Attractions of Ukraine
Attractions region
Attractions Sumy region
Attractions Sumy district
Attractions Sumy
Prophet Elijah Church
The brick Prophet Elijah Church was founded in Zasumka (a district of the city, which was separated from the old part of Sumy by the Sumka River) in 1836 on the site of a burned-down wooden church. After another fire, construction was suspended for a long time and was completed in 1845. In 1851, the church was consecrated in honor of the holy prophet Elijah.
In terms of its architectural composition, it is a common type of single-tiered cross-domed churches of rectangular plan in Ukrainian architecture, built in a classical style with elements of eclecticism. A four-tiered bell tower with the main entrance to the church is attached to the Prophet Elijah Church, which ends with a dome with a high spire.
Мурована Пророко-Іллінська церква була закладена на Засумці (районі міста, який відмежовувався від старої частини Сум річкою Сумкою) в 1836 на місці згорілого дерев'яного храму. Після чергової пожежі будівництво тривалий час було заморожено і було завершене вже в 1845 році. В 1851 році церкву освятили на честь святого пророка Іллі.
За своєю архітектурною композицією це поширений в українській архітектурі тип одноярусних хрестовокупольних храмів прямокутного плану, збудованих в класичному стилі з елементами еклектики. До Пророко-Іллінської церкви приєднана чотириярусна дзвіниця з головним входом до храму, яка завершується куполом з високим шпилем.
Last update
2/15/2025
Categories | Temple, Architecture |
---|---|
Date of foundation | 1851 |
Address |
Illinska Street, 10
Sumy |
Coordinates |
50.911° N, 34.7919° E
|
Phone | +380 50 400 1170, |
Official site |
https://prorok-iliya-church.or... |
Additional services |
Add practical or descriptive information, photos, links