Attractions of Ukraine

Right arrow

Attractions of Mykolaiv region

Attractions of Mykolaiv region

Online travel guide to attractions and sights of Mykolaiv region

Found 98 attractions

Mykolaiv region

change

Sights categories

Available for

Availability settings

Clear filters

All attractions and sights of Mykolaiv region

Національний природний парк "Бузький Гард", Мигія
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

National Nature Park "Buzkyi Gard"

Natural object , Reserve

The national nature park "Buzkyi Gard" stretches from the outskirts of the village of Myhiia for 40 kilometers along the Pivdenniy Buh to the village of Oleksandrivka. Its area is 6,138 hectares within Voznesensk and Pervomaysk districts of Mykolaiv region.

The creation of a national nature park on the basis of the regional landscape park "Granite-Steppe Pobuzhzhya" began in 2004 as part of the implementation of the World Environmental Fund - International Bank for Reconstruction and Development project "Biodiversity Conservation in the Azov-Black Sea Corridor".

The local flora includes 900 plant species, 26 of which are included in the Red Book of Ukraine, 4 - in the European Red List.

The territory of the national nature park "Buzkyi Gard" coincides with the border of 1658 between the Ottoman Porte (Turkey) and the liberties of the Zaporizhzhia Nizove Army. In fact, the left bank of the Granitno-steppe Pobuzhzhya coincides with the boundary of the Buho-Hardova palanka of the Zaporizhzhia Army as of 1734. For more than three hundred years, the territory where the NPP was created was controlled by the Zaporozhzhians. Their administrative and economic center was located near the confluence of the Tashlyk River with the Pivdenniy Buh, on Gard Island, where a military camp with Cossack huts of up to 500 people was located. The facilities for catching fish were called gardas on Pivdenniy Buh. Such guards existed both in the Guard tract itself and in other areas on the Buh, where Zaporozhzhian winterers were located. Gards, as a method of fishing, existed in this area until 1945. Accordingly, this name first spread to the surrounding areas: Gardovy Island, Gardova Balka, the village of Gardove (now the village of Bohdanivka), Stariy Gard, Gardovy Shlyach.

Aktivsky Canyon on the Mertvovod River and the adjacent canyon on the Arbuzinka River (Maly Aktivskyi Canyon) are a separate part of the "Buzkiy Gard" National Park.

Map pin icon Turystychna Street Myhiia

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Кафедральний Собор Різдва Пресвятої Богородиці, Миколаїв
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Nativity of Blessed Virgin Mary Cathedral

Temple , Architecture

The Cathedral of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary is the oldest church in Mykolaiv. It was built in 1800 with donations from Mykolaiv merchants, so it was called the Starokupetska (Old Merchant) Church.

The 38-meter-high classicist building has powerful walls made of hewn tortoiseshell stone. Later, two side altars were added, the church became the city diocesan cathedral. In 1876, a belfry was built, a huge bell weighing more than 8 tons was installed in it.

The cathedral was closed in 1938, the premises housed the officers' garrison house. Since 1992, the Cathedral of the Nativity of the Virgin has been operating again. A new iconostasis with its original appearance was installed.

Map pin icon Heroyiv Ryatuvalnykiv Street, 10 Mykolaiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Церква Різдва Богородиці, Криве Озеро
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Nativity of Holy Virgin Church

Temple , Architecture

The Church of the Nativity of the Holy Virgin in Kryve Ozero has been known since 1766, when it was Greek Catholic. She became Orthodox in 1794.

In the 19th century, the wooden temple burned down. The new Church of the Nativity of the Virgin was built in 1824 from bricks at another location. In 1890-1899, a stone belfry was added at the expense of the landowner Lavrentiy Shyrochenko.

Recently, an image of the Mother of God appeared on the wall of the church, which became the object of a mass pilgrimage of believers.

Map pin icon Tsentralna Street, 121 Kryve Ozero

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Резиденція Миколи I, Вознесенськ
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Nicholas I's Residence

Palace / manor , Architecture

The royal summer residence in Voznesensk was built in 1837 for the visit of Russian Emperor Nicholas I.

A small palace is located on the edge of Maryin Grove.

Currently, this is the building of the state-owned enterprise "Voznesensk Forestry".

Map pin icon Kyivska Street, 244 Voznesensk

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Краєзнавчий музей, Нова Одеса
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Nova Odesa Local Lore Museum

Museum / gallery

The Nova Odesa Museum of Local Lore is located in the center of the city of Nova Odesa on the second floor of the city House of Culture. The museum was established in 1972. In 1976 it received the status of "people's".

The museum exposition is located in 3 halls and has about 5 thousand exhibits. The first hall highlights the development of humanity in the region. The hall "Ukrainian House" exhibits agricultural tools that were used by the population of Nova Odesa at the end of the 19th century. Separate expositions are dedicated to the national liberation movement of 1918-1920, the Holodomor of 1932-1933, the period of Stalinist repressions and World War II.

Map pin icon Tsentralna Street, 223 Nova Odesa

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Історичний музей, Новий Буг
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Novyi Buh Historical Museum

Museum / gallery

The Novyi Buh People's Historical Museum was opened in 1980 in the premises of the city's cultural center.

Materials on the history of the region are collected in the Novyi Buh museum.

Map pin icon Hrebennikova Street, 61 Novyi Buh

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Очаківський військово-історичний музей, Очаків
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Ochakiv Military History Museum

Museum / gallery

The Ochakiv Military History Museum was opened in 1972 in the former building of a Turkish mosque (now Saint Nicholas Cathedral).

Later, the museum was moved to an administrative building in the center of Ochakiv.

The museum's exposition is located in three halls and has about two thousand exhibits that highlight the history of the region from post-Soviet settlements to the events of World War II. The first section of the exposition is dedicated to the development of the Black Sea steppes by the Eastern Slavs of Kyivan Rus in the 9th-10th centuries and the presence of part of the lands of the Northern Black Sea region as part of the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth.

The second section is dedicated to the Turkish-Tatar rule in the Northern Black Sea region in the 15th-17th centuries, the foundation of the Ochakiv fortress and the Kinburn fortification, and is accompanied by objects found during the Ukrainian-Turkish archaeological expeditions of 1997-1998 (coins of the Tatar Khanate, jewelry, details of military equipment, etc.).

The third section of the exhibition tells about the campaigns of the Zaporizhzhian Cossacks under the walls of the Ochakiv fortress: about Dmytro (Bayda) Vyshnevetsky, who in 1556 rescued many slaves from the fortress; about Petro Konashevych-Sahaydachny, who became famous for his sea campaigns against the Turks; about Ivan Sirko, who in 1669 carried out a very successful military maneuver, freeing Orthodox prisoners from the Ochakiv fortress. The attention of visitors is always attracted by the collection of pipes, a cooking cauldron, weapon samples, a model of a Cossack seagull by Roman Dohar. In addition, the exhibition highlights the struggle between Russia and Turkey for the Black Sea coast. This part of the exhibition is accompanied by paintings, engravings, dioramas, firearms and cold weapons, awards, trophy banners, coins, Turkish seals, etc.

The last section of the exhibition highlights the events of World War II.

RUSSIAN-UKRAINIAN WAR

Since the start of the full-scale Russian invasion of Ukraine in 2022, the city of Ochakiv has been under constant enemy fire. As a result of shelling by the Russian army, the Military History Museum building suffered significant damage, forcing the museum to close its doors to visitors.

Map pin icon Lotsmanska Street, 11 Ochakiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

No image
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Odesa Railway Department

Architecture

The complex of residential buildings of the Odesa Railway Department was built in Voznesensk at the beginning of the 19th century.

Well-preserved two-story houses organically fit into the city's architecture.

The railway station is located nearby.

Map pin icon Sobornosti Street, 73-77 Voznesensk

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Офіцерське зібрання, Очаків
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Officers' Assembly

Architecture

The building of the Officers' Assembly in Ochakiv was built in the middle of the 19th century in the style of classicism.

In 1906, the trial of Lieutenant Petro Schmidt and other participants in the mutiny on the cruiser "Ochakiv" took place in this building.

The Schmidt monument is located opposite the Officers' Assembly. On the pedestal is carved the text of the signal raised over "Ochakiv" after the beginning of the uprising on the ships of the Black Sea Fleet: "I command the fleet. Schmidt."

In Soviet times, the former building of the Officers' Assembly housed the House of Fleet Officers and an art gallery. The building is currently in a state of disrepair.

Map pin icon Shmidta Street, 10 Ochakiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Офіцерське зібрання, Миколаїв
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Officers Club

Architecture

The two-story building of the Officers Club in Mykolaiv is an example of civil architecture of the 19th century.

The house is made in the style of classicism, built in the 1820s by order of Admiral Oleksiy Hreyh as a club for naval officers. In 1872, it received the status of a Naval Assembly and turned into a cultural and educational center for naval employees during the wintering of ships. Prominent naval commanders gathered here - Pavlo Nakhimov, Mykhaylo Lazaryev, Volodymyr Kornilov, Fadey Bellinshauzen, Oleksiy Butakov, Stepan Makarov, Mykola Arkas and others.

It still maintains the profile - it now houses the House of Naval Officers.

Map pin icon Artyleriyska Street, 7 Mykolaiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Краєзнавчий музей, Первомайськ
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Pervomaisk Museum of Local Lore

Museum / gallery

The Pervomaisk Museum of Local Lore was founded in 1927 by the well-known archeologist Pavlo Kharlampovych.

At the beginning of World War II, the museum's fund included about 20,000 exhibits. Most of the collection was destroyed during the war, in particular the archaeological collection, which was collected during the Pivdenyi Buh archaeological expedition of 1928-1932 on the banks of the Pivdenyi Buh and its tributaries.

The museum was restored only in 1985. Today, it is a branch of the Mykolaiv Regional Museum of Local Lore as a department. It has 15 chapters, in which you can familiarize yourself with the history of Pervomaisk region from the Stone Age to modern times.

The permanent interest of visitors is aroused by the exposition "Village House" and the exhibition of holograms, which is constantly in operation, which presents objects from the most famous museums of Ukraine.

Museum employees conduct tours of the city and its surroundings.

Map pin icon Teatralna Street, 10 Pervomaisk

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Південнобузький кромлех, Панкратове
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Pivdennobuzky Henge

Archaeological site

Pivdennobuzky Henge is a religious building dating back to approximately the Middle Neolithic period. On an area of ​​about 100 square meters, 12 cult rings made of stone were found, the age of which is at least 5 thousand years.

The building is completely stone, that is. except for the visible stones sticking out, its entire form is made of stone hidden under a layer of soil. Thanks to this, its shape has been well preserved, and the spiral corridor inside is clearly visible.

According to the stories of old-timers, there used to be rumors that a large stone or idol once stood in the center of the Henge.

Map pin icon Pankratove

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Історичний музей, Південноукраїнськ
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Pivdennoukrainsk City Historical Museum

Museum / gallery

The municipal institution "Pivdennoukrainsk City Historical Museum" is located in the central part of the city of Pivdennoukrainsk on the banks of the Pivdenniy Buh, in the recreation area of ​​​​the townspeople.

The museum was founded in 2003 on the territory of the Memorial to the Liberators as a museum complex "Cossack Glory and Military Equipment". In 2014 it was renamed "Pivdennoukrainsk City Historical Museum".

The museum exposition consists of two parts - an open-air exhibition of military equipment and an exhibition hall, which presents five exposition departments. The department "Glory of the Buzkyi Hard" tells about the history of the region from ancient times to the times of the Buho-Hard palanquin of the Zaporizhzhian Lowland Army. The departments "Between Two Fires. Ukraine in World War II" and "The Price of Another's War" are dedicated, respectively, to honoring the memory of the participants in the fighting during World War II and on the territory of other states. The exposition of the "Heroes Do Not Die" department talks about the Revolution of Dignity of 2013-2014 and the modern Russian-Ukrainian war. The permanent exposition "My City - Pivdennoukrainsk!" contains materials about the construction and development of the Pivdennoukrainsk NPP and its satellite city.

The museum staff conduct sightseeing and thematic excursions around the city and its surroundings.

Map pin icon Naberezhna Enerhetykiv Street, 12A Pivdennoukrainsk

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Сквер Пушкіна, Миколаїв
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Pushkin Square

Park / garden

Pushkin Square was opened in Mykolaiv in 1988. It is located at the intersection of Pushkin Street and Naberezhna Street, where the Inрul Bridge begins.

In 2011, the square was reconstructed, and the fence around it, which was regularly painted with graffiti, was decorated with drawings based on the plots of famous fairy tales and episodes from the writer's life.

A bronze sculpture of twenty-five-year-old Pushkin on a granite pedestal, created by Yuriy Makushyn, was installed in the park. In 2022, during the Russian-Ukrainian war, the Pushkin sculpture was dismantled by the municipal services of the city by the decision of the Mykolaiv city council.

Map pin icon Naberezhna Street Mykolaiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Радонове озеро, Мигія
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Radon Lake

Natural object , Active rest , Rest on the water

The radon lake near the village of Myhiia, also known as the "Black Sea", arose on the site of an old granite quarry in the territory of the regional landscape park "Granite-Steppe Pobuzhzhya" near the rapids of the Pivdenniy Buh.

The lake, more than 40 meters deep with steep banks, is fed by underground radon sources. The water in it is very clean, has an extremely bright blue color. According to legend, you can see a submerged excavator at the bottom.

There is a convenient viewing platform above the lake.

Map pin icon Granite quarry Myhiia

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Functional temporarily unavailable