Attractions of Ukraine

Right arrow

Attractions of Lviv region

Attractions of Lviv region

Online travel guide to attractions and sights of Lviv region

Found 469 attractions

Lviv region

change

Sights categories

Available for

Availability settings

Clear filters

All attractions and sights of Lviv region

Природознавчий музей, Львів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

State Museum of Natural History

Architecture , Museum / gallery

The State Museum of Natural History of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine in Lviv is considered one of the oldest natural history museums in Europe.

Founded in 1870 by the naturalist-collector, count of Ukrainian origin Volodymyr Didushytsky in a reconstructed building in the early neoclassicism style of the early 19th century. In 1880 Didushytsky donated the museum to the Lviv community, and since 1940 it has been under the jurisdiction of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine.

Since 2013, the State Natural History Museum has been creating a new main exhibition "Symphony of Life", the paleontological part of which was opened in 2019 under the name "Ice Age". Among the most interesting exhibits: skeletons of a mammoth and woolly rhinoceros from the ozocerite deposit in Starun, bones of other fossil animals, a Cro-Magnon figure of the late Stone Age, reconstruction of a primitive man's dwelling. The exhibition is complemented by interactive multimedia kiosks.

A kind of museum exhibit is the oldest operating mechanical elevator in Ukraine, equipped back in 1870 by Count Didushytsky, who was partially paralyzed in old age and moved in a wheelchair. For the smallest visitors, there is an interactive children's area.

Map pin icon Teatralna Street, 18 Lviv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Будинок Стефана Баторія, Самбір
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Stefan Batory's Hunting House

Architecture

The hunting house of the Polish king Stefan Batory in Sambir was built in the 16th century on the territory of the royal Sambir castle, which was located south of the city center.

Later, a complex of buildings of the current district hospital was built on the castle ramparts. The house of Stefan Batory was adapted for the hospital church of Saint Panteleymon.

Map pin icon Shpytalna Street, 12 Sambir

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей Степана Бандери, Воля-Задеревацька
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Stepan Bandera Manor-Museum

Museum / gallery

The manor-museum of Stepan Bandera in the village of Volia-Zaderevatska was opened in the house where Andriy Bandera, the father of the OUN leader, lived in 1933-1936.

During these years, Andriy Bandera served as a priest in the church of Saint Archangel Michael in Volia-Zaderevatska, engaged in legal and underground activities. Stepan Bandera used to come to him on vacation.

Later there was a school in this building.

The museum was founded in the first years of Ukraine's independence by Bandera's sister's friend Anna Ivaniv. In the first room - the pedigree of the Bander family. In the second, there is a chapel where Stepan's father baptized children. In the third room there are documents, photographs, leaflets of the OUN-UPA.

A park named after Stepan Bandera has been laid near the house. The reconstructed hiding place is a disguised refuge of the rebels.

Map pin icon Volia-Zaderevatska

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей Степана Бандери, Дубляни
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Stepan Bandera Museum

Museum / gallery

The Stepan Bandera Museum in Dublyany is located in one of the premises of the Lviv National Agrarian University, on the second floor of the main building. It was founded in 1999 on the initiative of the university’s rector Volodymyr Snitynsky.

In 1928-1933, when it was a branch of the Lviv Polytechnic, the future leader of the OUN, Stepan Bandera, studied here at the Faculty of Agriculture and Forestry. He was arrested there for political activity.

The museum exposition highlights the theme of the national liberation struggles of the Ukrainian people in the 20th century, the period of Stepan Bandera’s studies, his participation in the Ukrainian national life of the region and his high political activity. Photographs, literary works, and several pages from the personal file of the ideologist of Ukrainian nationalism are presented.

The main building also houses the Museum of the History of the Lviv National Agrarian University. Its exposition tells about the most important stages of the educational institution's activity in Dublyany, namely: Agricultural School (1856–1878); Higher Agricultural School (1878–1901); Agricultural Academy (1901–1919); as part of Lviv Polytechnic (1919–1947); Lviv Agricultural Institute (1947–1996); The University today.

Map pin icon Volodymyra Velykoho Street, 1 Dubliany

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Стільське городище
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Stilsko Settlement

Archaeological site

The ancient Stilsko Settlement (Hillfort) with an area of 250 hectares is located on a high plateau between the villages of Stilsko, Iliv and Dubrova. In the 8th-10th centuries, the capital of the chronicled captives of the White Croats, who are considered the ancestors of today's Galicians, was located here.

White Croatia is mentioned for the first time in the book "On the management of the empire" by the Byzantine emperor Constantine the Red-headed. In 981-992, the principality of the Croats was annexed to Kyivan Rus by Grand Duke Volodymyr Svyatoslavych. Stilsko was destroyed and the level of the city did not rise again. In Byzantine sources of the 16th century, Stilsko is mentioned as the center of the Galician metropolis.

Since 2015, the archaeological sites of Stilsko and its surroundings have been part of the Historical and Cultural Reserve "Stilsko Settlement".

The center of the hillfort with a cubit surrounded by defensive ramparts is located on a hill rising above the church of Saint Paraskeva in the eastern part of the village. The names of the tracts "Golden Gate" and "Prince Well" remind us of the ancient buildings of the settlement.

In the nearby village of Dubrova, there are centers of pagan cults of the Stilsko settlement: the Temple of the Sun (or Sacrificial Stone, Dyriavets) and the cave cult complex of the White Croats. The latter is a rock with hollowed-out caves, in which, probably, the ministers of the pagan cult lived first, and then the Christian monks. Nowadays, local residents have turned the cells into cellars, installed doors, hung locks and store food in them.

Another ancient sanctuary is located in the village of Iliv.

Map pin icon Zarichna Street Stilsko

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Страдецька печера, Страдч
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Stradch Cave

Temple , Historic area

Stradch cave near the village of Stradch is one of the main shrines of Ukrainian Greek Catholics.

According to legend, the cave monastery on Stradch Hill was founded in the 11th century by monks coming from Kyiv. According to one of the versions, the monastery is mentioned in the Ipatiev Chronicle as the Cave of Domazhiriv (the village of Domazhiriv is located nearby). The monastery consisted of an entrance gallery with a length of 40 meters, corridors with a total length of 270 meters and several cells located at a depth of 20 meters. At the top of the mountain there was a fortified settlement.

During the Mongol-Tatar invasion, the inhabitants of the surrounding settlements hid in the caves. Once the Tatars discovered the monastery and ordered the monks to betray the people who were hiding. When they refused, the monks were killed, big fires were lit at the cave entrances, and all the people suffocated from the smoke. They say that after hearing the pleas of the dying, the Mother of God descended from heaven, stood before the Tatars and said: "Don't touch! The wall!". Because the dark will has power only over bodies, but not over Christian souls.

In the 15th century, the Stradch Pechersk Lavra was founded, the main shrine of which was the miraculous icon of the Stradch Mother of God of the Immovable Wall (a copy has been preserved). Since the 16th century, the Stradch monastery has been known as the Basilian monastery.

In 1936, the Way of the Cross was founded on Stradch Hill, which was granted the status of Jerusalem by Pope Pius XI.

Visiting the cave temple is free, but it is advisable to have a flashlight with you.

Map pin icon Stradetska Hora Street, 53 Stradch

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Стрийська синагога, Стрий
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Stryi Great Synagogue

Temple , Architecture

The Great Synagogue in Stryi was built in 1817. The bars of the gate are made in the shape of a menorah.

In Soviet times, it was a food warehouse. Currently, the synagogue building is in a dilapidated state, and restoration is not planned yet.

Map pin icon Yuriya Lypy Street, 3 Stryi

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Стрийська гімназія, Стрий
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Stryi Gymnasium

Architecture

The building of the former Stryi gymnasium was built at the beginning of the 19th century, although the gymnasium itself was opened only in 1872 as the Stryi Imperial Higher Real School.

In 1919-1927, the future leader of the OUN, Stepan Bandera, and other notable persons studied here.

Today it is the Stryi Lyceum No. 7. A monument to Stepan Bandera is installed in front of the building.

Map pin icon Filareta Kolessy Street, 12 Stryi

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Стрийський парк, Львів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Stryiskyi Park

Park / garden

Stryiskyi Park is one of the oldest and most beautiful parks in Lviv, a monument of garden and park art of national importance.

Before World War II, it was considered one of the most beautiful parks in Poland.

Founded in 1879 by Arnold Rehring on the site of the cemetery. Now it occupies an area of 56 hectares. It consists of three parts: the zone of the lower parterres (at the bottom of the beam), the forest park zone (on the slopes of the beam), the upper terrace.

The Lviv Children's Railway, a monument to Yan Kilinsky (participant of the Polish uprising under the command of Tadeush Kostyushko) and a monument to Ukrainian football (in honor of the victory of the Lviv club "Sokil" over the Krakow team) are located in Stryiskyi Park.

Stryiskyi Park also boasts a decorative pond and beautiful alleys.

Free entrance.

Map pin icon Stryiska Street, 15 Lviv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей історії міста, Судова Вишня
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Sudova Vyshnia City History Museum

Museum / gallery , Architecture

The Museum of the History of Sudova Vyshnia is located in the historical building of the People's House (XIX century).

In 1897, the writer Ivan Franko spoke here, as evidenced by the memorial plaque.

The museum exhibition includes 350 original exhibits that highlight the history of the city from ancient times to the present day.

In the archaeological collection: fragments of a mammoth tusk, flint axes, sickles, fragments of pottery, clay female figurines, etc.

A separate exposition is dedicated to the writer-polemicist Ivan Vyshenskyi, a native of Sudova Vyshnia.

Map pin icon Ivana Franko Square, 4 Sudova Vyshnia

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Свірзький замок, Свірж
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Svirzh Castle

Castle / fortress , Architecture , Museum / gallery

The Svirzh Castle in the Lviv region is a picturesque medieval building in the Renaissance style, a unique monument of defensive architecture of the XV-XVII centuries. The monument is part of the "Golden Horseshoe of Lviv region" tourist route.

It was originally built as a fortress, but after the reconstruction of the 17th century, it acquired the noble features of a magnate's residence. The first defensive structures on Mount Belz, surrounded by lakes and marshes, date back to 1484 (the ruins of the tower and grotto to the right of the entrance).

Svirzh Castle was first mentioned in documents in 1530, when it belonged to the Svirzhsky nobles. In the middle of the 17th century, it was rebuilt and significantly strengthened by Count Oleksandr Zetner, according to one version, inviting the famous fortification engineer Pavlo Hrodzytskyi from Lviv.

The castle with a defensive moat and a bridge is divided into two courtyards of different levels, surrounded by Renaissance towers and houses. Having become a comfortable residence, Svirzh Castle was able to withstand several Turkish sieges, but before that it was captured by the Cossack troops of Bohdan Khmelnytskyi.

He suffered greatly during the First and Second World Wars.

During Soviet times, the Svirzh Castle became the property of the Union of Architects as the House of Creativity, but the restoration was never completed. It is planned to transfer the castle to a private investor under concession conditions.

Map pin icon Persha Street Svirzh

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей Тараса Городецького, Шептицький
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Taras Horodetsky Museum

Museum / gallery

The city museum "Svitlytsya-Museum of Taras Horodetsky" was created in Sheptytskyi in 2014 for the 50th anniversary of the master's birthday on the initiative of the artist's follower, master-pysankar Yuliya Burko and with the support of the Independent Women's Society "Prozerok".

The Svitlytsya is located in the very center of Sheptytskyi, in the premises of the People's House of the city.

The museum's exposition is dedicated to the outstanding pysankar Taras Horodetsky, who was born in Sheptytskyi in 1964, and his creative achievements. Taras Horodetsky became interested in pysankar in the late 1980s and within 10 years became one of the most authoritative master-pysankars in the world. Today, his works are kept in private collections in many countries. When creating his miniature artistic masterpieces, Taras Horodetsky harmoniously combined ancient folk symbols, Trypillya symbolism, Sokal and Kosmach motifs.

The museum houses a rich collection of expertly painted eggs, reflecting the diversity of local craftsmen's skills. Every year, the museum hosts the All-Ukrainian Festival of Easter Egg Painting named after Taras Horodetsky.

Map pin icon Tarasa Shevchenko Avenue, 15 Sheptytskyi

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Пам'ятник Тарасові Шевченку, Львів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Taras Shevchenko Monument

Monument

The monument to the outstanding Ukrainian poet and public figure Taras Shevchenko was opened in the center of Lviv only in 1992.

The construction issue was resolved for 5 years, the winner was not determined at two design contests, and as a result of a compromise, it was decided to use the "relatively better" project of sculptors Volodymyr and Andriy Sukhorsky and architects Yuriy Dyba and Yuriy Khromey.

The monument was made in Argentina. The ceremonial opening took place on the anniversary of the adoption of the declaration of independence of Ukraine. After 4 years, the second element of the monument was opened - the 12-meter bronze "Wave of National Renaissance".

Map pin icon Svobody Avenue Lviv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей Тараса Шевченка ЛПМ, Львів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Taras Shevchenko People's Museum of the Lviv Arts Palace

Museum / gallery

The Taras Shevchenko People's Museum opened in Lviv in 2004 in the Lviv Arts Palace to mark the Kobzar's birthday.

The museum room contains thousands of exhibits donated by Lviv residents and guests of the city over the past twenty years. The collection is based on over 100 unique paintings by 26 artists who traveled along Shevchenko's path to Ukraine, Vilnius, St. Petersburg and Kazakhstan.

In total, today the collection includes about 7,000 volumes of books, over 5,000 paintings on the theme of Shevchenko, sculptures, a collection of numerous editions of "Kobzar", embroidered towels, folk clothing, a bandura by the famous Kobzar from Kaniv, Oleksa Chupryna, as well as a unique philatelic collection - Shevchenko in stamps and envelopes, including those issued by the underground post of Ukraine in 1961.

Map pin icon Mykoly Kopernyka Street, 17 Lviv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей Теодозії Бриж, Львів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Theodosia Bryzh Museum

Museum / gallery

The museum of the outstanding Ukrainian sculptor Theodosia Bryzh opened in 2000 in the workshop where she worked since 1954, after graduating from the Lviv Institute of Applied and Decorative Arts.

Honored artist of Ukraine Teodosia Bryzh created more than two hundred sculptures during her lifetime, including monuments and monuments, tombstones and park sculptures.

The museum exposition presents the entire range of her creative pursuits: from historical portraits to images of contemporaries, images of literary heroes, symbolic and metaphorical compositions, in total - more than a hundred works. A series of images from Lesya Ukrayinka's extravaganza drama "Forest Song" deserves special attention.

The museum retains the creative atmosphere of a workshop with a wooden table and bookshelves, sketches and photographs.

The Museum of Theodosia Bryzh is a branch of the Lviv National Art Gallery.

Map pin icon Lesya Martovycha Street, 5 Lviv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Functional temporarily unavailable