Attractions of Lviv district

Online travel guide to attractions and sights of Lviv district

Found 231 attractions

Lviv district

change

Sights categories

Available for

Availability settings

Clear filters

All attractions and sights of Lviv district

Хресна дорога на Високому Замку, Львів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Way of Cross at High Castle

Temple

The Way of the Cross in Lviv is an architectural complex that reproduces the main moments of the sufferings of Jesus Christ.

It is located on the northern slope of the High Castle (Vysoky Zamok) Hill. It consists of 15 stations (parking lots) with sculptures made by architect Bohdan Hretchak in 2010-2013.

The Way of the Cross complex also includes a cave temple, above which the figure of the Mother of God is installed, as well as the spring of the Virgin Mary.

Map pin icon Zamkova Street, 14 Lviv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей ткацтва та килимарства, Глиняни
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Weaving and Carpet Making Museum

Museum / gallery

The Museum of Weaving and Carpet Making was opened in 2016 in Hlyniany, which at the end of the 19th century became one of the centers of the development of weaving and carpet making in Halychyna, when the weaving factory "Tovarystvo tkatske" was founded here.

In interwar times, it became famous as Mykhailo Hamul's factory, which produced carpets based on the sketches of prominent Ukrainian modernist artists. After the Second World War, it became the factory of art products "Victory". Until it closed in the mid-1990s, the factory produced carpets, tablecloths and bedspreads. In order to preserve the carpet-making traditions of Hlyniany, a multi-purpose educational and production complex "Mosaic" was created in Hlyniany, a part of which became the Museum of Weaving and Carpet-Making. The exposition presents carpets based on the drawings of artists Vasyl Tsyon, Pavlo Kovzhun, Sofiya Stryenska. Also on display is a carpet, which in 1947 refugees from Bukovyna exchanged for a bag of wheat to save themselves from starvation.

Workshops on weaving and carpet making are held on the basis of the museum.

The Museum of Weaving and Carpet Making in Hlyniany is a subdivision of the Historical and Local History Museum of Vynnyky. The exhibition will soon move to a new premises at Svyatoho Mykolaya Street, 10.

Map pin icon Tarasa Shevchenko Street, 36 Hlyniany

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Пам'ятник Юрію Кульчицькому, Львів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Yuriy Kulchytskyi Monument

Monument

A monument to the famous Galician Yuriy Kulchytskyi was opened in Lviv in 2013.

Yuriy Kulchytskyi, a native of the village of Kulchytsi, Sambir district, became famous during the Turkish siege of Vienna in 1683. Disguised as a Turk, he managed to sneak out of the besieged city through the Turkish camp and convey the news to the Allies, thanks to which the city received military aid, and the Turks were soon defeated at the Battle of Vienna.

According to legend, as a reward, Kulchytskyi asked to give him 300 bags of trophy Turkish coffee, which at that time was practically unknown in Europe. Having such a significant supply of product, the enterprising Galician opened the first coffee shop in Austria, "Under the Blue Flask". He is considered the inventor of the classic Viennese coffee recipe (with cream and sugar).

The people of Lviv are sure that Kulchytskyi also delivered coffee beans to Lviv, and since then coffee has become a cult drink in the city.

Map pin icon Danyla Halytskoho Square Lviv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Пам'ятник Юрію Змієборцю, Львів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Yuriy Zmiyeborts Monument (Deceased law enforcement officers)

Monument

The monument to Saint Yuriy (George) Zmiyeborts (the Snake Fighter) in Lviv is dedicated to law enforcement officers of Ukraine who died in the line of duty.

Installed in 1999 in the center of General Hryhorenko Square, next to the administration building of the Ministry of Internal Affairs.

The authors of the monument are sculptors Andriy and Volodymyr Sukhorski, architect Oleksandr Yarema.

The bronze monument depicts the canonical Yuriy Zmiyeborts on a saddled horse, impaling an attacking snake with a spear.

Map pin icon Henerala Hryhorenka Square Lviv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

ZAG Gallery, Львів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

ZAG Gallery

Museum / gallery

The Zenyk Art Gallery (ZAG ​​Gallery) in Lviv was opened in 2025 by the founder of the We and the World charitable foundation Zynoviy ​​Kozytskyi, dedicating it to the memory of his grandson Zenyk Kozytskyi Jr. According to the founder's idea, this is the first cultural space in Ukraine that combines art, accessibility and innovation.

The gallery's mission is to professionally present Ukrainian artists on the international stage, as well as to organize exhibitions of foreign artists in Lviv, which contributes to global cultural dialogue. There are modern exhibition halls, an art shop of Ukrainian brands, a book zone with selections of art literature, a 3D zone for interactive exhibitions.

The gallery's barrier-free space allows every visitor, including people with disabilities, to freely interact with art through interactive exhibitions, events and unique performances. The surrounding and internal spaces are adapted for wheelchair users. Information panels with Braille, audio guides, videos with subtitles are provided.

Educational and artistic events are held for different age groups, art therapy for veterans and socially vulnerable groups.

Map pin icon Shota Rustaveli Street, 7 Lviv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Жовківський замок, Жовква
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Zhovkva Castle Museum-Reserve

Castle / fortress , Architecture , Museum / gallery

Zhovkva Castle is an outstanding architectural monument of the Renaissance era, the main element of the fortification system of the "ideal city" of Zhovkva. The building is partially museumized, restoration is in progress.

The construction of the castle in Zhovkva began in 1594 by the city's founder Stanisław Żółkiewski, the author of the first project was Pavlo Shchaslyvy. The castle is quadrangular, with towers located at the corners, connected by covered galleries with two-story buildings. The entrance with the Serlian portal is fortified by a four-story tower. In the courtyard there is a palace and office premises. In 1606, the "Zvirynets" garden was built, in which bison, deer and fallow deer were bred for hunting.

At the end of the 17th century, Zhovkva Castle was the summer residence of the Polish king Jan III Sobieski, and became one of the richest royal palaces in Europe (in 1676, celebrations were held here in honor of Sobieski's victory over the Turks near Vienna). Hetman Ivan Mazepa and Tsar Peter I stayed in the palace. Later, the castle became the property of the city.

Until recently, various municipal institutions, a school and even residential apartments were located here.

Now the Zhovkva Castle Museum-Reserve is a branch of the Lviv National Art Gallery. A museum exposition has been opened in the Eastern Building, which acquaints visitors with the history of the city, the development of Zhovkiv fortifications, as well as outstanding personalities who lived or visited Zhovkiv. The new exposition is dedicated to the events of the Revolution of Dignity and the Russian-Ukrainian war.

The Frontal Building hosts the exhibition "Glory of the Family - Glory of the People: Militaris, Sacrum, Artis", which reveals key aspects of the history and art of Western Ukrainian lands of the 17th - early 19th centuries and demonstrates the multidimensional image of Zhovkva through the prism of military history, sacred art and cultural evolution.

The Guest Building of the castle is preparing for the opening of the exhibition "The Path of Creation. Sacred Sculpture of Eastern Galicia of the Late 17th - Early 19th Centuries", which will present the largest collection of Baroque sculpture in Ukraine.

Map pin icon Vicheva Square, 2 Zhovkva

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Functional temporarily unavailable