Attractions of Chortkiv district

Online travel guide to attractions and sights of Chortkiv district

Found 123 attractions

Chortkiv district

change

Sights categories

Available for

Availability settings

Clear filters

All attractions and sights of Chortkiv district

Музей театрального мистецтва Тернопільщини, Копичинці
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Museum of Theater Art of Ternopil region

Museum / gallery

The Kopychyntsi Theater Museum of Ternopil region was founded in 1968 on the initiative of Orest Savka, the director of the Bohdan Lepky Kopychynsky People's Amateur Drama Theater.

His collection of materials about the history of the theater life of the region became the basis of the exposition, which is located in 7 halls of the House of Culture. The exhibition tells about the origins of the birth of Ukrainian theater from the depths of the centuries, about the "Rus Conversation" theater society in Galicia from 1864-1924, about "Ternopil Theater Evenings" - the first professional stationary Ukrainian theater in Ternopil from 1915-1917, about the Kopychyna People's Drama Theater named after Bohdan Lepky.

Photographs, pictorial and graphic paintings, dolls, posters, sketches of scenery and costumes, models of scenery, theatrical costumes, furniture, etc. are presented.

There is a theater cafe at the museum.

Map pin icon Tarasa Shevchenko Street, 13 Kopychyntsi

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Церква Різдва Богородиці, Стінка
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Nativity of Holy Virgin

Temple , Architecture

The Church of the Nativity of the Holy Virgin in the village of Stinka was founded in 1797.

In 1921, a stone church was built on the site of the wooden temple.

A cross was erected in the church yard to mark the 1000th anniversary of the baptism of Rus.

The temple belongs to the community of the Orthodox Church of Ukraine.

Map pin icon Shyroka Street, 8 Stinka

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

No image
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Nativity of Holy Virgin Church

Temple , Architecture

The Church of the Nativity of Holy Virgin in Sydoriv was built in 1812 after the wooden church, founded in 1784, burned down.

According to legend, during the Second World War, local residents removed the bell from the bell tower and hid the bell, which they still cannot find.

Map pin icon Sydoriv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Церква Різдва Богородиці, Криниця
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Nativity of Holy Virgin Church

Temple , Architecture

The Greek Catholic Church of the Nativity of the Holy Virgin was built in the village of Krynytsia in 1863-1899 at the expense of Yuzefa Starshyska as a Roman Catholic church. The majestic temple in the neo-baroque style has a rich decoration.

In 1944, the church was closed by the Soviet authorities. Its premises were used as a warehouse.

At the end of 1989, the church was returned to the faithful. Since 1990, it has been a church of the Greek Catholic community.

Map pin icon Tarasa Shevchenko Street, 2 Krynytsia

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Природний заповідник "Медобори", Гримайлів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Nature Reserve "Medobory"

Museum / gallery , Reserve

The "Medobory" nature reserve is located on the territory of the Podillya Tovtry (Toltry) low-mountain ridge, which is a remnant of a barrier reef that formed 15-20 million years ago along the coast of the warm Galician (Sarmatian) Sea.

The chain of hills rises 50-60 meters, up to 100 meters above the valley of the Zbruch River. The highest point of the reserve is Mount Bohit (414 meters). The wooded part of the hills is rich in honey-bearing plants, hence the name Medobory. The flora of the reserve includes about 1,000 species, 44 of which are listed in the Red Book of Ukraine. The most common are oak, hornbeam and ash. Deer, roe deer, wild boar, fox, marten, badger, elk are found in the forests. Rare karst formations. Among the karst caves of the reserve, the most famous is "Pearl", which got its name due to the calcite balls on the walls, similar to pearls.

The nature museum of the "Medobory" reserve occupies one of the rooms of the administration building of the nature reserve in the village of Hrymailiv.

Planned tourist routes.

Map pin icon Adama Mitskevycha Street, 21 Hrymailiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Нова ратуша, Чортків
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

New City Hall

Architecture

The building of the new City Hall in Chortkiv was erected in 1926-1930, when the old town hall on Rynok Square ceased to accommodate the growing administrative apparatus of the magistrate.

The constructivist building with a low clock tower was built under the direction of the Polish architect Yuzef Kuntsevsky. In addition to the magistrate, the police and fire department were located here.

The New Town Hall building is now used for its intended purpose - it houses the Chortkiv City Council. The restored tower houses the Museum of Magdeburia and the Tourist Information Center.

A monument to Taras Shevchenko was erected on the square in front of the town hall.

Map pin icon Tarasa Shevchenko Street, 21 Chortkiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Нова синагога, Чортків
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

New Synagogue

Architecture

The new synagogue in Chortkiv was built in 1909 by the Viennese architect Hans Geldkremer.

At this place was the residence of Rabbi David Moshe Friedman, the founder of the Chortkiv Hasidic dynasty.

The building in oriental style is decorated with two side towers. In 1910-1914, the chief rabbi from Vienna or Paris held annual services here, which attracted Jews from many cities of Ukraine, Russia and Eastern Europe to Chortkiv.

Currently, the synagogue building houses a center for scientific and technical creativity and leisure for student youth.

Map pin icon Tarasa Shevchenko Street, 33 Chortkiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Стара ратуша, Чортків
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Old Town Hall

Architecture

The bright half-timbered building of the Old Town Hall with a clock tower and a weather vane in the shape of a rooster is the hallmark of Chortkiv. It is surrounded by wooden shopping arcades, which are still used for their intended purpose - they house shops and other commercial establishments.

The Old Town Hall in Chortkiv was built in 1905-1908 on the initiative of the then mayor Ludwik Noss. After the First World War, the newly built shopping arcades continued to be developed as a trade and administrative complex. Together with small shops, the magistrate was located here until the New Town Hall was built in the city.

The building is made in the half-timbered (frame) style, which is characteristic of the medieval architecture of the northern regions of Western Europe. The tower houses a Swiss clock with four dials, made in 1887 by the Munich firm "Johann Mannhardt". The clock mechanism is still in working order. It can be viewed during tours of the tower, organized by the Chortkiv Tourist Information Center.

The "Lemkivska Svitlytsia" cafe, located in the Old Town Hall, offers national Lemko dishes (after deportation from Poland, one of the large Lemko communities settled in Chortkiv).

Map pin icon Rynok Street, 20 Chortkiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Літературно-меморіальний музей Олени Кисілевської, Монастириська
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Olena Kysilevska Literary and Memorial Museum

Museum / gallery

The Olena Kysilevska Literary Memorial Museum was founded in 1999 in the writer's hometown of Monastyryska in the Ternopil region.

Prominent Ukrainian writer, journalist, publisher, socio-political and cultural-educational figure Olena Kysilevska was an activist of the women's movement in Galicia. While in exile, she headed the World Federation of Ukrainian Women's Organizations.

The Olena Kysilevska Room-Museum is located in the Monastyryska Central District Library. The museum exposition presents manuscripts of the writer's works, photographs, original documents, lifetime editions of her books "Impressions from the Road" (1910), "Shvaitsaria" (1933), "Ukrainian Peasant at Work: How to Work in Women's Sections WOT" (1942). .

The exposition is complemented by embroidered towels, tablecloths, shirts, spare parts, household items.

Map pin icon Taras Shevchenko Street, 18 Monastyryska

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Печера Оптимістична, Королівка
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Optymistychna Cave

Natural object , Active rest

The "Optymistychna" cave is the largest gypsum cave in the world (the length of the investigated part is more than 240 kilometers) and the third largest karst cave (after "Mamontova" in the USA and Sac-Actun in Mexico).

It is located southwest of the village of Korolivka. It was opened in 1965 by Lviv speleologists from the "Cyclops" club.

"Optymistychna" was called as a joke, because at first the colleagues evaluated the pioneers' chances of success very low and called them "optimists".

The cave is horizontal, the labyrinth of passages runs at a depth of 60-80 meters, the passageways are sometimes narrow and covered with clay. 10 relatively isolated cave areas were studied, which differ in the morphology of the passages, the color and structure of gypsum, the number and shape of crystals. There are stalactites and helictites.

Tourists can visit the "Optimistichna" cave only with special equipment accompanied by an experienced speleologist instructor.

In 2012, an art museum and a museum of secondary formations were opened in the cave.

Map pin icon Korolivka

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Склеп Пайгертів, Сидорів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Payhert Crypt

Architecture

The family crypt of the Payhert barons, the last owners of Sydoriv, is located in the old village cemetery.

The Payherts owned the village until 1939. Among them is the Polish poet Yuzef Payhert , who in 1840 built a palace in Sydoriv (not preserved).

The monumental crypt-mausoleum in the style of classicism impresses with its enormous size.

Map pin icon Tsentralna Street Sydoriv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Народний дім, Чортків
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

People's House

Architecture

The building of the People's House was built in Chortkiv on the eve of the First World War at the expense of the Polish community of the city.

The People's House served as a center for the development of culture and sports - the building had a theater stage and a sports hall. An amateur theater group and a military-sports society "Sokil" operated at the People's House.

Ukrainian actress and singer Kateryna Rubchakova (Kosakivna) took her first steps on the theater stage here. in her name, the Chortkiv district cultural center, which is now housed in the building of the People's House.

A monument to Kateryna Rubchakova is installed in front of the house.

Map pin icon Ivana Franka Street, 1 Chortkiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Петропавлівський костел, Постолівка
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Peter and Paul Church

Temple , Architecture

In the village of Postolivka, there is an old dilapidated church along the highway in the village cemetery.

The Neo-Gothic church of the 18th century was most likely built in honor of the holy Apostles Peter and Paul, as statues of the apostles have been preserved on both sides above the entrance.

Map pin icon Postolivka

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Аптека-музей Людвіка Носса, Чортків
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Pharmacy-Museum of Lyudvik Noss

Architecture , Museum / gallery

The two-story building of the "Bank Avansovyi" society opposite the Dominican Church of Saint Stanislav in Chortkiv was built in 1905 under the burgomaster Lyudvik Noss. It was in this building that Ludwik Noss, who was also a famous pharmacist, opened his second family pharmacy, the largest in Chortkiv.

Now it is a communal pharmacy No. 143, which now operates as a pharmacy-museum. The spirit of old pharmacy still reigns here, which is reflected in the furniture made by craftsmen from the Austrian city of Graz, the exquisite interiors and the progressive technological devices of that time. In particular, the know-how of that time was used to decorate the interiors - photos on porcelain, artistic forging, carved wood, concrete patterns.

In addition to factory medicines, visitors are offered some products created according to the century-old recipes of Lyudvik Noss.

Map pin icon Stepana Bandery Street, 20 Chortkiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей політв'язнів "Меморіал", Бучач
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Political Prisoners Museum "Memorial"

Museum / gallery

The Museum of Political Prisoners "Memorial" named after Vasyl Stus was opened in Buchach in 1990 in the basement of the former KGB building, where the pre-trial detention center was located in Soviet times.

The exhibition presents documents, photographs and personal belongings related to the events of the OUN-UPA liberation struggle and Stalinist repressions. It was established that more than 1,500 residents of the district died at the hands of Stalin's executioners in those years. Some of the dead were buried in the basements of the Intercession Church.

Map pin icon Halytska Street, 25 Buchach

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Functional temporarily unavailable