Attractions of Ivano-Frankivsk

Online travel guide to attractions and sights of Ivano-Frankivsk

Found 24 attractions

Ivano-Frankivsk

change

Sights categories

Available for

Availability settings

Clear filters

All attractions and sights of Ivano-Frankivsk

Меморіал "Дем'янів Лаз", Івано-Франківськ
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Memorial Complex "Demyaniv Laz"

Historic area , Museum / gallery , Monument

The tract of Demyaniv Laz on the outskirts of Ivano-Frankivsk is the site of a mass shooting of prisoners of the NKVD prison.

The executions were carried out before the retreat of the Soviet troops in 1941. During excavations, human bones were found here and they were able to identify 524 individuals. It was possible to establish the identity of 22 people, work in the archives of the SBU made it possible to determine the names of another 400 executed.

In 1998, the "Demyaniv Laz" memorial complex was opened near the graves. The museum was opened in 2009.

The name of the tract is related to the name of one of the local peasants, Demyan from the village of Zahvizdya, who owned a plot of the Posichnyansky forest here.

The memorial complex "Demyaniv Laz" is a branch of the Ivano-Frankivsk Regional Museum of the Liberation Struggle named after Stepan Bandera.

Map pin icon Tsiolkovskoho Street, Demyaniv Laz tract Ivano-Frankivsk

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей "Герої Дніпра", Івано-Франківськ
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Museum "Heroes of Dnipro" (branch of NMHMU)

Museum / gallery

The "Heroes of the Dnipro" Museum in Ivano-Frankivsk is a branch of the National Military Historical Museum of Ukraine. It was founded in 1966 as the Museum of Combat Glory of the 38th Combined Arms Army, which in 1943 took part in the forcing of the Dnipro north of Kyiv and the creation of the Liutizh bridgehead.

The central element of the exposition is the diorama "Experience on the Dnipro", which shows combat actions during the crossing of the river in September 1943. Before entering the demonstration hall, visitors pass through a stylized headquarters dugout used by the commander of the 38th Army, Colonel General Kyrylo Moskalenko.

The main exhibition in 12 halls highlights the military history and traditions of Prykarpattia much more widely - from the times of the Galicia-Volyn state to the present day. Separate chapters are devoted to the combat path of the Legion of the Ukrainian SSR in Stanislaviv region during the First World War, the formation of the UGA during the Ukrainian-Polish war of 1918-1919, and the participation of natives of Ivano-Frankivsk region in the Russian-Ukrainian war.

The exhibition is complemented by a rich collection of samples of small arms, engineering and artillery ammunition, and means of communication.

In 2018, a stationary exhibition dedicated to the centenary of the proclamation of the Western Ukrainian People's Republic was opened.

Map pin icon Natsionalnoyi Hvardiyi Street, 14D Ivano-Frankivsk

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей Олекси Довбуша, Івано-Франківськ
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Oleksa Dovbush Historical and Memorial Museum

Museum / gallery

The historical and memorial museum of Oleksa Dovbush in Ivano-Frankivsk was created in 1995 on the basis of the private collection of the famous historian Volodymyr Hrabovetsky, who for 50 years studied the Carpathian insurgent movement of opryshki of the 16th–19th centuries and the life of the legendary hero Oleksa Dovbush, a noble robber and people's avenger, who fought for the liberation of the enslaved peasantry.

The small museum exposition consists mainly of documents and paintings, as well as some ethnographic materials.

The most interesting exhibit is the legendary ax of Dovbush, which was kept for two centuries by the descendants of witnesses to the death of the robber in the village of Kosmach.

Map pin icon Hetmana Mazepy Street, 1 Ivano-Frankivsk

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Літературний музей Прикарпаття, Івано-Франківськ
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Prykarpattya Literary Museum

Museum / gallery

The Prykarpattya Literary Museum was opened in 1986 for the 130th anniversary of the birth of the writer Ivan Franko.

The museum is located in a one-story town house of the end of the 19th century.

After the renovation in 2006, the museum exposition tells about all the main stages of the development of the literary process in the region starting from the 12th century. In particular, a copy of a page of the Galician Gospel of 1144, a reprint of the Galician-Volyn Chronicle, materials about the first Carpathian printing presses in Stratyn and Krylos are presented.

In total, the museum's funds include more than 40,000 exhibits. The most valuable among them are Lviv old prints of the 17th century: "Triodion" from 1664 and "Apostol" from 1684.

A prominent place in the exposition is occupied by a section devoted to the stay of Ivan Franko in Prykarpattya, illustrated with an electrified literary map.

The exposition presents manuscripts and lifetime editions of the works of Ivan Franko, Bohdan Lepky, Vasyl Stefanyk, Les Martovych, Mark Cheremshyna, Nataliya Kobrynska, Mykhaylo Yatskiv, Olha Duchyminska and other writers.

The museum also highlights the development of the literary process of Prykarpattya in the 20s and 30s of the 20th century, the work of writers of the OUN-UPA, the activities of the Stanislaviv Literary Association and the regional organization of the National Union of Writers of Ukraine.

The Prykarpattya Literary Museum is a branch of the Ivano-Frankivsk Museum of Local Lore.

Map pin icon Bohdana Lepkoho Street, 27 Ivano-Frankivsk

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Станіславівський пивзавод, Івано-Франківськ
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Stanislaviv Brewery

Architecture

Stanislaviv Brewery in Ivano-Frankivsk is one of the oldest industrial breweries in Ukraine.

Opened in 1767 by representatives of the Potocki family. In 1905, entrepreneur Peter Zedelmayer bought the plant, setting up beer production under the trade mark Browar Parowy Sedelmajera. Every year, the brewery produced 12,000 buckets of beer. The Zedelmayer family owned the Stanislaviv Brewery before the Second World War.

The plant also worked in Soviet times, but it was closed in 1997. Currently, the historical building of the brewing shop has been reconstructed, and a fast food restaurant has opened in it.

Map pin icon Lyubomyra Huzara Street, 49 Ivano-Frankivsk

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Стометрівка, Івано-Франківськ
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Stometrivka

Historic area

Residents of Ivano-Frankivsk call the pedestrian part of Nezalezhnosti Street, from Vicheva Square to Ivan Franko Street, "Stometrivka" ("One-hundred meter) or simply "Sotka".

Its real length is about half a kilometer. In the 16th century, it was called the Tysmenytsia road, as it connected Stanislaviv (former name Ivano-Frankivsk) with Tysmenytsia. In 1869, it was renamed Sapezhynska in honor of Leon Sapeha. At the beginning of the 20th century, it was the main and busiest street of the city. The most expensive houses were built here, the best hotels and shops were opened.

Now it is the most popular walking area of the city. There are many street cafes and restaurants, bookstores and boutiques. Every year, new forged sculptures appear on "Stometrivka" and nearby streets, which are opened during the "Feast of Blacksmiths" festival.

Map pin icon Nezalezhnosti Street Ivano-Frankivsk

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Синагога Темпель, Івано-Франківськ
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Synagogue Tempel

Temple , Architecture

The Reform Synagogue Tempel was built in Ivano-Frankivsk on the initiative of members of the "Public Progress" society.

The first stone was laid in 1895, the construction lasted four years under the direction of the architect Vilhelm Shtyasny. The building is made in the Moorish style with elements of the Renaissance. At first, there were four towers decorated with stars of David at the corners.

During the two world wars, the building was damaged, but was restored. In the 1990s, part of the premises was returned to the city's Jewish community.

Nearby, in 2003, a monument was erected at the place of execution of 27 Ukrainian patriots, members of the OUN, shot by the Germans in 1943.

Map pin icon Strachenykh Natsionalistiv Street, 7 Ivano-Frankivsk

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Парк ім. Шевченка, Івано-Франківськ
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Tarasa Shevchenko Park

Park / garden

Tarasa Shevchenko Park of Culture and Recreation in Ivano-Frankivsk was opened in 1946 on the territory of Baron Romashkan's estate.

Around the estate, on an area of 22 hectares, there was a forest in which the Potocki once liked to hunt. At the end of the 19th century, the territory began to be cultivated, alleys were laid, and later a number of cascading ponds were dug. During Soviet times, the territory was redeveloped several times. A small bust of Shevchenko was installed here, which is still the only monument to Kobzar in Ivano-Frankivsk.

Two ponds have been preserved. On one of them, called "Swan Lake", an island has been created with a house for swans and ducks (local residents come to feed them on weekends).

There is also an amusement park here.

In 2010, the "Stone of Love" brought from Cana, a small town in Galilee, where Jesus blessed the newlyweds, was installed on the day of the city. According to legend, this place is considered lucky for lovers: here they make dates, declare their love and take pictures on their wedding day.

Map pin icon Tarasa Chornovola Street, 128 Ivano-Frankivsk

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Аквапарк "Цунамі", Івано-Франківськ
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Tsunami Aqua Park

Aquapark

Aquapark "Tsunami" in Ivano-Frankivsk is considered one of the largest in Ukraine.

Its area is 6 thousand square meters. It can accommodate up to 500 people at a time.

In total, there are 6 swimming pools and 12 slides in the "Tsunami" water park, as well as a jacuzzi, solarium, sauna, massage room, fitness center. One of the pools with a depth of 12.5 meters is intended for diving. From the central indoor pool, you can swim outside to a 30-meter, four-lane, heated, year-round outdoor pool.

In addition to the water park, the Tsunami sports and entertainment complex also includes an ice arena, a restaurant, and a hotel.

Map pin icon Oleksandra Dovzhenka Street, 29 Ivano-Frankivsk

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Functional temporarily unavailable