Українська
русский [страна агрессор]
Attractions of Ukraine
Attractions of Lviv region
Found 469 attractions
Lviv region
Open map
Available for
Availability settings
Temple , Architecture
The Church of the Holy Apostles Peter and Paul in the city of Komarno was founded in 1848 on the site of an old wooden church.
After the First World War, the Peter and Paul Church was reconstructed in 1929 according to the project of the architect Vasyl Nahirniy.
Sichovykh Striltsiv Street, 3 Komarno
Rating
Add to favorites
Add to route
Architecture
The corner one-story building at the intersection of Mykola Mikhnovsky Street and Mykola Hohol Street in Stryi differs from the surrounding typical buildings of the late 19th and early 20th centuries with bas-reliefs and sculptures on the facades.
Since 1952, the sculptor Kostyantyn Levchenko, the author of more than a hundred sculptures, has lived here, some of which are exhibited in museums in Canada, France, the Czech Republic, Romania and Ukraine, in particular in the Stryi Museum of Local Lore "Verkhovyna".
Levchenko's house houses 12 of his sculptures, including "Jesus Christ", "Donechka", "Taras Shevchenko", "John Paul II", "Mykola Hohol", "Mother of God", "Sich Riflemen" and others.
Mykoly Mikhnovskoho Street, 10 Stryi
Palace / manor , Architecture
The eclectic palace of the Semensky-Levytsky count family in Lviv was built in 1849 on the site of an old manor of the 18th century.
The ambassador of the Galician Diet, Konstyantyn Semenskyi, ordered the project from the Prussian architect Fryderyk Bauman. In 1877, the architect Otto Wagner rebuilt the palace in the French Baroque style by order of the privy councilor Stanislav Kostka Semenskyi-Levytskyi. The facade and interiors were decorated by the sculptor Petro-Vitalis Harasymovych.
The palace has side wings and a large courtyard. To the east of the main gate is the entrance to the stables and arena, decorated with two horse heads (Stanislav Kostka Semenskyi-Levytskyi was the president of the Galician Horse Breeding Commission).
Today, the building houses a boarding school.
Pekarska Street, 19 Lviv
The wooden Church of the Sending of the Holy Spirit in Verkhnia Rozhanka was built in 1804 by master Mykhaylo Bylen. This is a vivid example of sacred architecture of the Boyko type, an architectural monument of national importance. It is part of the "original Carpathian trinity" (churches in Skole, Verkhnia Rozhanka and Isai).
The previous church on this site existed in the 18th century. The date of construction of the current church is indicated by a carved inscription in Polish to the right of the main door: "Cerkiew zbudowana 9 juny 1804". In 1891, the temple was restored and painted. Restoration and replacement of the shingle covering was carried out in 1969 and 1977.
The church is three-log, built of spruce beams on the same spruce foundations. The tops are crowned with octagonal tents, completed with crowns. The church is surrounded by a wide porch, resting on the outcroppings of log cabin crowns.
The gilded iconostasis of 1891, made by the carver Heinrich Heiche, is preserved in the interior. The walls of the church are covered with his oil paintings, restored in 1969.
During Soviet times, the church was closed. In 1987, by decision of the Lviv Regional Council, it was transferred to the ownership of a religious community. Then the church was restored, repaired, the walls and ceilings were painted.
Tarasa Shevchenko Street, 65 Verkhnia Rozhanka
The Roman Catholic Church of the Seven Sorrows of the Virgin Mary was built in 1892.
Before that, there was a wooden church in Skole from the 17th century. The new stone Catholic church was built according to the project of the architect Alfred Kaminobrodsky and was donated by the parishioners.
After the Second World War, the church was closed, the premises were used as a warehouse.
In 1994, the church of Seven Sorrows in Skole was re-consecrated and restored.
Markiyana Shashkevycha Street, 3 Skole
Natural object
Two oak trees in the center of the village of Dobriany were planted by local residents in 1914 on the occasion of the 100th anniversary of the birth of Taras Shevchenko.
Having decided at the general meeting to celebrate this date, the people of Dobriany instructed the most respected citizens of the village to plant three oak trees: Ivan Solonynka, Yosyp Biletsky, and Yosyp Fedun. In the autumn of 1914, when the village was on the front line, a bullet hit one of the oak trees and destroyed it. Therefore, only two trees remained.
In 1976, it was decided to install a commemorative plaque with a bas-relief image of Taras Shevchenko and fence the oak trees.
Tarasa Shevchenko Street Dobriany
The ancient building of the town storeroom (granary) is called Shpikhler in Drohobych. It was built in 1778 by order of the Austro-Hungarian authorities to store the city's grain stocks in case of a siege or natural disasters.
It is a massive structure 30 by 15 meters with very thick walls, a shingled roof and small dormer windows. The granary consisted of 4 tiers, on each of which a certain type of grain was stored: wheat, rye, oats, barley.
In Soviet times, the building was used as a military warehouse. Recently, a partial restoration has been carried out, and the creation of a museum is planned.
Mykhayla Hrushevskoho Street, 16 Drohobych
Museum / gallery
The museum of the Ukrainian politician and participant in the liberation struggle Yaroslava Stetsko was opened in 2009 in the premises of the school in the village of Yushkivtsi, where Hanna Muzyka, better known as Slava Stetsko, taught in her youth. The initiator of the creation of the museum was local historian Volodymyr Lahotskyi.
Hanna Muzyka ended up in Yushkivtsi in 1939, hiding from the NKVD. Here, she worked as a principal of an elementary school for two years, until she moved to Lviv to enter the university. Took an active part in the activities of the OUN. In 1945, she organized the evacuation abroad of the wounded deputy leader of the OUN Yaroslav Stetsko, whom she later married. She returned to her homeland after Ukraine gained independence, where she headed the KUN party and became a people's deputy.
The museum presents the personal belongings of Slava Stetsko and her husband Yaroslav Stetsko. The interior of her office in Kyiv was reproduced: a chair, a table, a telephone, a typewriter, flags and an icon. Among the personal belongings are an embroidered jacket and a coat. In the basement, the underground printing house that worked here since 1944 has been recreated. A model of the rebel kryivka (hideout) is also presented.
Slavy Stetsko Street, 1 Yushkivtsi
Art Museum "Human. Earth. "Universe" in Sokal was created in 1985 by the efforts of the family of Anatoliy ta Nataliya Pokotyuk, as well as Hryhoriy Kostyuchenko.
In 1990, the museum became a branch of the National Museum in Lviv, and since 1995 - a branch of the Lviv Museum of the History of Religion.
In ten museum halls, exposition exhibitions were opened: "Man and the Universe", "Holy Ukraine", "Jesus Christ - the greatest of the sons of mankind", "Under the protection of the Mother of God", "What is the truth", "In search of the truth", "Cosmic art", "Teaching of life - a call to the future", "Taras Shevchenko - an apostle of truth and a beacon of spirit", "Kyiv-Mohyla Academy".
The museum holds documents from the history of the Sokal region of the 17th-19th centuries, rare materials about the famous Ukrainian composer Viktor Matyuk (from the village of Tudorkovychi in the Sokal region), materials about the history of the churches of the Sokal region, spiritual educators and cultural figures, ceramics of the famous 19th century master Vasyl Shostopalets , samples of unique Sokal embroidery, household items of the 19th-20th centuries.
Andreya Sheptytskoho Street, 108 Sokal
The Sokalshchyna Museum was opened in 1981 to mark the 30th anniversary of Sheptytskyi's accession to Ukraine.
About 1000 exhibits: a unique collection of works of folk art, household items, antique furniture. The specificity of the museum's exposition is that it presents the folk art of Sokalshchyna region, very original and original, which testifies to the sophistication and talent of Sokalshchyna residents.
The exposition includes "Dobryachyn" black-and-white embroidered shirts, bouquets of spring flowers on "Zavyshenski" shirts. Sokalshchyna is famous for its masters of embroidery: black embroidery is a rarity of the museum, each shirt is an exclusive product, and no ornament is repeated. Samples of wedding costumes impress with their sophistication - in one shirt the master used 6-7 different techniques.
The pride of the museum is an exhibition of unique samples of black ceramics and unique Easter eggs by Taras Horodetsky. Also interesting is the interior of Sokalshchyna okal housing in the late XIX - early XX centuries.
Bohdana Khmelnytskoho Street, 16 Sheptytskyi
The Solomiya Krushelnytska Music and Memorial Museum is located in Lviv in the former house of the singer, which she bought in 1903, at the zenith of her creative career.
The museum was opened on the initiative of her niece Odarka Bandrovska in 1989 after the restoration of the house.
The singer's personal belongings, concert dresses, photos and documents are collected in the recreated interiors of the rooms. The exposition tells about Krushelnytska's childhood, the history of her artistic activity in Lviv, Vienna, Paris, Warsawa, Milan and other opera houses around the world.
Four additional rooms present unique artifacts that reveal the life and creative path of the outstanding opera singer, provide an opportunity to immerse yourself in the legacy of Solomiya Krushelnytska and feel the spirit of her era. These are rare photographs, theater posters and reviews, and manuscripts.
In total, the museum has 25 thousand exhibits in the main collection and about 16 thousand in the reserve collection.
Concerts are regularly held in the music salon of the museum.
Solomiyi Krushelnytskoyi Street, 23 Lviv
Sosnovsky Palace in Lviv is the name given to the profitable houses of the architect Yuzef Sosnovsky with elements of the Neo-Gothic and Neo-Romanesque styles, which were built in 1901 according to his own project. The sculptural design of the facades is attributed to Antoniy Popel.
The building resembles a medieval knight's castle and consists of two separate houses with separate entrances and stairwells.
Henerala Chuprynky Street, 50-52 Lviv
Stadium / sports complex
Arena Lviv Stadium was opened in 2011 as part of preparations for the European Football Championship Euro-2012.
This is one of the newest stadiums in Europe, which was built taking into account all UEFA requirements. The capacity of the stadium is almost 35,000 seats, including 14 VIP boxes. The construction of the arena seats is designed in such a way as to create the maximum effect of the presence of spectators on the field.
"Arena Lviv" has a natural lawn with modern systems of drainage, heating and automatic watering.
During mass events, guests are served by 19 fast food outlets located on the promenade, as well as 7 fast food outlets selling food and beverages on the outer perimeter of the stadium.
The arena has 4,500 parking spaces, of which 100 are for people with disabilities.
Excursions are held by prior appointment, during which visitors are shown the playing area, conference hall, footballers' block (dressing rooms, showers and massage rooms), flash zone, substitute benches, media tribunes, fan sectors, VIP area (restaurant and sky boxes) and the hall of the history of the stadium. Among the "highlights" of the excursion is the opportunity to sit in the seat of the famous football player Ronaldo, try on a T-shirt with the autograph of Andriy Shevchenko, look at the 3D model of the stadium or take a photo with Svyatoslav Vakarchuk.
Stryiska Street, 199 Lviv
The Memorial Museum of Stanislav Lyudkevych was opened in 1995 in the composer's house in Lviv on the initiative of his wife, art critic Zenoviya Shtunder.
The two-story building was built in the second half of the 1950s. Ms. Zenoviya allocated the second floor of the house she inherited for the museum and began working at the museum as a senior research associate.
The interiors of the composer's office and his bedroom have been preserved in two exhibition rooms. In the third room, editions of the composer's musical works, family photos, and objects of fine art are exhibited.
The Stanislav Lyudkevych Memorial Museum is a department of the Solomiya Krushelnytska Memorial Music Museum. An artistic memorial table with a high-relief of the composer is installed on the facade of the building.
Stanislava Lyudkevycha Street, 7 Lviv
Castle / fortress , Architecture
Stare Selo Castle is one of the largest strongholds of Galicia.
A powerful stone fortification in the middle of a swampy area was built in 1584-1589 by the princes of Ostrozky to protect the south-eastern approaches to Lviv.
Architect Amvrosiy Prykhylny used the style of the Eastern European late renaissance. The castle with an area of about 2 hectares was surrounded by 8-meter walls in the shape of an irregular triangle, at the corners of which there were six defense towers 14-16 meters high with baroque carvings (3 of them have been preserved).
In 1648, the castle was taken by the troops of Bohdan Khmelnytskyi, in 1672 it withstood the Turkish siege.
At the beginning of the 18th century, the Stare Selo Castle belonged to Adam Mykolay Senyavskyi, who moved his arsenal here from Lviv. In the 18th and 19th centuries, it was owned by the Chartoriysky and Potocki. The last owner, Alfred Potocki, turned the castle into a brewery, after which it began to decline.
In 2010, the architectural monument was given a long-term concession to a private investor under the conditions of restoration and creation of a recreational complex, but the ruins of the castle still remain in a neglected state. In 2023, the court terminated the concession agreement with the private company and returned the Stare Selo Castle to state ownership.
Access is free.
Pidzamche Street Stare Selo