Українська
русский [страна агрессор]
Attractions of Ukraine
Attractions of Transcarpathian region
Found 226 attractions
Transcarpathian region
Open map
Available for
Availability settings
Monument
The monument to the Chimney Sweep in the center of Mukachevo was erected in 2010 at the initiative of the former head of the Transcarpathian regional state administration Viktor Baloha.
The sculpture by Ivan Brovdi is placed on the cobblestones near the fountain, opposite the city's House of Culture. The monument to the "happy Chimney Sweep" was immediately nicknamed "Bertalon Bachi", because the prototype was the well-known Mukachevo Chimney Sweep Bertalon Tovt. He is shown with his gear surveying the rooftops of the surrounding buildings. Beside him is a faithful cat.
It is believed that a meeting with a Chimney Sweep brings good luck.
Kyryla i Mefodiya Square Mukachevo
Rating
Add to favorites
Add to route
The sculpture of a shepherd with a sheep is the oldest monument of Kolochava. Located in the center of the village, at the main intersection.
The shepherd's monument was created in the early 1950s based on the sketch of the statuette, which was awarded to Kolochava shepherds Dmytro Maleta and Ivan Ivanysh as the first place prize at the 1937 Prague sheepdog exhibition.
In 2009, the monument was restored and repainted from white to gold.
Vozzyednannia Street, 2 Kolochava
Active rest , Natural object
Mount Petros (2020 meters) is one of the highest peaks of the Carpathian Chornohora massif, the third highest mountain in Ukraine after Hoverla (2061 meters) and Brebeneskul (2035 meters).
It is located at the northwestern end of the ridge between the Sheshul and Hoverla mountains. The name is translated from Romanian as "stone". It consists of sandstones, covered with subalpine vegetation. The western slope is steep, with numerous stone screes.
According to legend, a stone cross was once found on the top of Petros. Today, a wooden chapel has been built on this place. The top offers a wonderful view of the entire Montenegrin mountain range, as well as Mount Blyznytsia.
Mount Petros is popular among lovers of mountain tourism. The ascent to it is more difficult than to Hoverla, due to the greater steepness of the slope. The easiest route starts from the village of Kvasy, from where there is a gentler ascent. Snow avalanches often occur in winter.
Chornohora tract Kvasy
Museum / gallery , Natural object , Reserve , Active rest
The central manor of the Carpathian Biosphere Reserve is located on the southern outskirts of Rakhiv.
Under the protection of the reserve are 2.5% of the territory of the Carpathian region (58 thousand hectares), the ecosystems of which are characterized by the greatest biological diversity in Europe and are considered among the most valuable on the planet.
The first forests of the Carpathians were taken under protection in 1955, and soon the Carpathian Nature Reserve was created on an area of 12 thousand hectares. Since 1992, it has been part of the international network of UNESCO biosphere reserves. There are six separate massifs on the territory of several districts of Transcarpathia. The most famous is the Narcissus Valley, where the rare narrow-leaved narcissus grows. The Svydovetsky reserve covers the highest part of Svydovets with the legendary peaks of Blyznyuky - Edelweiss trees grow here. The business card of the Chornohorsky massif is the highest peak of Ukraine - Mount Hoverla (2061 meters above sea level).
The Museum of Mountain Ecology and History of Nature Use in the Ukrainian Carpathians operates at the central estate.
Krasne Pleso Street, 77 Rakhiv
Museum / gallery
The Mukachevo Literary and Art Museum opened in 2021 on the first floor of the Oleksandr Dukhnovych Central City Library in the center of Mukachevo.
The museum was created at the expense of the public at the initiative of writers Viktor Dvornychenko and Tetyana Rybar.
The exposition presents ancient and modern examples of literature, visual and theatrical arts, music, and sculpture. You can see old typewriters, music records, theater posters, works of decorative and applied art.
Oleksandra Dukhnovycha Street, 1 Mukachevo
Monument , Museum / gallery
The Internationalist Soldiers Memorial Museum is dedicated to the residents of the village of Kolochava who participated in the Soviet-Afghan War of 1979-1989.
The memorial complex consists of a stone and metal bunker, above which a Soviet BRDM is installed, and a figure of a serviceman nearby. The rooms inside the bunker are decorated with camouflage nets and large panoramic photos with scenes from the Afghan war, a parachute is stretched under the ceiling.
The exposition presents samples of Soviet weapons of the second half of the 20th century, binoculars, a periscope, a field telephone, a military uniform and elements of soldier's equipment.
Tarasa Shevchenko Street, 123 Kolochava
Museum / gallery , Gastrotourism
The only museum of lekvar (plum jam) in Ukraine was opened in 2012 in the Transcarpathian border village of Botar by local farmer Pavlo Tyzesh.
There are many types of Transcarpathian lekvar, as well as various jams from 28 countries of the world. All types of lekvar are produced by hand - without preservatives, dyes and flavorings.
There is a tasting hall at the museum, where, in addition to jam, you can also taste smoked meat from the unique local Mangalica breed of pork, ecologically clean juices, traditional dishes of Hungarian cuisine, and more.
In front of the museum, there is a monument to the Mangalitsa pig, as well as a monument to the lekvar.
Holovna Street, 4A Botar
Architecture , Museum / gallery
The working forge-museum "Hamora" is a unique monument of the blacksmith's craft.
It was built in Lysychovo at the beginning of the 19th century, when a dam was built on the Lysychanka River. The water was directed through the water channel on the blades of the wheels, which set in motion heavy blacksmith's hammers weighing up to 125 kilograms. Under their blows, metal blanks turned into blanks for agricultural tools: shovels, hoes, plow parts, etc. Four hammers were serviced by 16 craftsmen. At the beginning of the 20th century, there were 5 water wheels with a capacity of 8 horsepower each.
The forge operated until 1998, when the dam was destroyed by a flood. Soon it was reconstructed and turned into a museum. Four blacksmiths are constantly working here, and they are still making various tools for the villagers.
Free entrance. Excursions are held by prior arrangement.
Lysychovo
Winery / brewery
The wine house of Mykhaylo Polychko's family is located on the outskirts of Vynohradiv, on the southwestern slope of Black Mountain, the forest massif of which is a state reserve, and orchards and vineyards grow on the lower slopes.
According to the classical technology with aging in the wine cellar, wines of several varieties are produced here, the best of which is considered to be the ordinary dry Cabernet Sauvignon. On the territory of the House of Wine, a collection vineyard has been established and is bearing fruit, in which more than 250 varieties of table and technical grapes are collected from all over the world.
In the tasting room with a covered terrace, you can taste several types of wines. Excursions and hotel rooms are also offered.
Kopanska Street, 250A Vynohradiv
Temple , Architecture
The luxurious wooden Church of the Nativity of the Holy Virgin was built in Pylypets, probably in 1759-1762.
The date "1841" indicated on the plaque located on the south wall probably refers to the reconstruction. The iconostasis of the 18th century has been preserved. A monumental two-story wooden bell tower, built in 1758, rises nearby.
You can get inside the Nativity of Holy Virgin Church only during the service - on Sundays or holidays.
Pylypets
The Novoselytsia Village Museum Complex was created in 1989 on the initiative of residents of the Transcarpathian village of Novoselytsia.
The complex includes the wooden Assumption Church of 1669, which houses the Museum of Folk Wooden Architecture and Painting, and the Museum of Ethnography, located in the building opposite.
The Ethnographic Museum has four departments: "Weaving and Embroidery", "Work Tools", "Household Items", "Svitlytsia". In particular, the ancient wedding, festive and everyday clothes of Transcarpathians are presented. You can also see a loom, spinning wheels, spindles and other tools.
Tarasa Shevchenko Street, 71 Novoselytsia
Castle / fortress
The ruins of the royal castle Nyalab (Nyolab) can be found on top of a high hill in the center of Korolevo village.
There is a legend about the warrior knight Nyalab, who tried to marry the beautiful Ilka, the daughter of the Bereh district governor Andriy Dobosh, by force. Overtaken by Ilka's lover, the knight Valentyn, Nyalab killed the bride he had stolen in front of the groom and himself rushed to the Vyrka River.
The exact date of foundation of the castle is unknown. It was probably built in the 13th century by the Hungarian king Istvan V (or his son Laslo IV), first mentioned in 1279.
Nyalab Castle was the summer residence of the Hungarian kings who came with their entourage to hunt in the surrounding forests. In addition, the castle controlled the flow of salt along the Tysa River. In 1378, the king presented Nyalab to the Romanian voivode Drage, and in 1405 the castle passed into the possession of the Pereni baron family. In 1661, Nyalab withstood an unsuccessful Turkish siege. In 1672, the castle was destroyed by order of King Leopold, who was afraid of its influential owners.
Only some fragments of walls and towers have survived. The highest part of the hill offers a wonderful view of the Tysa valley.
Zamkova Street Korolevo
The private wine-making enterprise of the famous Transcarpathian winemaker Oleksandr Kovach in the village of Kontsovo.
Oleksandr Kovach, head of the Association of Private Grape Growers and Winemakers of Transcarpathia, is a multiple winner of wine competitions and festivals in the region. His farm produces wines of several varieties: Pinot Noir (red dry), Red Bay (red dry blended), Cabernet Sauvignon (red dry), Ca-Mer (red dry blended), " Rosalin" (pink semi-sweet blend), "Chardonnay" (white dry), "Italian Riesling" (white dry), "Royal Leanka" (white semi-sweet).
Tastings are held.
Ivana Turyanytsi Street, 64 Kontsovo
Zoo
The ostrich farm in Khust was opened in 2002 on the northern outskirts of the city, near the district road.
Entrepreneur Vasyl Perets bought his first ostriches in neighboring Slovakia. Currently, the population is 40 birds. Birds are bred for sale, but they also conduct tours for tourists.
An ostrich hatches about 60 eggs per year, each one weighs about 1.5-2 kilograms (one ostrich egg replaces 36 chicken eggs). The taste of ostrich eggs is identical to chicken, and the meat is similar to veal.
You can buy ostrich eggs and feathers at the farm. Since the birds are omnivorous, you can bring any food with you, including bread, apples and cabbage.
Lvivska street, 206G Khust
The People's Ethnographic Museum "Kalyna" was created in 2005 by Transcarpathian local historian and collector Yuriy Kutsyn in his own yard in the village of Kalyny.
During his lifetime, he collected more than 4,000 exhibits, some of which are 300-400 years old. The exposition presents ancient embroidered shirts and towels, traditional Hutsul clothing for holidays and everyday life, women's jewelry, painted ceramic dishes, kerosene lamps, musical instruments.
The greatest values of the collector are the chair in which the president of Carpathian Ukraine Auhustyn Voloshyn sat, and the sword of the Steyer squire of 1810.
In front of the entrance to the museum, there are several wooden sculptures, among them the bust of Pintio Khrushch.
On the territory there is an active model of a mill, an authentic Transcarpathian house of the 18th century and a small botanical garden where bananas, lemons, and coffee trees grow.
At the end of the tour, guests are treated to home-made mountain herb tea with mountain honey from their own apiary and home-made wine.
The host offers services for the organization of green tourism, excursions in the surroundings, hiking in the mountains. There is a sauna with a swimming pool.
Zaliznychna Street, 13 Kalyny