Attractions of Ukraine

Right arrow

Attractions of Lviv region

Attractions of Lviv region

Online travel guide to attractions and sights of Lviv region

Found 469 attractions

Lviv region

change

Sights categories

Available for

Availability settings

Clear filters

All attractions and sights of Lviv region

Музей "Третя після опівночі", Львів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Third After Midnight Museum

Museum / gallery

The Lviv branch of the museum in the dark "Third After Midnight" opened in 2023.

Here you can visit the exhibition "Art by touch" with a tour in complete darkness and accompanied by a blind guide. Such an excursion will give an opportunity to explore in a new way 25 exhibits representing famous works of architecture, painting and cinematography, which most people are used to perceive only visually.

Excursions in the dark are held for groups of up to 3 people and last 45 minutes. After that, visitors are offered to spend time with interesting activities in the recreation room – learn to write Braille, play sensory games, etc.

For children under 10 years of age, a team quest is offered, which allows you to learn interesting facts about the senses and understand the peculiarities of perception of the world by blind people.

In addition to the institution in Lviv, there is also a Third After Midnight Museum in Kyiv.

Map pin icon Lychakivska Street, 8 Lviv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Церква Святого Миколая, Нагуєвичі
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Transfer of relics of Saint Nicholas Church

Temple , Architecture

The Church of the Transfer of the Relics of the Saint Father Nicholas is the only wooden church preserved in Nahuievychi from pre-Soviet times.

The church was built in 1801 on the place where, according to legend, the ancient Bashiv monastery was located, burned by the Tatars in the 17th century. The temple is three-log, single-domed, very simple in architecture. Built by masters Ivan Panas and Ivan Dumak. A small three-tier bell tower is nearby.

Map pin icon Mykoly Frydera Street Nahuievychi

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Преображенська церква, Грімне
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Transfiguration Church

Temple , Architecture

The Church of the Transfiguration of the Lord in Hrimne has been known since 1471.

In its current form, the wooden Transfiguration Church was built in 1777.

The three-tier carved iconostasis has been preserved since the 19th century. The interiors are painted with oil.

Map pin icon Sichovykh Striltsiv Street Hrimne

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Преображенський костел, Добромиль
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Transfiguration of Lord Church

Temple , Architecture

The Roman Catholic Church of the Transfiguration of the Lord in Dobromyl was built in the 16th-17th centuries after a fire in 1535 destroyed the old wooden Catholic church.

Damaged during the Liberation War, the Transfiguration Church was thoroughly reconstructed in 1719 at the expense of Voytsekh Mykhalsky. Already in 1743, the owner of the city, Blazhey Krasynskyi, also carried out reconstruction, placing the coat of arms of his family on the church. The Transfiguration Church underwent another reconstruction in 1884.

In Soviet times, the church remained in use. Paintings of the 18th century have been preserved in the interior.

Map pin icon Zamkova Street, 63 Dobromyl

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Преображенська церква, Львів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Transfiguration of the Lord Church

Temple , Architecture

The Church of the Transfiguration of Our Lord Jesus Christ was built in Lviv in 1875-1898 according to the project of the architect Sylvester Havryshkevych on the site of the former Church of the Holy Trinity and the Trinitarian Monastery.

In 1783, the order of the Trinitarians was abolished by the Austrian authorities, and the monastery buildings were transferred to the university. Burnt during the bombardment of the city in 1848, the university buildings stood in ruins for a long time. It was decided to build the Church of the Transfiguration in their place. Well-known Lviv painters and sculptors Andriy Koverko, Teofil Kopystynskyi, Mykhaylo Osinchuk, Antin Pylykhovskyi, Tadey Popel, Leonard Markoni took part in the decoration of the church. The solemn consecration of the church took place in 1906.

After the Soviet authorities banned the Greek Catholic Church, for a long time the temple was under the jurisdiction of the Moscow Patriarchate of the Russian Orthodox Church.

In October 1989, the Transfiguration Church became the first shrine in Ukraine that was returned to the believers of the Ukrainian Greek-Catholic Church.

Map pin icon Krakivska Street, 21 Lviv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Дирекція скарбового уряду, Самбір
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Treasure County Government Directorate

Architecture

The pompous building of the Directorate of the Treasure County Government (the so-called "Treasure Directorate") was built in Sambir during the Austrian rule in the neo-Gothic style.

In Soviet times, a military hospital was located here. Currently, it is the building of the Sambir city district court.

Map pin icon Ivana Mazepy Street, 18 Sambir

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей історії курорту, Трускавець
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Truskavets Resort History Museum

Museum / gallery , Architecture

The museum of the history of the Truskavets resort is located in the center of the city in the "Sariush" villa, which is an architectural monument of the beginning of the 20th century.

Historical documents and everyday objects of the population of the Carpathian foothills are presented in 7 halls. The museum's exposition introduces the medieval Truskavets of the princely times and Polish kings, the noble Truskavets of the times of the Austro-Hungarian Empire and the Polish state, when the resort was founded and strengthened its positions in Europe, the resort town of Truskavets of the Soviet era and independent Ukraine, famous for its healing mineral waters, which have supported its well-deserved fame for almost 200 years.

In addition to the exhibition rooms, the museum has two exhibition halls, which organize various exhibitions of art and local history, as well as a large lecture hall, where cultural and educational events are held.

In 2012, on the eve of the Intercession and the 70th anniversary of the Ukrainian Revolutionary Army, a new exhibition "Insurgent Hideout" was opened in the basement of the museum, recreating the life and everyday life of Ukrainian insurgents in the deep underground.

Map pin icon maydan Sichovykh Striltsiv, 2 Truskavets

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Палац Туркулів-Комелло, Львів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Turkulo-Komello Palace

Palace / manor , Architecture

Neo-Gothic palace on Pekarska Street in Lviv, known as Turkulo-Komello Palace, built in 1840-1843. Count Henryk Didushytskyi.

The authorship of the project of the building in the early neo-Gothic style of the Venetian type is attributed to Fryderyk Bauman, a Polish architect of the Romantic era. Gothic elements here are large pointed arches and crucifixes. The main facade of the building, unfolding towards a small park, emphasizes a portico on two columns that support a balcony with lace railings, thanks to which the building resembles a romantic medieval house.

In the second half of the 19th century, the palace belonged to CountessFelitsiya Komello. In the 1920s and 1930s, the building was owned by lawyer Batytskyi, and his daughter, the artist Sofiya Batytska, was the first to be awarded the title of "Miss Polonia".

Map pin icon Pekarska Street, 50A Lviv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Заповідник "Тустань", Урич
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Tustan Historical and Cultural Reserve

Historic area , Castle / fortress

The Tustan fortress city is an ancient Rus rock defense complex that served as a border fortress and a customs post (the name is interpreted as an order to the traveler: "Tu stan!" (Stand!). Also known as "Dovbush Rock".

The first fortifications on the Rock of Kamin in the area of the current village of Urych were built by the White Croats in the 9th century. Wooden structures were inserted directly into the rock massif (grooves and cuts in the rock were preserved, which were reconstructed).

The Tustan fortress was an important stronghold of Kyivan Rus, later the Principality of Galicia-Volyn. In 1241, it was destroyed by the hordes of Khan Batiy, and in 1340 it was captured and rebuilt by the Polish king Kazymyr the Great as a royal fortress. Through it, salt mined in Drohobych and its surroundings was exported to Transcarpathia and Hungary. The last owner in the 16th century was the Polish magnate Blitsynsky, after which the fortress lost its importance and disappeared from the annals.

Remains of a stone wall, caves, stairs, a well and two water cisterns have been preserved. In 1994, the State Historical and Cultural Reserve "Tustan" was created, the Tustan History Museum operates.

Map pin icon Tarasa Shevchenko Street, 214 Urych

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей Тустані, Урич
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Tustan History Museum

Museum / gallery

The Tustan History Museum is located in the center of Urych, near the turn to the Tustan rock fortress, next to the Nicolas Church and the Prosvita People's House.

The museum was created in 1997 to store and exhibit archaeological finds made on the territory of the ancient Rus settlement.

Paintings and diagrams by the artist and archaeologist Mykhaylo Rozhko, a model of the fortress city and the reconstruction of the governor's chambers are also presented. "Tustan - the fifth construction period" model, which reproduces all three rocks of Tustan (Stone, Sharp Stone and Small Rock), multi-story wooden structure of the fortress, walls and towers.

A separate layout shows how the entrance gate mechanism is arranged.

Map pin icon Tarasa Shevchenko Street, 216 Urych

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Палац Тишкевичів, Броди
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Tyshkevych Palace

Palace / manor , Architecture

An elegant palace in the English style was built in Brody in 1909 by Countess Tyshkevych.

The Tyshkevych Palace is located in the suburb of Stari Brody, on the shore of a picturesque pond. A small two-story building with a colonnade is richly decorated with stucco. The interiors were not preserved.

Currently, the Brody State Forestry Farm is located here, which keeps the building and territory in order.

Map pin icon Nyzka Street, 15 Brody

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей визвольної боротьби України, Львів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Ukraine Liberation Struggle Museum

Museum / gallery

The Ukraine Liberation Struggle Museum is located in the historical building of the former Lviv Rifle Association (1869-1871), in the southern part of the Park "Znesinnya". Opened in 2012 on the occasion of the 70th anniversary of the Ukrainian Insurgent Army as a department of the Lviv Historical Museum.

The exposition in chronological order reveals the main stages of the struggle for an independent cathedral Ukrainian state and covers the period from the 19th to the end of the 20th century.

In particular, here you can learn about the activities of the sports organizations "Sokil" and "Sich", the purpose of which was to educate physically healthy and nationally conscious Ukrainian youth of Galicia and Bukovyna. The history and combat path of the Legion of Ukrainian Sich Riflemen are highlighted by documents, photographs and fragments of weapons found in the area of ​​the USS battles on Makivka Mount. In the exhibition about the Ukrainian Revolution of 1917-1921: samples of contemporary weapons, reconstruction of the military uniform of the Army of the Ukrainian People's Republic, the original coat of a soldier of the Ukrainian Galician Army, documents of the Central Council and banknotes of the Ukrainian People's Republic, etc.

A significant part of the exposition is dedicated to the activities of combat units of the Ukrainian Insurgent Army. In the interiors stylized as forest thickets, materials are presented about the main stages of formation and organizational structure of the UPA, the activities of the "Buh" Military District, senior and sub-senior schools, the medical service of the UPA, publishing and propaganda work. Of great interest is the section dedicated to the history of the Ukrainian Galicia Division: personal belongings of divisional members, commemorative combatant awards, camp publications.

The following expositions tell about the Bolshevik repressions in Western Ukraine, the Sixties movement, the activities of the Ukrainian Helsinki Group, the democratic processes of the late 1980s and the declaration of Ukraine's Independence.

The sectors of the Ukraine Liberation Struggle Museum are the Museum of UPA General Roman Shukhevych Museum (Lviv) and the Colonel Yevhen Konovalets Historical and Memorial Museum (Zashkiv).

Map pin icon Mykoly Lysenka Street, 23A Lviv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей УКУ, Львів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Ukrainian Catholic University Museum

Museum / gallery

The Museum of the Ukrainian Catholic University was founded in 2013, when the famous Lviv collector and philanthropist Ivan Hrechko donated his collection of folk art to the university.

The pearl of the collection is 65 Pokuttya, Hutsul and Bukovyna icons on glass from the 19th century, which is the largest known collection of this type of art. Also presented are Trinity candlesticks, hand-carved crosses, wooden sculptures, church books from the 17th - early 20th centuries, documents from the history of the church.

The folk costume section presents elements of traditional clothing from Pokuttya, Hutsulshchyna, Bukovyna, Podillya. Among them are horbatkas, kraykas, peremtkas, taystras and other authentic items.

The main Museum UCU exposition is located on the territory of the Lviv Theological Seminary of the Holy Spirit of the UGCC on Khutorivka Street. And in the main building of the university on Svyentsitskoho Street, 17 you can visit the Museum-room of Patriarch Yosyp Slipy, where, in particular, some of his personal belongings are presented.

Map pin icon Khutorivka Street, 35A Lviv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей шатаба Романа Шухевича, Грімне
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Underground Headquarters UPA Museum of General Roman Shukhevych

Museum / gallery

The museum of the UPA underground headquarters of General Roman Shukhevych was opened in 2007 in the village of Hrimne, where in 1947 the headquarters of the commander-in-chief of the Ukrainian Insurgent Army was located.

For several days, there was a conspiratorial apartment in the house of a local priest, where Shukhevych stayed with his closest entourage. Of them, only the liaison Dariya Husak, who initiated the creation of the museum, remained alive.

In the basement of the priest's house, a hideout of the rebels was discovered, covered with earth. Enthusiasts cleaned it and restored the interior.

Weapons of those times and personal belongings of the underground are presented. You can view the collection of documents, photographs and rebel posters printed here.

Map pin icon Sichovykh Striltsiv Street, 35 Hrimne

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей Романа Шухевича, Львів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

UPA General Roman Shukhevych Museum

Museum / gallery

The UPA General Roman Shukhevych Museum in Lviv was created in 2001 with the assistance and financial support of the Association of UPA Soldiers in the USA named after General Taras Chuprynka. It is a department of the Lviv Historical Museum, sector of the Ukraine Liberation Struggle Museum.

It is located in an old building on the territory of the former village of Bilohorshcha (now district of Lviv), where in 1950 the last headquarters of the UPA commander-in-chief was located.

The exposition on the first floor tells about the Shukhevych family, Roman Shukhevych's youth, his military and political activities and the armed struggle of the Ukrainian liberation movement. In particular, an autobiography written by Shukhevych's hand is presented, as well as objects related to his field activities.

The second floor of the museum reproduces the daily life of the UPA commander-in-chief in this underground apartment: stairs, living room, hiding place. It was here that on March 5, 1950, Roman Shukhevych's last battle with the MGB unit took place. In the room where Roman Shukhevych lived and worked, original furniture (a table, four chairs, an armchair) made in the mid-1930s in Western Europe, which was presented to the museum by the daughter of General Mariya Trylovska, is presented.

On January 1, 2024, the Roman Shukhevych Museum in Lviv was completely destroyed by a fire caused by a Russian air terrorist attack. The lost memorial items of Roman Shukhevych: a table, armchairs, an armchair, a piano, as well as a bust of Roman Shukhevych by Mykhaylo Chereshniovskyi and a sculpture of Stepan Bandera by Yaroslav Trotsko. The remaining approximately 600 pieces of exhibits from the beginning of the full-scale Russian-Ukrainian war were moved to another place.

Map pin icon Bilohorshcha Street, 76A Lviv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Functional temporarily unavailable