Українська
русский [страна агрессор]
Attractions of Ukraine
Attractions of Khmelnytskyi region
Found 204 attractions
Khmelnytskyi region
Open map
Available for
Availability settings
Temple , Architecture
The grandiose complex of the Bernardine monastery rises on a hill a little away from the center of Iziaslav.
The construction was started in 1596 after the Union of Berestey. The architect Yakub Madlena perfectly integrated the defensive monastery complex into the surrounding landscape. The main buildings were Saint Michael's Church (1602) and a huge cell building (1610), surrounded by 6-meter walls with an entrance tower and a gate.
The Bernardine monastery was damaged during the War of Liberation in 1648, but was later restored and rebuilt under the direction of the architect Paolo Fontana.
During Soviet times, the monastery was converted into a maximum security prison. The building still performs this function, so it is not possible to inspect the territory.
Patriotiv Street, 4 Iziaslav
Rating
Add to favorites
Add to route
Temple
The Baal Shem Tov Synagogue was reconstructed on the same site where the first Medzhybizh Synagogue was founded in 1442. The founder of Hasidism, the Baal Shem Tov (Besht), chose it as a place of worship when he came to Medzhybizh in 1740.
The synagogue was destroyed by the Nazis during World War II. Accurately reproduced in 2000-2004 based on old photographs and drawings by the efforts of Rabbi Israel Meir Habay. Nearby is the foundation of the Bach Synagogue.
Zamkova Street Medzhybizh
Museum / gallery
The Bilohirya History and Local Lore Museum is located in the center of Bilohirya and is the main cultural center of the village, which collects and preserves the history of the region.
The museum's exposition is presented in several spacious exhibition halls and is thematically divided into separate sections: "Nature of the Region", "History from the Most Beautiful Times to the Present", "Ethnography", etc. The new exposition is dedicated to honoring the memory of the heroes of the Russian-Ukrainian War.
Tarasa Shevchenko Street, 45 Bilohirya
Castle / fortress
The ruins of the bishop's castle stand on the steep Nadzbruchan mountain above the village of Chornokozyntsi.
From the middle of the 15th century, the fortified summer residence of the Roman Catholic bishops of Kamyanets-Podilskyi was located here. During the first century of the existence of the castle, which stands on the Wallachian road, the castle had to be renovated several times, as it was very often subjected to Tatar sieges - in 1502, 1503, 1507, 1511, 1513, 1516, and the last village was burned to the ground. The most extensive repair work was carried out after the expulsion of the Turks who ruled here from 1674 to 1699.
A two-story palace was attached to the regular castle with two round towers, and a palace-type estate was built on the southeastern slopes of the castle hill. The defensive walls had a thickness of 1.9 to 3.6 meters.
Only the ruins of the castle and the stone gate of the estate have survived to our days.
Zamkova Street Chornokozyntsi
Natural object , Rest on the water , Recreation area , Beach
A cascade of five lakes in a pine forest northwest of Slavuta, near the village of Stryhany, was formed on the site of exhausted peat quarries.
The lakes are deep, with clear and transparent water - due to the sandy bottom and a large number of artesian springs, which raise the glacial water of the Precambrian period to the surface.
There are pike, carp, crucian carp, crucian carp, tench, perch, and rare blue crayfish. There are wild ducks and swans.
During the Soviet times, on the shore of one of the Blue lakes, the Khmelnytsk NPP, located nearby, began to build the buildings of a pioneer camp and a recreation center, which remained unfinished.
Green tourism is developing in the surrounding villages. On hot summer days, there are many vacationers here, mostly motorists.
Stryhany
Natural object
Burbun waterfall is located in the canyon of the Bobrivka river. In one of the gorges of the canyon, the river forms a five-meter waterfall that flows into a small lake.
The water is clean, has a rare turquoise hue for such objects. The water temperature is low even in the summer, because the gorge is made of shell and siliceous rocks. Abundant vegetation covers the gorge from most of the sun's heat. Local residents swim in the lake in hot weather.
Tourists rarely visit this place, thanks to which its natural beauty is preserved.
Maly Yar tract Lysets
In the middle of the 18th century, the hetman of the great crown Yosyp Potoski made a proposal to found a Capuchin temple and monastery in Dunaivtsi. His father's mission was continued by his son Stanislav, who in 1751 invited the Capuchins to settle in the city. Stanislav Potoski died in 1760 before completing the construction. Since then, the monks have been forced to collect funds for the construction of the temple on their own. Only in 1790, the construction of the monastery was completed and the church was consecrated under the cover of the Immaculate Conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary and Saint Stanislav.
In 1832, the tsarist government of the Russian Empire liquidated the monastery. A year later, the church was rebuilt into the Church of the Ascension of Christ, and the monastery was handed over to an Orthodox church school.
In the 1870s, during his trip to Podillia, the famous artist and writer Napoleon Orda created a sketch of the temple of that time.
In the 1990s, the church was handed over to the Orthodox Church of Ukraine and bears the name Nativity of Christ.
Krasynskykh Street, 24 Dunaivtsi
Architecture
The stylish mansion, which now houses the Antoninivsk Town Council, was built at the beginning of the 20th century according to the project of the Viennese architect Ferdinand Fellner, the author of the Odesa Opera.
This is one of the few surviving pre-revolutionary buildings in the Art Nouveau style with the use of half-timbered timbers, which were used to build the square in front of the front gate of the Sangushko-Potocki palace. The Potocki garage for 9 cars and a workshop were located here.
Today, the restored mansion is one of the most visible and attractive architectural monuments of the village.
Svobody Avenue, 8A Antoniny
Castle / fortress , Architecture , Museum / gallery
The Casemate Tower is one of the least known fortifications in Kamyanets-Podilskyi, although it is located in the heart of the Old Town, in the courtyard behind the district council building (passage through the arch of the hospital from Hospitalna Street).
According to one version, built in 1667 as part of the city fortifications. According to another version, built in 1783-1791 as part of the guardhouse complex and in peacetime served as a toilet for detainees.
The building is round in plan, 9.5 m in diameter, with a rectangular vestibule on the north side. The walls of the upper tier, at a height of about 2 m, cut through six loophole windows.
Currently, the Casemate Tower houses an exhibition "History of fortifications of the XV-XIX centuries" with three models of fortifications, samples of cold steel and firearms, copies of ancient plans, engravings, lithographs, drawings, diagrams and more.
The annex presents a collection of Podillya smoking pipes of the XVIII century.
Virmensky Rynok Square, 6A Kamyanets-Podilskyi
The Castle Bridge in Kamyanets-Podilskyi, connecting the Old Town with the fortress, looks like a solid stone wall, but in fact, it is a kind of sarcophagus containing an earlier structure inside.
According to one of the versions, the foundation of the current bridge is a construction of the Roman era. Originally, the Castle Bridge was arched. It is built above the Smotrych Canyon where the loop of the river forms a thin rocky isthmus that separates the Old Town from the mainland. It is said that this is the only bridge in the world built along, and not across, the river bed.
The Castle Bridge acquired its current appearance in the 17th century, when Kamyanets-Podilskyi was captured by the Turks. They rebuilt the bridge, using stone from the dismantled monastery of the Barefoot Carmelites. Since then, it is often called the Turkish Bridge.
On the side of the city, the powerful defensive structures of the City Gate (XVI-XVIII centuries) and the Armenian Bastion (XVI-XVII centuries) have been preserved. There is a cafe in the laboratory casemate.
Zamkova Street Kamyanets-Podilskyi
The Chabanivka Village History Museum was founded in 1990 by the director of the local school, Vasyl Romanyuk. It is located in the premises of the village's House of Culture.
The most impressive part of the Chabanivka Museum is a large-scale unique mural by the Kamyanets-Podilskyi artist Volodymyr Lashko, created by him on three-story staircases. The murals on the walls reflect the history of the village's founding, Tatar attacks, the legend of maiden tears and the fern flower, which a brave girl came to Kupala for, and religious holidays.
The museum's exposition illustrates the history of the village from its founding to the present. A separate room, stylized as an old village hut, has been allocated for the ethnographic exposition.
Panteleya Street, 2 Chabanivka
Palace / manor , Architecture
The palace of Chetvertynsky princes in Stryhany was built in 1904 in Western European forms.
During the Soviet regime, he served as a village council, then as a sanatorium for tuberculosis patients.
Currently in a dilapidated state.
Okhman Street, 1 Stryhany
Castle / fortress , Architecture
The Renaissance city gate of Sataniv is part of the fortification system of the medieval city. Protected the southern entrance to Sataniv.
The gate was built in the 15th century at the confluence of the Zbruch River with an unnamed stream. In the 16th century, it was rebuilt and became part of the general system of defensive walls of the city, connecting with the castle. In 1724, Adam Senyavsky restored the damaged gate by building a toothed decorative parapet on white stone consoles.
The thickness of the walls of the stone square structure reaches 2.2 meters. The walls have loopholes with cheeks that expand in both directions. Remains of white stone decoration in the Baroque style have been preserved.
Buzkova Street, 15 Sataniv
The Central Department of Registration of Civil Status Acts (RCSA) of Khmelnytskyi is located in the former mansion of one of the Proskuriv doctors, built in 1903.
From July 19, 1914, the headquarters of the 8th Army of the South-Western Front under the command of General Oleksiy Brusylov was based in this building. In the 1960s and 1970s, a city children's hospital operated here. Since 2001, it has been a palace of ceremonial events.
Heroyiv Mariupolya Street, 4 Khmelnytskyi
The palace in Bozhykivtsi was built in the late 19th and early 20th centuries by Zdyslavom Kolonna-Chesnovsky, a Polish landowner with Italian roots.
From 1923 to the present, the Chesnovsky manor houses a secondary school. Other manor houses have been preserved. The wing houses a kindergarten, and the bakery houses a country club. The former distillery was converted into a starch factory in 1931.
In 1998, the museum of the journalist and writer Dmytro Prylyuk was opened, a memorial plaque was installed on the school building.
Sedzyuka Street, 21 Bozhykivtsi