Attractions of Ivano-Frankivsk district

Online travel guide to attractions and sights of Ivano-Frankivsk district

Found 85 attractions

Ivano-Frankivsk district

change

Sights categories

Available for

Availability settings

Clear filters

All attractions and sights of Ivano-Frankivsk district

Церква Різдва Богородиці, Тисмениця
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Nativity of Virgin Church

Temple , Architecture

The Greek-Catholic Church of the Nativity of the Virgin is located in the historical district of Tysmenytsia, which is called "Monastery".

The wooden monastery church in the Hutsul style was built in 1736. Nearby is a three-tiered wooden belfry (XVIII century). The type of the cross-domed church repeats the plan and structure of the Church of the Exaltation of the Cross (1681) of the Manyava Skete, which legend connects with the main temple of the Spaso-Mizhhirsky Monastery near Kyiv.

A Baroque-Renaissance iconostasis has been preserved, which some researchers attribute to the time of the foundation of the temple.

Map pin icon Monastyrska Street, 32 Tysmenytsia

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей Олекси Довбуша, Івано-Франківськ
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Oleksa Dovbush Historical and Memorial Museum

Museum / gallery

The historical and memorial museum of Oleksa Dovbush in Ivano-Frankivsk was created in 1995 on the basis of the private collection of the famous historian Volodymyr Hrabovetsky, who for 50 years studied the Carpathian insurgent movement of opryshki of the 16th–19th centuries and the life of the legendary hero Oleksa Dovbush, a noble robber and people's avenger, who fought for the liberation of the enslaved peasantry.

The small museum exposition consists mainly of documents and paintings, as well as some ethnographic materials.

The most interesting exhibit is the legendary ax of Dovbush, which was kept for two centuries by the descendants of witnesses to the death of the robber in the village of Kosmach.

Map pin icon Hetmana Mazepy Street, 1 Ivano-Frankivsk

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Народний історико-краєзнавчий музей села Бортники
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

People's History and Local Lore Museum

Museum / gallery

The Bortnyky Village Exemplary People's History and Local Lore Museum is located in the premises of the Bortnyky Gymnasium, and has been operating since 1992. There are about 5,000 exhibits in six rooms on two floors.

First of all, visitors enter the Svitlytsia hall, which recreates the interior of an old country house under a thatched roof. Ancient furniture, icons, dishes and other household items reflecting the ancient life of the peasants are exhibited here. Archaeological finds from different eras, materials about the political and social life of Prykarpattia during the liberation struggle are presented.

On the second floor, you can see an exhibition of objects of sacred art, an exposition about prominent people from the village, a selection of folk art products.

Excursions are conducted by schoolchildren. Visitors are also offered master classes on beekeeping and making souvenir angels.

Map pin icon Peremohy Street, 13 Bortnyky

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Народний музей етнографії та побуту села Саджава
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

People's Museum of Ethnography and Life

Museum / gallery

The People's Museum of Ethnography and Life of the Sadzhava Village was created in 1989 on the initiative of local educators. Now the exhibition is housed in nine halls of a separate building across from the Sadzhava Lyceum.

More than 4,000 exhibits tell about the history of the origin and development of the village of Sadzhava, introduce the ancient traditions and rituals of the villagers, present village crafts and the creativity of folk craftsmen.

The interior of an old village house with a stove, a bed, a chest and household items is recreated. A selection of agricultural implements, remains for harnessing horses and cattle are presented.

In the collection of musical instruments: flute, violin, cymbals, tambourine, sitko, mandolin, bandura, guitar, harmonica, accordion, first radio, gramophone.

A separate exhibition is devoted to children's toys of the late 19th and early 20th centuries.

Map pin icon Shkilna Street, 5 Sadzhava

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Погінський монастир Успіння Матері Божої, Погоня
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Pohonia Monastery of Assumption of Mother of God

Temple , Architecture

The Pohonia Monastery of the Assumption of the Mother of God in the village of Pohonia near Tysmenytsia is one of the great centers of Greek Catholic pilgrimage.

Here, in a small wooden church, there is a miraculous icon of the Mother of God Pohonska.

According to legend, in the 13th century, voivode Roman (perhaps the son of Danylo Halytskyi) with a small detachment defeated the army of Khan Baty here. According to legend, on the eve of the battle, Saint Nicholas the Wonderworker appeared to the voivode in a dream and ordered him not to defend himself, but to boldly attack the Tatars. On the site of Roman's victory over the Mongol-Tatars in 1634, the Church of the Assumption of the Holy Theotokos was built, and on the spot where the voivode had a dream, the Church of Saint Nicholas was built.

At the beginning of the 20th century, a new church and monastery of the Assumption of the Mother of God was built, but already in 1946 it was liquidated by the Soviet authorities. A boarding school for children with mental disorders was placed within the walls, and the church was destroyed in 1950.

The miraculous icon was preserved. In 1991, the monastery was revived. Hundreds and sometimes thousands of pilgrims flock here on holidays.

Map pin icon Tarasa Shevchenko Street Pohonia

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Літературний музей Прикарпаття, Івано-Франківськ
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Prykarpattya Literary Museum

Museum / gallery

The Prykarpattya Literary Museum was opened in 1986 for the 130th anniversary of the birth of the writer Ivan Franko.

The museum is located in a one-story town house of the end of the 19th century.

After the renovation in 2006, the museum exposition tells about all the main stages of the development of the literary process in the region starting from the 12th century. In particular, a copy of a page of the Galician Gospel of 1144, a reprint of the Galician-Volyn Chronicle, materials about the first Carpathian printing presses in Stratyn and Krylos are presented.

In total, the museum's funds include more than 40,000 exhibits. The most valuable among them are Lviv old prints of the 17th century: "Triodion" from 1664 and "Apostol" from 1684.

A prominent place in the exposition is occupied by a section devoted to the stay of Ivan Franko in Prykarpattya, illustrated with an electrified literary map.

The exposition presents manuscripts and lifetime editions of the works of Ivan Franko, Bohdan Lepky, Vasyl Stefanyk, Les Martovych, Mark Cheremshyna, Nataliya Kobrynska, Mykhaylo Yatskiv, Olha Duchyminska and other writers.

The museum also highlights the development of the literary process of Prykarpattya in the 20s and 30s of the 20th century, the work of writers of the OUN-UPA, the activities of the Stanislaviv Literary Association and the regional organization of the National Union of Writers of Ukraine.

The Prykarpattya Literary Museum is a branch of the Ivano-Frankivsk Museum of Local Lore.

Map pin icon Bohdana Lepkoho Street, 27 Ivano-Frankivsk

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Рогатинський історико-краєзнавчий музей "Опілля", Рогатин
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Rohatyn Historical and Local Lore Museum "Opillya"

Architecture , Museum / gallery

The Rohatyn Historical and Local Lore Museum "Opillya" was founded in 1941 as the Arts Museum of the Rohatyn region on the initiative of the local intelligentsia, but then it did not exist for long.

The museum was revived in 2018 in a historical building, which is an architectural monument of the 18th century. The exhibition in five halls tells about the history of Rohatyn Opillya from the earliest times to the 20th century. In particular, fragments of ceramics from ancient archaeological cultures, Ancient Rus jewelry, collections of spheres and coins from the times of the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth, traditional Opillya clothing and embroidery, household items, etc. are presented.

The history of the city is revealed by a graphic visualization of the defense fortifications of ancient Rohatyn, a copy of the privilege of moving the city to a new location in 1415, portraits of Nastya Lisovska (Roksolana) and typical Turkish clothing of the 17th century, a map of Europe by the British cartographer William Faden in 1791, and items of traditional Jewish culture.

A separate exhibition is dedicated to the history and outstanding figures of the Rohatyn region in the first half of the 20th century.

It is possible to order a pottery master class.

Map pin icon Halytska Street, 52L Rohatyn

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Церква Святого Василія, Черче
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Saint Basil's Church

Temple , Architecture

The Church of Saint Basil is located in the center of the village of Cherche, next to the village council.

It was probably built according to the project of the architect Vasyl Nahirnyi. The church is wooden, cruciform in plan. In 1923-1933, the famous Ukrainian artist Antin Manastyrskyi painted a four-tiered iconostasis.

A new brick church is located nearby.

Map pin icon Dolishnya Street Cherche

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Костел Марії Магдалини, Кукільники
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Saint Mary Magdalene Church

Temple , Architecture

The Church of Saint Mary Magdalene, Saint John the Evangelist and 40 Martyrs in Kukilnyky was founded in 1732 (according to other sources - in 1722) at the expense of Lviv Archbishop Yan Skarbek. The construction was also financed by Kyiv Voivode Potoski.

The church was built in the Baroque style. The facade is decorated with two statues. The interior paintings belong to the brush of Stanislav Stroyinsky. A miraculous cross from the Kukilnyky Castle was placed in the main altar.

In 1945, the church was closed by the Soviet authorities, and is still abandoned and gradually falling into disrepair.

Map pin icon Halytska Street Kukilnyky

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Церква Святого Миколая, Тисмениця
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Saint Nicholas Church

Temple , Architecture

The Greek-Catholic Church of Saint Nicholas is located in the very center of Tysmenytsia.

Built in 1862. The temple is stone, with a bell tower.

Map pin icon Rynok Square Tysmenytsia

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Церква Святого Миколая, Ямниця
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Saint Nicholas Church

Temple , Architecture

The wooden church of Saint Nicholas in Yamnytsia was built in 1861 without a single nail, reconstructed in 1932-1933. on the initiative of priest Yustin Hirnyak.

During the Soviet rule, the Greek-Catholic church was handed over to the Russian Orthodox Church and remained in use, thanks to which the interior decoration was preserved.

In 1989, the Yamnytsia parish of Saint Nicholas was the first in Prykarpattya to return to the bosom of the Ukrainian Greek Catholic Church, as evidenced by a memorial plaque.

Map pin icon Halytska Street, 34 Yamnytsia

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Церква Святого Миколая, Чорнолізці
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Saint Nicholas Church

Temple , Architecture

The wooden church of Saint Nicholas was built in Chornoliztsi in 1910.

An architectural monument of local importance. A memorial cross was erected in honor of the 100th anniversary of the church.

Saint Nicholas Church belongs to the Orthodox Church of Ukraine.

Map pin icon Tsentralna Street, 34A Chornoliztsi

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Церква Святого Миколая, Вікторів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Saint Nicholas Church

Temple , Architecture

The wooden church of Saint Nicholas was built in Viktoriv in 1883 on the site of the ancient Saint Nicholas Monastery, which existed in the 13th century, during the time of Ancient Halych.

The interior of the church was painted by the Galician artist Kornylo Ustiyanovych.

For the 130th anniversary of the Saint Nicholas Church, a bell tower was built nearby.

The Church of Saint Nicholas belongs to the Ukrainian Autocephalous Orthodox Church.

Part of the relics of Saint Nicholas are kept here. A 700-year-old oak tree grows on the church perimeter.

Map pin icon Fedyka Street Viktoriv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Солотвинський історико-краєзнавчий музей, Солотвин
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Solotvyn History and Local Lore Museum of Oleksandr Fedanko

Museum / gallery

The historical and local lore museum in the urban-type village of Solotvyn was founded in 1958 by the famous Carpathian local historian Oleksandr Fedanko.

In 1964, the museum received official status. Now the exposition is located in a two-floor building in the center of the village.

The basis of the museum collection is the exhibits collected by Oleksandr Fedanko during his local history expeditions in the Carpathians. In particular, ancient things from the Maniava hermitage and a model of the entrance gate of the Krasnopillia Castle are presented. There are also many archaeological finds in the exposition.

The ethnographic selection includes towels, embroidered shirts, household items, work tools, and agricultural implements.

A memorial plaque to Oleksandr Fedanko by sculptor Volodymyr Dovbenyuk has been installed on the facade of the museum.

Map pin icon Mykhayla Hrushevskoho Street, 4 Solotvyn

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Станіславівський пивзавод, Івано-Франківськ
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Stanislaviv Brewery

Architecture

Stanislaviv Brewery in Ivano-Frankivsk is one of the oldest industrial breweries in Ukraine.

Opened in 1767 by representatives of the Potocki family. In 1905, entrepreneur Peter Zedelmayer bought the plant, setting up beer production under the trade mark Browar Parowy Sedelmajera. Every year, the brewery produced 12,000 buckets of beer. The Zedelmayer family owned the Stanislaviv Brewery before the Second World War.

The plant also worked in Soviet times, but it was closed in 1997. Currently, the historical building of the brewing shop has been reconstructed, and a fast food restaurant has opened in it.

Map pin icon Lyubomyra Huzara Street, 49 Ivano-Frankivsk

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Functional temporarily unavailable