicated to the last basket chieftain of Zaporizhzhian Sich, Petro Kalnyshevsky, who was canonized in 2008.

Nearby, in 2014, the first monument to the heroes of the "Heavenly Hundred" was erected in Ukraine.

Map pin icon Partyzanska Street Buda

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Преображенська церква, Мошни
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Savior and Transfiguration Church

Temple , Architecture

The architecturally unusual Church of the Transfiguration was built in Moshny in 1830-1840 by the city architect of Odesa, Dzhordzho Torrichelli, on the order of Count Mykhaylo Vorontsov.

Those who have seen the Vorontsov Palace in Alupka will immediately understand the architectural affinity of the Crimean palace and the village Orthodox church. Experts define this style as a romantic mixture of Tudor Gothic and oriental motifs.

The Transfiguration Church is a unique temple. Despite the oriental decor, the construction followed the principles of the Orthodox "cross dome". The side branches of the cross are greatly shortened, and the central one, on the contrary, is elongated. According to the fashion of the 19th century, it connects the temple with the 39-meter bell tower into a single entity. Above the central cross is the largest dome facing east. The special charm of the building is given by numerous elegant towers, which, together with the pointed windows, make the tall quadrangular belfry Gothic.

Map pin icon Blahovisna Street, 2 Moshny

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Functional temporarily unavailable