Українська
русский [страна агрессор]
Attractions of Ukraine
Attractions of Chernivtsi region
Attractions of Chernivtsi district
Attractions of Chernivtsi
Found 39 attractions
Chernivtsi
Open map
Available for
Availability settings
Architecture , Museum / gallery
The Literary and Memorial Museum of the Romanian poet, classic of world literature Mikhay Eminesku was founded in Chernivtsi in 1992 as a branch of the Chernivtsi Regional Museum of Local Lore.
Mikhay Eminesku lived in Chernivtsi with breaks for more than eight years (1858-1866). While studying at the Chernivtsi Higher Gymnasium, Eminescu lived in the house of his literature teacher Aron Pumnul - a Romanian philologist, teacher, writer, cultural figure, one of the founders of the spiritual life of the Romanians of Bukovina.
During the existence of the museum, more than 2,000 original exhibits have been collected: editions of Mikhay Eminesku's works (during his lifetime and contemporary), illustrations to the poet's works made by famous artists of Ukraine and Romania, facsimiles of manuscripts of all his works.
In 2021, the regional state administration, in cooperation with the Consulate General of Romania in Chernivtsi, initiated the reconstruction of the house of the director of the first Chernivtsi gymnasium, Aron Pumnul, which houses the Mikhay Eminesku Literary and Memorial Museum. The exterior of the house, which the residents had previously redeveloped, is intended to be restored based on historical photos.
Arona Pumnula Street, 19 Chernivtsi
Rating
Add to favorites
Add to route
Monument
A monument to the Austro-Hungarian Emperor Frants Yosyf I in Chernivtsi was erected in the square between Myrona Korduby, Bakhrushyna and Dmytra Zahuly streets in 2009 at the initiative of a native of the city, the famous politician Arseniy Yatsenyuk.
During the reign of Frants Yosyf (1848-1916), when Bukovyna was part of the Austro-Hungarian Empire, Chernivtsi flourished. The city experienced rapid economic growth and a construction boom - the most outstanding architectural monuments were created. In addition, Chernivtsi became the Ukrainian national cultural center - a university was opened, Ukrainian schools appeared, Ukrainian newspapers began to be published, Ukrainian public organizations were active.
The initiators call the installation of a monument to Emperor Frants Yosyf in Chernivtsi a restoration of historical justice.
The sculpture was created by Honored Artist of Ukraine Serhiy Ivanov and sculptor Volodymyr Tsisaryk based on a model of the monument that existed before, delivered from Vienna.
Bakhrushyna Street, 2 Chernivtsi
Historic area , Natural object , Archaeological site
Mount Tsetsyno on the western outskirts of Chernivtsi is the highest point of the Chernivtsi highlands (378 meters).
In the Middle Ages, the Moldavian fortress of Tsetsyno stood on the top of the mountain, probably founded by the Halician princes, and then fortified by Peter I Mushat, the master of the Moldavian principality. It was mentioned in the Old Rus chronicles of 1388-1394 as the Wallachian city of Chechun.
In the second half of the 15th century, the Tsetsyno fortress was destroyed. The ruins of the castle, which survived until the middle of the 20th century, were destroyed in 1961 during the construction of a television tower.
A beech reserve with an area of 430 hectares is located on the slopes of Tsetsyno. The Tsetsynsky landscape park was created here in 1974. There are oaks, sharp-leaved maples, sycamores, hornbeams and other rare plants, as well as "red book" animals: roe deer, wild boars, foxes, martens, squirrels, weasels, ermines.
Biletska Street, 6 Chernivtsi
Museum / gallery
The Bukovynian Diaspora Museum was founded in Chernivtsi in 1992 on the occasion of the anniversary of Ukraine's Independence.
This is the first museum in Ukraine dedicated to emigration from Bukovyna as a phenomenon that began at the end of the 19th century and took place in four waves throughout the 20th century. The museum is designed to preserve the memory of Bukovynians who left their native land at different times and for different reasons.
The Bukovynian Diaspora Museum existed as a separate institution until 2003 and was reorganized into a department of the Chernivtsi Regional Museum of Local Lore. The exhibition presents more than four thousand exhibits that reveal various aspects of the life of Bukovynians abroad. Having found a new homeland for themselves, Bukovynians always tried to maintain ties with their native land and perceived themselves as a single national community. The latter is clearly evidenced by exhibits that tell about the life and creative path of world-famous Bukovynians who found themselves in a foreign land – Mykola Bidnyak, Yaroslav Palladius, Vasyl Kurylik, Rosa Auslender, Paul Celan, Georg Drozdovsky, Ervin Charhaff, Oleksandr Vaysman, Temistokle Virsta, Vasyl and Kseniya Kolotylo and many others.
Yozefa Hlavky Street, 1А Chernivtsi
Architecture , Theater / show
The beautiful building of the Chernivtsi Academic Regional Ukrainian Music and Drama Theater named after Olha Kobylyanska was built in Chernivtsi according to the project of Viennese architects Ferdynand Felner and Herman Helmer.
The theater`s facade is decorated with sculptural compositions based on ancient Greek mythology, and marble busts of outstanding figures of world and Ukrainian culture are installed in the side niches. Above is a statue of Melpomene. The interiors are made in a neobaric style.
The grand opening of the theater took place on October 3, 1905 with a performance of Frants Shontan's play "Mariya Tereziya". Since then, operas, operettas, dramatic and comedic performances of Ukrainian and Western European classics have been demonstrated on the stage. Great masters of the European opera and drama scene performed here: Enriko Karuzo, Fedir Shalyapin, Solomiya Krushelnytska, Oleksandr Moissi and many others.
Teatralna Square, 1 Chernivtsi
Temple , Architecture
The Defense Church of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin in Chernivtsi is the oldest brick Orthodox church in the city. Recognized as an architectural monument.
It was built in the early 1760s on the site of an old wooden church on the territory of the Orthodox male monastery "Horecha" (1712). The Church of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin was built in the Baroque style, was used as a fortress, along the second tier there is a battle gallery.
After the closure of the "Horecha" monastery in 1784, the church became a parish church. The church was seriously damaged during the First World War. In the post-war period, the temple was renovated. The Church of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin remained active even in the Soviet period. In 1992, the temple was thoroughly renovated. In 1995, the "Horecha" monastery was restored and the Church of the Nativity of the Virgin became a monastery again.
The frescoes of the 17th century have been preserved.
Troyanivska Street, 1 Chernivtsi
The Natural History Museum of the Yuriy Fedkovych National University of Chernivtsi was established in 2012 on the basis of the collections of zoological and geological-geographical museums of the university, which began to be collected in 1876.
The unique exhibits include 19,000 specimens of animals, most of which are of historical value. In particular, a collection of tropical butterflies collected during expeditions of the late XIX - early XX centuries. Also on display is a 27-meter blue whale skeleton, a New Zealand gutter, a helmet-bearing cassowary, an African ostrich skeleton, a bison, a gray lizard, a Bukovynian blind, an Aesculapian snake, a protopterus, and more.
Collections of minerals and petrographic specimens are collected from regions around the globe, and some of extraterrestrial origin, there are many unique specimens and nuggets.
Fridrikha Shillera Street, 5 Chernivtsi
The Olha Kobylyanska Literary Memorial Museum in Chernivtsi was opened in the house where the writer lived for more than 10 years.
The museum's exhibition is located in five halls. Three of them reveal Olha Kobylyanska's life and creative path, and two of them recreate the situation that existed during her life (study and bedroom).
Sofiyi Okunevskoyi-Morachevskoyi Street, 5 Chernivtsi
Historic area
The cozy historical street of Olha Kobylyanska in the center of Chernivtsi is the main city promenade – a walking area for citizens and tourists.
The street originated in the middle of the 18th century as a road from Chernivtsi to the village of Molodiya, but its main construction dates back to the 19th century, when it was named Panska. In those days, the street was considered one of the most prestigious in the city, which fully justified its name. State institutions, commercial banks, expensive restaurants and residences of wealthy citizens were located here.
In 1940, the Soviet authorities renamed the street in honor of the prominent Bukovyna writer Olha Kobylyanska.
By the 600th anniversary of the city, which Chernivtsi celebrated in 2008, many old buildings were restored, the street took on a modern European look. The houses here have mainly two to four floors. They are built in the styles of classicism, modernism and eclecticism. Shops, cafes and restaurants are located on the first floors.
The authentic cobbled paving has been preserved on the street. Globular maples are planted along it and benches are installed. Popular photo locations are the wrought-iron carriage, the sculpture "The Janitor with Roses" and the "Monument to the Unknown Corruptor".
Every Saturday with the first dusk, the theatrical event "The Light of Panska Street" is held, during which lanternists light the first lantern.
Olhy Kobylyanskoyi Street Chernivtsi
Architecture
The former Palace of Justice in Chernivtsi now serves as the premises of the regional government - the Chernivtsi Regional Council and the regional state administration.
The pompous building was built in 1904-1906 according to the project of the architect Frants Skovron. The walls are lined with colored bricks with ceramic inserts. The main facade is decorated with sculptures of Themis, the goddess of justice, and Nemesis, the goddess of retribution.
The main entrance is guarded by two lions, for which the Palace of Justice was nicknamed the "House with Lions".
Mykhayla Hrushevskoho Street, 1 Chernivtsi
Museum / gallery , Architecture
The Pharmacy Museum in Chernivtsi is the only pharmacy in the city that has been operating continuously for over 100 years. It is located on the ground floor of a solid building on the historic Olhy Kobylyanskoyi Street.
The building was built in the early twentieth century in the style of neoclassicism by order of the Shymonovych family.
The pharmacy was opened in 2003 as a museum. Ancient interiors have been preserved, furniture has been restored, various exhibits have been collected - pharmacy equipment and utensils.
Olhy Kobylyanskoyi Street, 43 Chernivtsi
The Society for the Development of Musical Culture in Bukovyna was established in 1862, and 15 years later a building with a concert hall was built specifically for it.
The project was developed by the city architect Emil fon Rehius, the construction was supervised by the imperial-royal construction advisor Aloyiz Bulirts. The painting of the hall was done by the famous Viennese artist Karl Yobst, who at that time painted the residence of the Bukovyna metropolitans.
In 1940, the Chernivtsi Regional Philharmonic was founded in this building. The composition of the Philharmonic named after Dmytro Hnatyuk currently includes: academic chamber orchestra, academic symphony orchestra, academic chamber choir, concert group of soloists "Music Enlightenment", duet "Pysanka", folk music ensemble "Play", folk-rock band and children's vocal studio "Fairytale world".
In 2020, the Philharmonic building was equipped for people with disabilities.
The hall of organ and chamber music of the Philharmonic is located separately, in the premises of the Armenian Church of the Holy Apostles Peter and Paul.
Muzychnoho tovarystva Street, 10 Chernivtsi
"The Colonel's House" is one of the first stone residential buildings in Chernivtsi. Built in 1782, it was named after its first resident.
At the end of the 19th century, an officer's casino was located here. In the Romanian period, the building was called the "Officer's Club". During the Soviet era, the premises were used by the "House of Political Enlightenment".
Since 1983, the Chernivtsi Regional Academic Puppet Theater has been located here. During its existence, the theater performed more than 100 performances. The performances "Buka", "How the fox tricked the bear", "Baby elephant" are considered the best.
Main Street, 22 Chernivtsi
Architecture , Museum / gallery , UNESCO world heritage site
The ensemble of the former residence of the Orthodox Bukovynian and Dalmatian Metropolitans is the most popular monument of Chernivtsi, which has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 2011.
The residence was designed by the Czech architect Josef Hlavka in 1864-1882 on the initiative of the first Metropolitan of Bukocyna and Dalmatia Euhene Hackman. The buildings impress with their rich design, combining Romanesque-Gothic, Byzantine, Oriental, Moldavian, folk Bukovyinian and other stylistic motifs.
The closed complex of the residence of the metropolitans of Bukovyna, similar to a monastery, consists of three independent buildings, but united by a single idea: the Main (Metropolitan), Seminary (with the Church of the Three Saints), Monastic (House of Visitors). The buildings form a spacious courtyard, separated from the street by a fence with a monumental gate.
Among the rooms stands out the Synodal (Marble) Hall of the Main Building, painted by painters Epaminondas Buchevsky and Yevhen Maksymovych.
Currently, the main buildings of Yuri Fedkovich Chernivtsi National University are located in the complex of the residence of Bukovyna Metropolitans. Its territory and the university church can be inspected independently.
For those wishing to visit the interior, the Historical and Museum Complex of the Chernivtsi National University conducts daily guided tours, during which you can see the Marble, Blue and Red Halls. Groups are formed by appointment or directly on site.
Mykhayla Kotsyubynskoho Street, 2 Chernivtsi
The Roman Catholic Church of the Sacred Heart of Jesus in Chernivtsi is an excellent example of Bukovyna Neo-Gothic architecture.
The monastery complex with a slender church was built at the end of the 19th century thanks to the petitions of the missionaries of the Society of Jesus - the heirs of the Jesuit order. The project was developed by Professor Yozef Lyaytsner in the best traditions of Gothic churches in Europe.
In Soviet times, the church housed an archive, and the monastery housed an art school.
In 2010, the Church of the Most Sacred Heart of Jesus was returned to the Catholic community of Chernivtsi.