Українська
русский [страна агрессор]
Attractions of Ukraine
Attractions of Ivano-Frankivsk region
Found 303 attractions
Ivano-Frankivsk region
Open map
Available for
Availability settings
Architecture , Museum / gallery
The Rohatyn Historical and Local Lore Museum "Opillya" was founded in 1941 as the Arts Museum of the Rohatyn region on the initiative of the local intelligentsia, but then it did not exist for long.
The museum was revived in 2018 in a historical building, which is an architectural monument of the 18th century. The exhibition in five halls tells about the history of Rohatyn Opillya from the earliest times to the 20th century. In particular, fragments of ceramics from ancient archaeological cultures, Ancient Rus jewelry, collections of spheres and coins from the times of the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth, traditional Opillya clothing and embroidery, household items, etc. are presented.
The history of the city is revealed by a graphic visualization of the defense fortifications of ancient Rohatyn, a copy of the privilege of moving the city to a new location in 1415, portraits of Nastya Lisovska (Roksolana) and typical Turkish clothing of the 17th century, a map of Europe by the British cartographer William Faden in 1791, and items of traditional Jewish culture.
A separate exhibition is dedicated to the history and outstanding figures of the Rohatyn region in the first half of the 20th century.
It is possible to order a pottery master class.
Halytska Street, 52L Rohatyn
Rating
Add to favorites
Add to route
Natural object
Rushirskyi Waterfall (Rushirskyi Huk), on the southern edge of the village of Liucha, is located on the Rushir River, which flows into Liuchka.
The waterfall with a height of 4 meters was formed at the place where the Rushir River breaks through the fold of Mehura and Tarnitsa.
Liucha
Museum / gallery
The Museum of Sacred Art of the Hutsul region was opened in 2016 on its outskirts by the Kosiv artist-carver Taras Strynadyuk - a famous master of plastic wood carving, the author of unique carved icons, a representative of the Strynadyuk creative family.
He has dozens of works to his credit, which impress with the technical execution of the details, the spirituality of the images, and the professional design. He is also involved in the restoration of wooden monuments of Hutsul sacred art and other antiquities.
His collection includes ancient Hutsul wooden crosses, carved icons, decorative plates, ancient carved chests, jugs and jugs, stove tiles, a collection of axes, etc.
The "Koka" Museum-Workroom of the Strynadyuk Family" is located nearby, where the works of Mykola Strynadyuk, brother of Taras, are presented.
Mykhayla Hrushevskoho Lane, 9 Kosiv
The Museum of Sacred Art named after Bishop Mykola Simkaylo opened in Kolomyia on March 22, 2014.
The museum is located in the lower church of the Transfiguration Cathedral. It was created with the blessing of Bishop Vasil Ivasyuk through the efforts of the church's fathers and with the professional help of the staff of the National Museum of Folk Art of Hutsul region and Pokuttya.
The museum exhibits works of sacred art that belonged to the bishop of the Kolomyia-Chernivtsi eparchy of the Ukrainian Greek-Catholic Church Mykola Simkaylo (1952-2013). The bishop collected a unique collection of church art all his life.
The collection consists of icons, wooden sculptures, handmade crosses and liturgical books. Many of them are drawn by world-famous artists, and they are written by folk masters of Bukovyna, Galicia, Pokuttia, as well as Volhynia. The temporal dimension of the exhibited works of the 17th - 20th centuries.
Teatralna Street, 31 Kolomyia
Temple
The Greek Catholic Church of Saint Archangel Michael was built in Kalush in 1910-1913. The previous temple, built in 1771, was wooden.
For the new brick church, the architect Vasyl Nahirnyi, according to one of the versions, took as a basis the project of the Church of the Transfiguration in Lviv, and the project was implemented by the architect Teodor Melnychuk with the assistance of Metropolitan Andrey Sheptytskyi.
Saint Michael's Church was built in the traditional Byzantine style with 3 naves and a small vestibule, topped by 5 domes. On both sides of the portal there are two columns with towers in the form of small domes. The five-tiered iconostasis was made in 1927 by Ivan Lenil, a Bolekhiv carver. Artistic polychrome paintings were made in 1936-38 by a group of artists from Lviv under the leadership of Pavlo Kovzhun and Mykhaylo Osinchuk.
During Soviet times, the Church of Saint Michael in Kalush belonged to the Russian Orthodox Church. In 1990, it was returned to the parish of the Ukrainian Greek Catholic Church.
Andreya Sheptytskoho Square, 30 Kalush
Temple , Architecture
The Greek-Catholic Church of Saint Archangel Michael in Pechenizhyn was built in 1870. Five-domed, cruciform in plan.
Saint Michael's Church is located in the very center of the village.
Ivana Franka Street, 8 Pechenizhyn
The wooden church of Saint Archangel Michael was built in the village of Verkhnii Verbizh in 1859-1861.
Currently, the exterior of the temple is distorted by the metal covering of the roof and plastic lining on the walls.
Saint Michael's Church belongs to the Orthodox Church of Ukraine.
Tarasa Shevchenko Street Verkhnii Verbizh
The young wooden church of Saint Basil the Great appeared in Yablunytsia quite recently - in 1992, but it was built according to all the classic canons of Carpathian folk architecture.
The church is decorated with an iconostasis made in 1995 by craftsmen from Deliatyn, Vasyl Savchuk and Vasyl Pryima. The icons were painted by an artist from Lazeshchyna Mykhaylo Kuzyuk. Artistic wall paintings were made in 2000 by folk craftsmen from the village of Chornyi Potik: Mykola Paliychuk, Vasyl Vasylyshyn, Mykhaylo Tkachuk, Mykhaylo Menuyk. The tetrapod was carved and painted by Vasyl Vasylyshyn.
Yablunytsia
The wooden church of Saint Basil the Great (Moskalivka Church) is located in Kosovo in the Moskalivka district on the opposite bank of the Rybnytsia from the city center.
The original temple was built in 1895 in the traditional Hutsul style. In the same year, a wooden belfry was built.
In 2009, Saint Basil the Great Church completely burned down, but two years later it was restored in its original form.
In 1997, a monument to the fighters for the freedom of Ukraine (sculptor Ivan Andriykanych) was erected near the church of Saint Basil the Great, which includes a list of 1,186 residents of Kosiv region who died in 1939-1952.
Bohdana Khmelnytskoho Street, 60 Kosiv
The Church of Saint Basil is located in the center of the village of Cherche, next to the village council.
It was probably built according to the project of the architect Vasyl Nahirnyi. The church is wooden, cruciform in plan. In 1923-1933, the famous Ukrainian artist Antin Manastyrskyi painted a four-tiered iconostasis.
A new brick church is located nearby.
Dolishnya Street Cherche
A small wooden church was built in Tatariv in honor of the Great Martyr Demetrius Solunsky in 1870.
The temple was designed by the architect Frantsyshek Menchynsky, and is considered an original work of the Hutsul school of folk architecture.
Tempera painting of the 19th century has been preserved on the walls. The five-tiered iconostasis, the work of local masters, was painted by Antoniy Orzhehovskyi.
Saint Demetrius Church is located in the cemetery right next to the highway.
Nezalezhnosti Street Tatariv
The Church of Saint Demetrius of Thessaloniki in Pechenizhyn dates back to 1629.
Initially, it was a small chapel, built on the site of a temple burned by the Tatars. Later, a large wooden church of Saint Demetrius was added to it, which now belongs to the Orthodox Church of Ukraine. It stores ancient church books of the XVII-XVIII centuries, carved and painted icons.
Next to the church, the building of the deacon's school (XVIII century) has been preserved.
The "Freedom" memorial cross was built at the expense of the Pechenizhyn community in 1873 on the occasion of the 25th anniversary of the abolition of the panchy. Many outstanding people of Pechenizhyn are buried in the church yard.
Ivana Franka Street, 62 Pechenizhyn
The Church of Saint Francis in Deliatyn was built in 1857.
The Austrian emperor Franz Joseph came to Deliatyn and took part in the foundation of the temple, pouring gold ducats into every corner. He personally planted four cedars brought from Vienna near the church.
The Church of Saint Francis is built in the Romanesque-Gothic style. The temple was consecrated in 1882.
In 1945, the Soviet authorities closed the church, the premises were used as a military warehouse. In the 1970s, it housed one of the workshops of the local lumber mill, and then it was simply left unattended and falling into disrepair.
Thanks to scientist Volodymyr Klapchuk, who tried to preserve the church by setting up a museum in it, the church was recognized as an architectural monument. In 1992, after the restoration of Ukraine's independence, the church was returned to the Roman Catholic community of Deliatyn.
16 Lypnya Street, 205 Deliatyn
The Catholic Church of Saint Ignatius Loyola in Kolomyia was built on the initiative of the Polish Catholic community of the city, which invited the Jesuit Fathers of the "Society of Jesus" order. In addition to missionary activity, the Jesuits were engaged in education and charity.
The construction of the temple according to the project of the Chernivtsi architect Yosyp Lyaytsner was supervised by the engineer Dioniziy Kzhychkovskyi. The Saint Ignatius Loyola church was called "the lord's" because most of the parishioners were wealthy people.
In Soviet times, the church premises were used as a shop. In 1990, the church of Saint Ignatius Loyola was returned to the Roman Catholic community of the city.
Ivana Franka Street, 18 Kolomyia
The Church of Saint John the Merciful is located in the old cemetery on the outskirts of Yaremche - in the village of Yamna, which is on the way out of the city in the direction of Bukovel.
The wooden temple was built in 1663 in the best traditions of folk architecture of the Hutsul region. The church is cruciform in plan, single-headed, with a porch on the crowns of log cabins.
A small iconostasis located in the central log cabin, a large number of embroideries and old icons give the interior of the church the appearance of a museum of folk art.
Nearby is a wooden belfry, the second tier of which is made in the form of an arcade-gallery.
The Church of Saint John the Merciful in Yaremche is a very interesting example of the Hutsul school of folk architecture.
Svobody Street, 304 Yaremche