Українська
русский [страна агрессор]
Attractions of Ukraine
Attractions of Cherkasy region
Found 240 attractions
Cherkasy region
Open map
Available for
Availability settings
Historic area , Monument
A Hlybokiy Yar (Deep Ravine) on the southwestern edge of the village of Vyhraiv is the site of the famous Korsun battle in 1648.
In this battle, the Cossack army of Hetman Bohdan Khmelnytskyi defeated the Polish troops of Hetman Mykolay Potoski, imposing a battle in unfavorable conditions for the Polish cavalry in rugged wooded terrain. The ambush arranged in Hlyboky Yar by the Cossack regiment of Maksym Kryvonos was of decisive importance. After this victory, the village was renamed Vigraiv, and the ravine was also called Rizany.
Remains of trenches dug by Maksym Kryvonos' Cossacks, preparing for an ambush attack, have been preserved.
In 2008, a memorial sign was erected at the site of the Battle of Korsun.
Hlybokiy Yar tract Vyhraiv
Rating
Add to favorites
Add to route
Monument
A monument to the heroes of Mykhaylo Starytskyi's play "Behind two hares", Svyryd Holokhavstov and Pronya Prokopivna, is erected in Cherkasy, although this city has nothing to do with the events described in the play.
The images of popular characters, embodied by Oleh Borisov and Marharyta Krynitsyna, are taken from the film comedy "Behind two hares", filmed based on Starytskyi's play at the Oleksandr Dovzhenko Kyiv Film Studio.
The sculpture, made of fiberglass and painted bronze, was commissioned by the owners of the "House of Fashion" located here, as the characters of the play were distinguished by their love for fashionable clothes. Sculptor Oleksandr Hulbis.
Heroyiv Nebesnoyi Sotni Street, 61 Cherkasy
Museum / gallery
The People's Museum of the village of Holovkivka is located in the center of the village. Founded in 2004 at the expense of patron Borys Kuzyk.
The exhibition is housed in 5 small halls. On a large topographical map, the memorial places of the village are marked.
The archaeological department presents tools and decorations of the Bronze Age, Roman coins, agricultural tools of the Cossack age.
A separate hall is dedicated to the Holodny Yar events of the first half of the 20th century.
Shkilna Street Holovkivka
Palace / manor , Architecture
The manor of the Holovynsky landowners in Stebliv is located on the high rocky bank of the Bobrovytsya River at its confluence with the Ros.
The Holovynsky took ownership of Stebliv in 1812 from its senior owners, the Voronetsky. The new owners contributed to the industrial development of the town by building sugar and distilleries, as well as a large cloth factory.
In their estate, the Holovynskis laid out a park with gazebos and built a palace with outbuildings. In 1825, Herman Holovynsky hosted the Polish poet Adam Mitskevych here. The wing in which the poet lived has been preserved. The rest of the manor buildings, including the palace, were destroyed during the Soviet era.
Not far from the outhouse is the "Mitskevych Rock", which offers a magnificent panorama of Ros.
Partyzanska Sreet, 9 Stebliv
Temple
The wonderful church in honor of the Holy Apostles Peter and Paul is one of the most beautiful churches in the Cherkasy region.
The Peter and Paul Church was built in 2007 according to the project of architect Anatoliy Ditkovsky at the expense of patron Volodymyr Movchan.
Inside, there is a five-tiered iconostasis in the Ukrainian Baroque style. The church has seven domes, the belfry has 11 bells, the largest of which weighs 1,950 kilograms.
The entrance to the temple is decorated with bronze bas-reliefs of the holy apostles Peter and Paul, above which a mosaic image of the icon of the Holy Mother of God is installed.
Soborna Street, 9 Talne
Temple , Architecture
The wooden church of the holy apostles Peter and Paul was built in Velykyi Khutir in 1892 on the site of the old church founded at the end of the 18th century by Count Petro Zavadovsky.
Cross-shaped in plan, the temple is made in the style of classicism.
In 1931, the Bolsheviks closed the Peter and Paul Church, removed the domes from it and turned the building into a collective farm storeroom. But in 1942, during the German occupation, the service was resumed. Since then, the temple has not been closed, but the domes have not been restored.
On April 22, 2023, by the decision of the assembly of parishioners, the Peter and Paul Church in Velykyi Khutir became Ukrainian - the registered charter of the religious community of the parish of the Holy Apostles Peter and Paul of the Orthodox Church of Ukraine.
Molodizhna Street Velykyi Khutir
The Holy Ascension Church in Matusiv is a majestic charm in the style of classicism. The construction of the temple began in 1812 immediately after Napoleon's invasion of Russia, and the construction was completed in 1818.
The Ascension Church was built at the expense of a well-known patron, local landowner, Major General of the Russian Army Oleksiy Orlov, a hero of the Franco-Russian War. It is assumed that the author of the project could be the famous Kyiv architect Andriy Melenskyi, who was a friend of the Orlov family. In the lower part of the drum of the central dome there is an inscription that the temple was built in honor of the heroes of the Patriotic War of 1812. The painting of the 1900s has been preserved.
Near the church is a grave monument to an unknown lieutenant of the Russian army, who died in 1915 during battles with German troops in the First World War.
Todosya Osmachky Street, 31A Matusiv
The Holy Ascension wooden church in Vodianyky is the closest copy of the 17th century Cossack church, which was built with the help of Oleksandr Cherevko, a native of the village.
The carved iconostasis, made in the Ukrainian Baroque style, has no gilding at all, which also corresponds to the canons of that time. The simplicity of the decoration is complemented by ancient icons written on boards. The bell tower is also built of wood.
The Church of the Ascension belongs to the Orthodox Church of Ukraine.
There are three windmills on the hill behind the temple. Nearby is the "Vodianyky Kish" children's camp, designed in the style of a Cossack outpost.
Grudzynskoho Street Vodianyky
The construction of the Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary in Ivanky began in 1910. Funds for the construction were collected by the whole village, and construction work was carried out by the toloka. The church was consecrated in 1914.
The iconostasis was made by the masters of the Kyiv-Pechersk Lavra, and the temple itself had the shape of a large cross. In 1936, the building was handed over to the collective farm for storage, but the dome and bell tower were not demolished. In 1941, during the offensive, the Germans burned the church. In 1962, the building was transformed into the House of Culture.
In the late 2000s, the church was returned to the religious community of the village, and in 2010 the reconstruction process began. The parish of the Assumption Church in Ivanky belongs to the Orthodox Church of Ukraine. A dome was erected, and part of the walls were demolished. Reconstruction continues.
Ihorya Shcherbyny Street Ivanky
The majestic Holy Dormition Cathedral in honor of the Assumption of the Mother of God was built in Zolotonosha at the beginning of the 20th century, but its history begins with a wooden church built in the 18th century.
A hundred years later, the temple burned down, and in 1845 a stone cathedral was built on its place, but it also burned down 60 years later. The new cathedral became one of the largest temple buildings in central Ukraine.
In 1937, the Dormition Cathedral was closed, and the baths were removed from it.
Now it is a functioning church of the Orthodox Church.
Tarasa Shevchenko Street, 64 Zolotonosha
The Holy Intercession Cathedral is the main Orthodox church of Smila.
The construction of the stone church began here in 1859 at the expense of prominent patrons of the Counts of Bobrynskyi.
The Smila Church of the Intercession in Byzantium was built according to the plan of the St. Petersburg Annunciation Life Guard of the cuirassier regiment of the church, but it has larger dimensions and only one central dome.
Michurina Street, 5 Smila
The wooden church of the Holy Intercession is located in the village of Letychivka, a suburb of Monastryshche, on the shore of the Kuravskyi Pond.
It was built in 1880 on the site of the old church, known since 1776.
The church is functional and in good condition.
Shkilna Street, 5A Letychivka
Holy Intercession Krasnohirsky women's monastery was founded at the beginning of the 17th century, until 1790 it was a male monastery.
According to legends, a hermit monk from Constantinople settled in Krasna Hill near Zolotonosha in ancient times. After learning about this, the owner of the land, the Cossack Ivan Shebet-Slyuzhka, gave it to a monk to found a holy monastery. The first buildings were wooden.
The stone Transfiguration Cathedral was built in 1767-1771 according to the project of the Ukrainian architect Ivan Hryhorovych-Barsky. The Church of the Intercession (1859) and other buildings have also been preserved.
In 1922, the monastery was closed, all the shrines were transferred to the museum of the city of Cherkasy. Restored in 1941.
The icon of the Mother of God, named Dubenska, because it appeared on an oak tree, is considered the main shrine of the Holy Intercession Krasnohirsky Monastery.
Bakaivka
The Holy Kazan Cathedral in Chyhyryn was restored in 2004 on the site of the old church in honor of the Kazan Icon of the Mother of God, built in 1888 on the donation of sailors born in Chyhyryn.
The majestic temple with two domes and a bell tower was built of light brown bricks. The walls and vaults were painted with icons of saints. During the Soviet rule, until 1934, the Kazan Cathedral remained the only active temple of Chyhyryn. After the church was closed, the cathedral building was dismantled for building materials.
The Holy Kazan Cathedral was revived thanks to the help of patrons in 2004. The lower temple is consecrated in honor of Saint George.
Bohdana Khmelnytskoho Street, 31 Chyhyryn
The Church of the Holy Resurrection was built in the village of Bezpalche in the first half of the 19th century.
In Soviet times, it was used as a warehouse.
In the mid-1990s, the Resurrection Church was handed over to the UOC of the Moscow Patriarchate. Currently, a bell tower has been built and the church building itself is slowly being restored.
Pershotravneva Street Bezpalche