Attractions of Kremenets district

Online travel guide to attractions and sights of Kremenets district

Found 41 attractions

Kremenets district

change

Sights categories

Available for

Availability settings

Clear filters

All attractions and sights of Kremenets district

Будинки-близнюки, Кременець
3.25
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
1

Twin Houses

Architecture

Twin Houses in Kremenets are unusual in terms of architecture, a residential building in the Baroque style.

It consists of two symmetrical parts, which are covered with separate gable roofs and differ slightly from each other in design details.

According to legend, twin brothers once lived here.

Restoration is planned.

Map pin icon Medova Street, 3 Kremenets

Rating

User icon
1
3.25
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей Арсена Річинського, Кременець
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Arsen Richynskyi Museum

Museum / gallery

The Arsen Richynskyi Museum was founded in 2004 at the Kremenets Medical School, which bears the name of this outstanding Ukrainian public, political and church figure, composer, photographer, local historian, founder of Ukrainian ethnology of religion, and doctor. The museum was opened in 2008.

The museum's exposition contains numerous and interesting historical documents, books, and photographs that illustrate the life path of this extraordinary personality. The author of most of the photographs displayed on the museum stands is Arsen Richynskyi himself, as he was a professional photographer. The captions to the photographs are his own.

Map pin icon Yuliusha Slovatskoho Street, 12 Kremenets

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Данилів град (Гора Стіжок)
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Danyliv Hrad (Stizhok Mountain)

Historic area , Temple , Architecture , Natural object

The remains of the fortification of Danyliv Hrad with a stone church of the 13th century are located on the steep Stizhok (or Trinity) mountain on the eastern outskirts of the village of Stizhok.

The city was surrounded by three concentric circles of earthen embankments, fortified with wooden and later stone walls. The Trinity Church, located in the center, also performed defensive functions. According to legend, the fortress was founded in 1201 by Prince Roman Mstyslavych, who named it in honor of his son Danylo, but according to other sources, the city existed even earlier - from the 10th century.

In 1240, Danyliv Castle was among the three Volyn cities that Khan Baty was able to attack. However, in 1261, according to the agreement between the Volyn prince Vasylko Romanovych and the khan's jailer Burunday, the fortress was demolished, and since then it has not been restored.

Only the Trinity Church has survived. In 1551, it was reconstructed. Saint Iov of Pochayevskyi gave her special patronage. On the eastern side of the mountain, the remains of an ancient hermit cave monastery of the 10th-12th centuries, contemporaneous with the princely castle, have been preserved.

Map pin icon Danylova Mountain tract Stizhok

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей історії освіти "Волинські Афіни", Кременець
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Education History Museum "Volyn Athens"

Museum / gallery

The Museum of the History of Education "Volyn Athens" was established in Kremenets in 2024. It is a structural unit of the Taras Shevchenko Kremenets Regional Humanitarian and Pedagogical Academy.

The museum includes: "Museum of the History of Education", "Scientific Laboratory "Creativity of Ulas Samchuk and Borys Kharchuk: Artistic Chronicle of the 20th Century", "Mazurok Educational and Methodological Center", "European Linguistic and Didactic Educational Hub for the Study of Languages ​​and Cultures", "Gallery of the Founding Fathers of Educational Institutions of the City of Kremenets", etc.

The museum exposition reflects all stages of the history of the Academy.

Map pin icon Litseina Street, 1 Kremenets

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Богоявленський монастир, Кременець
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Epiphany Monastery

Temple , Architecture

The Kremenets Orthodox Epiphany Monastery, founded in the 17th century, now occupies the premises of the Catholic monastery of the reformers built in 1760 by Stanislav Potocki.

It was at the Epiphany Monastery in 1633 that the first school, printing house and hospital were created in Kremenets. The monastery received the blessing of Metropolitan Petro Mohyla. In 1638, the brother's printing house published one of the first Church Slavonic textbooks - "Kremenetska Grammar". Later, the school was transformed into a Jesuit collegium, and the Epiphany Monastery received its current premises after the liquidation of the Greek-Catholic Union in 1832.

At the beginning of the 20th century, a three-tier bell tower was erected over the Holy Gate. The fraternal Saint Nicholas church-parochial school operated at the monastery. In 1959, the monastery was closed, and in 1990 it was revived as the Epiphany Convent of the Orthodox Church of the Moscow Patriarchate.

Map pin icon Dubenska Street, 2 Kremenets

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Церква Воздвиження Чесного Хреста, Кременець
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Exaltation of Holy Cross Church

Temple , Architecture

The Church of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross of the Lord in Kremenets is located opposite the Epiphany Monastery.

It was built in the 19th century without a single nail in the so-called "Volyn" style. The fire of 1942 almost completely destroyed all the wooden houses and shrines of Kremenets. Only the Orthodox Church of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross survived.

The Church of the Ascension belongs to the Orthodox Church of Ukraine.

Map pin icon Dubenska Street, 4 Kremenets

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Божа гора, Великі Бережці
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

God's Mountain

Historic area , Temple , Natural object

God's Mountain is called Ostanets Mountain, which is located near the village of Velyki Berezhtsi near Kremenets on the territory of the Medobory Reserve, but is separated from the Kremenets Ridge by the Ikva River.

The height of the God's mountain above sea level is 366 meters. The mountain is covered with a forest with abundant vegetation. A path of health leads to the mountain, where there are several shrines. Under the very top is the Life-giving Spring, transformed into a well.

According to legend, in ancient times there was a monastery on this place. When the Tatars covered it, and the defenders of the shrine began to suffer from thirst, an image of the Mother of God appeared to them, and a healing spring gushed out of the ground at this place. Near the source is the hermit monk's cave with healing clay, over which the wooden church of the Icon of the Mother of God is built.

At the highest point of God's Mountain, on the site of the chapel with the footprint of the Mother of God, which was destroyed in the 1950s, a wooden church of the Holy Trinity and a platform for viewing the surroundings were recently built. Under the temple there is a system of caves of the 13th century monastic Siktus.

Map pin icon Velyki Berezhtsi

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Церква святого апостола Андрія Первозванного, Старий Олексинець
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Holy Apostle Andrew the First-Called Church

Temple , Architecture

The Church of the Holy Apostle Andrew the First-Called was built in Staryi Oleksynets in 1756 as a castle church. Later, it was rebuilt as an Orthodox Saint Andrew's Church.

Belongs to the community of the Orthodox Church of Ukraine.

Map pin icon Shkilna Street Staryi Oleksynets

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Свято-Успенська Почаївська лавра, Почаїв
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Holy Assumption Pochaiv Lavra

Temple , Architecture

The Holy Assumption Pochaiv Lavra is one of the largest shrines of the Orthodox world, the second most important on the territory of Ukraine after the Kyiv-Pechersk Lavra.

Legend attributes the founding of the first skete to the Athos monk Methodius. Around 1240, Kyiv monks appear on Pochaiv Hill in the neighborhood, escaping from the Tatar invasion (the name is associated with the Pochayna River, where Prince Volodymyr baptized the people of Kyiv). According to legend, a sign from above was the appearance of the Mother of God in a pillar of fire. The imprint of the Virgin Mary's foot remained on a stone, from under which a healing spring flowed.

Today, the relics are inside the grand Assumption Cathedral (1783, architect Gottfried Hoffmann). In the main altar, there is a miraculous icon of the Mother of God, donated to the monastery in 1597 by its founder - landlady Anna Hoyska. The parishioners want to attach themselves to the relics of Saint Iov, who was the abbot of the monastery during the confrontation with the Union in the 17th century.

The current magnificence of the laurel is largely due to the donations of Kaniv's elder Mykola Potoski, it was supported by the Russian tsars.

Excursions are conducted, visitors should dress appropriately: men in pants, women in skirts and with their heads covered (scarves and skirts can be rented).

The monastery is leased by the UOC of the Moscow Patriarchate.

Map pin icon Lavrska Street, 8-9 Pochaiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Свято-Духівський монастир (Скит), Почаїв
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Holy Spirit Pochaiv Monastery

Temple , Architecture

The Holy Spirit Pochaiv monastery was revived in the place where the monk Methodius, who came from Athos, who is considered the founder of the Pochaiv Lavra, settled in the 13th century.

The Holy Spirit Pochaiv monastery complex includes three churches: the Holy Spirit, Saint Seraphim of Sarov and All Saints. There is a miraculous icon, the relics of Saint Methodius and other shrines.

Belongs to the UOC of the Moscow Patriarchate.

Map pin icon Lypova Street, 51 Pochaiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей Івана Марчука, Ланівці
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Ivan Marchuk Museum

Museum / gallery

Lanivtsicity communal institution "Ivan Marchuk Museum" was created in 2011. It includes the Museum-room of Ivan Marchuk in his native village of Moskalivka near Lanivtsi.

The Marchuk Museum is being created directly in Lanivtsi since 2020 in the former premises of the "Suputnyk" cinema in the center of the city. It should be a modern museum with an art gallery, a creative workshop and an area for installations.

Map pin icon Nezalezhnosti Street, 15 Lanivtsi

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей Івана Марчука, Москалівка
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Ivan Marchuk Museum

Museum / gallery

The Ivan Marchuk Museum was created in 2010 in the premises of the Moskalivka elementary school in the artist's homeland - in the village of Moskalivka village near Lanivtsi. The institution is a subdivision of the Lanivtsi city communal institution "Ivan Marchuk Museum".

People's Artist of Ukraine Ivan Marchuk was born in Moskalivka in 1936 in the family of a local weaver, graduated from a seven-year rural school. Subsequently, he studied at the Lviv School of Applied Arts named after Ivan Trush. Today, the master's creative output includes about 5,000 paintings, which are exhibited in museums on all continents of the world.

For a long time, the museum in Moskalivka was the only Ivan Marchuk museum in Ukraine. It was started by enthusiastic local teachers in one school room with the personal assistance of the artist. Later, the exhibition expanded.

Now the museum has two exhibition halls where some of Ivan Marchuk's personal belongings, documentary materials about the artist's life in Moskalivka, his creative path and world recognition are presented. For some time, the museum exhibited more than 40 original Marchuk paintings, but now only reproductions can be seen. Excursions are conducted by schoolchildren.

Map pin icon Ivana Marchuka Street, 3 Moskalivka

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Кременецький краєзнавчий музей, Кременець
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Kremenets Local Lore Museum

Museum / gallery

The first museum in Kremenets called Muzeum Ziemi Krzemienieckiej emerged as part of the Kremenets Lyceum.

Currently Kremenets Museum of Local Lore there are 65,000 exhibits. It is located in the building of the former seminary. Archaeological finds, numismatic collections, ancient weapons, household items, handicrafts, the first editions and personal belongings of the Polish poet Yuliush Slovatsky and other famous Kremenets residents are presented in 10 halls.

Map pin icon Tarasa Shevchenko Street, 90 Kremenets

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Меморіальний комплекс-музей "Молотківська трагедія", Молотків
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Memorial Complex-Museum "Molotkiv Tragedy"

Museum / gallery , Monument

The Molotkiv Tragedy Museum Complex was opened in 1985 as the central part of the memorial complex in memory of the 617 civilians of the village who were killed, burned alive and murdered by the German fascists on April 29, 1943. The authors of the project are architect Ivan Osadchuk and sculptor Borys Rudy.

Between two large earthen ramparts symbolizing a mass grave, the road leads to the symbolic Death Street - the street of the burned village, which in turn leads to the Molotkiv Tragedy Museum. On both sides of it are burned houses, red floors the color of blood.

The museum's exposition includes a diorama "Burning of the Village" (artist Stepan Nechai), fragments of a burned house: burnt doors, charred cradle and icon, etc. (design by Bohdan Boshko and Stepan Mamchur), a Book of Memory containing the memories of Molotkiv residents about the tragedy. On the stands are photographs and lists of those executed in Molotkiv and neighboring villages. The exhibits collected here tell about the history of the village, the participation of its residents in World War II.

Map pin icon Tsentralna Street, 44 Molotkiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей митрополита Якова, Лосятин
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Metropolitan Yakiv Panchuk Museum

Museum / gallery

A museum in honor of Metropolitan of Lutsk and Volyn Yakiv (Panchuk) was opened in 2013 in the village of Losiatyn, where the bishop was born. The museum is located in the courtyard of the church of Archpriest Michael.

The museum's exposition illustrates the life and activities of the Metropolitan Archpastor, the developer of the Ukrainian local church.

Map pin icon Taras Shevchenko Street, 33 Losiatyn

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Functional temporarily unavailable