Attractions of Ukraine

Right arrow

Attractions of Kharkiv region

Attractions of Kharkiv region

Online travel guide to attractions and sights of Kharkiv region

Found 181 attractions

Kharkiv region

change

Sights categories

Available for

Availability settings

Clear filters

All attractions and sights of Kharkiv region

Успенська церква, Барвінкове
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Holy Assumption Church

Temple , Architecture

The Church of the Assumption in Barvinkove ​​was founded in 1876 and consecrated in 1884.

The temple was built in the late Byzantine style in honor of the exploits of the Barvinkove regiment, which became famous during the liberation of Bulgaria from Ottoman rule. The emperor donated a silver guard to the temple, and the imperial court - a large iconostasis of the work of artists of the Cathedral of Christ the Savior in Moscow.

During the Bolshevik revolution at the beginning of the 20th century, all the decoration of the temple was destroyed. During World War II, the altar was destroyed by a bomb, but most of the church survived. Assumption Church was recreated in its original form during the restoration in 1982.

Map pin icon Ivana Plysa Street, 3 Barvinkove

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Свято-Богоявленська церква, Молодова
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Holy Epiphany Church

Temple , Architecture

The small one-story brick church of the Epiphany is located in the center of the village of Molodova on a high hill.

The temple was built for ten years at the expense of small landowners and residents of the surrounding villages, services began in 1896. In the 1930s, the church was closed by the Soviet authorities, and the high bell tower was destroyed.

Until 2011, the building stood dilapidated. Currently, the Holy Epiphany Church in Molodova is being restored.

Map pin icon Molodova

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Свято-Покровський собор, Чугуїв
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Holy Intercession Cathedral

Temple , Architecture

The Holy Intercession Cathedral is an architectural monument that adorns the central square of Chuhuiv.

It was built in the first half of the 19th century according to the project of the architect Vasyl Stasov in the style of classicism. The cathedral was built under the leadership of the architects of the military settlements, and the construction was completed by the architect Schrader. The mosaics and frescoes were executed by the Italian artist Petro Rosetti (he was assisted by local masters), icon painting works by the Kharkiv artist Ivan Kulikov.

During Soviet times, the building lost its dome, bell tower and all interior decoration. Until recently, a picture gallery was located here. In 2009, the cathedral was returned to believers, and restoration is underway.

Map pin icon Soborna Square, 5 Chuhuiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Свято-Покровський монастир, Харків
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Holy Intercession Monastery

Temple , Architecture

The Holy Intercession Monastery in Kharkiv is the oldest building preserved in the city. In the 17th century, the monastery was part of the system of fortifications of the Kharkiv fortress. The Belfry of the Intercession Cathedral (1689) looks like a defensive tower.

The entrance gate is decorated with an icon of the Savior Not Made by Hands. On the territory there is the Ozeryan Church (1896), the bishop's house, the abbot's house and a cell block with a refectory. In 1726, the Kharkiv Collegium was founded here, where the philosopher Hryhoriy Skovoroda taught (the monument is erected), and the writer Hryhoriy Kvitka-Osnovyanenko worked.

For the 2000th anniversary of Christianity, the figure of Jesus Christ was established.

Map pin icon Universytetska Street, 8 Kharkiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Озерянська церква, Харків
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Holy Ozeryanska Church

Temple , Architecture

The Church of the Annunciation of the Ozeryanska Icon of the Mother of God was founded in 1892 on the former outskirts of Kharkiv. Since 1874, there was a chapel at this place, where prayers were served during processions with the Ozeryanska Icon of the Mother of God (Hodigitria).

The new majestic Holy Ozeryanska Church designed by Volodymyr Nemkin was made of red unplastered brick in the eclectic forms of the Byzantine-Rus style. The facades of the building are full of architectural details borrowed from ancient Rus cult architecture. A slender four-tiered belfry with a height of about 40 meters is connected to the western vestibule.

In 1938, the church was closed, the episcopal chair was transferred to the Kazanska Church on Lysa Hill. Services in the Ozeryanska Church in Kharkiv resumed in 1942.

Map pin icon Poltavsky Shlyakh Street, 124 Kharkiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Свято-Преображенський собор, Ізюм
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Holy Transfiguration Cathedral

Temple , Architecture

The five-domed Holy Transfiguration Cathedral in Izium is one of the oldest stone buildings in the Slobozhanshchyna.

It was part of the city fortifications, and the architectural ensemble of the city center formed around it. It was built at the expense of Colonels Kostyantyna Donets-Zakharzhevskyi and Fedir Shydlovskyi in 1684 in the Ukrainian Baroque style by a team of craftsmen who later built the Intercession Cathedral in Kharkiv, erected churches in Nizhyn and Baturyn.

The architecture of the Holy Transfiguration Cathedral uses the traditional forms of a three-timbered wooden church with a separate bell tower. In 1903, the engineer Mykhaylo Lovtsov carried out a reconstruction in a neo-Russian style: new domes with bulbous heads were erected, kokoshniks were built on top of the walls.

In 1953-1955, the architectural monument was restored to its original form.

During the full-scale Russian invasion of Ukraine in 2022, the Holy Transfiguration Cathedral was heavily damaged and partially lost its glazing due to shelling by the Russian army.

Map pin icon Staroposhtova Street, 12 Izium

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Преображенська церква, Нова Водолага
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Holy Transfiguration Church

Temple , Architecture

The Holy Transfiguration Church in Nova Vodolaha was founded in 1821 on the site of an old wooden church that had existed since 1750. In 1830, thanks to the efforts of the parishioners, the construction was completed, and the next year the church was consecrated.

The Transfiguration Church is an example of post-classicism in architecture. It is surrounded by a massive stone fence with stylized towers and iron gates, which emphasizes the completeness of the structure and makes it look like a fortress.

In the 1920s, the Bolsheviks closed the temple and removed all objects made of gold, silver and ivory. Divine service resumed in 1943. There are many icons in the church, there are paintings by old masters of Nova Vodolaha, in particular the icon painter Borysenko. The most revered icon of Saint Ioasaf of Belhorod.

Map pin icon Kooperatyvna Square, 11 Nova Vodolaha

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей горілки, Малинівка
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Horilka Museum

Museum / gallery

The first Ukrainian horilka museum opened in 2008 on the territory of the Prime distillery near Chuhuiv.

The exhibition features unusual glasses, hand-poured decanters, moonshine machines, old and modern bottles, labels and posters from different historical eras and many others. More than 1,000 unique exhibits reveal the history of the production and consumption of a drink traditional for the Slavic peoples.

Free tours of the factory are held, during which you can familiarize yourself with the production process and visit the main workshops of the factory: depalletization, water preparation, three levels of blending workshops, a bottling and palletizing workshop, as well as premises of the administrative and household complex - a laboratory, a tasting room, a Mendeleev gallery, etc. .

You can order a professional tasting of TM Prime products.

Map pin icon Olimpiyska Street, 1 Malynivka

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Будинок зі шпилем, Харків
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

House with a Spire

Architecture

A high-rise apartment building in the center of Kharkiv in the style of the "Stalin Empire" is called "House with a Spire".

It occupies an entire block on the corner of maidan Konstytutsiyi. It was built in 1950-1954 according to the project of the architect Petro Oreshkin for the employees of the Kharkiv Turbine Plant.

The main 7-story part of the building with an 11-story tower is topped by a spire, which gave the building its name.

According to the voting results in 2008, the "House with a Spire" was included in the list of "Seven Wonders of Kharkiv".

Map pin icon maidan Konstytutsiyi, 2/2 Kharkiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей-квартира Гризодубових, Харків
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Hryzodubov Family Memorial Museum-Apartment

Museum / gallery

The memorial apartment museum of the Hryzodubov family is dedicated to the pioneer of Kharkiv aviation, pilot-aircraft designer Stepan Hryzodubov and his daughter - an outstanding pilot, world record holder Valentyna Hryzodubova. 

The Museum is a branch of the Famous Kharkiv Residents Museum.

The museum opened in 1970 in a three-room apartment, where from 1922 to 1965 the first Kharkiv aircraft designer Stepan Hryzodubov lived and his daughter, pilot Valentyna Hryzodubova, spent her youth. The museum's exposition presents almost 5,000 exhibits of the main fund, memorial items of the Hryzodubov family and personal belongings of other prominent people in aviation and cosmonautics, pilots, engineers, scientists.

The Memorial Museum-Apartment of the Hryzodubov Family is a branch of the Famous Kharkiv Residents Museum.

Map pin icon Myronosytska Street, 54B, apartment 2 Kharkiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Храм ікони "Стягнення Загиблих", Харків
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Icon of the Mother of God "Recovery of the Dead" Church

Temple

The Church of the Icon of the Mother of God "Recovery of the Dead" was built in 2006 in memory of fallen soldiers participating in local wars. The initiator was the Kharkiv Regional Union of Veterans of Afghanistan.

Initially, it was planned to build a chapel near the monument to internationalist soldiers who died in Afghanistan, but later it was decided to build a temple for 250 people. It was named after the icon of the Mother of God "Recovery of the Dead" - a revered image before which mothers pray for their dying children.

In the future, the temple complex should also include a bell tower and a church park.

Map pin icon Kultury Street, 22A Kharkiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей Іллі Рєпіна, Чугуїв
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Illya Repin Art Memorial Museum

Museum / gallery

The Art Memorial Museum house-museum of Illya Repin is located in Chuhuiv in a small one-story building from the time of military settlements (beginning of the 19th century) on the former Nikitynska Street, where the famous artist lived and worked in 1876-1877.

The initial - quite simple situation is recreated. The main exposition is devoted to the Chuhuiv period in Repin's life and work, as well as to the artist's close ties with Ukraine, which were not interrupted throughout his life.

Repin's personal belongings are collected here - a blue velvet beret, a white vest, a device for quick removal of shoes and others.

Unique works of local painters and icon painters of the 19th century - Repin's teachers from Chuhuiv are also presented. Four icons and some other works of Repin are exhibited: a portrait of Verovkina, drawings, etchings.

The museum's collections also include works by famous artists from the Repin area: Valentyn Syerov, Volodymyr Mayakovsky, Petro Vereshchahin, Mykola Pymonenko, Ivan Pelevin.

Map pin icon Muzeyna Street, 8 Chuhuiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Церква Покрови Богородиці, Пархомівка
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Intercession of Holy Virgin Church

Temple , Architecture

The Church of the Intercession of the Holy Virgin in Parkhomivka was part of the Podhorichani count estate.

The first wooden church in Parkhomivka was founded back in 1704, in its place Count Ivan Podhorichani built a five-domed wooden church after 1769, and in 1808 the widow of Count Varvara Podhorichani (Shydlovska) decided to build a new stone church .

The single-domed church in the style of classicism was designed by Kharkiv provincial architect Petro Yaroslavskyi, who is considered the founder of the Ukrainian school of classicist architecture. An interesting feature of the architecture of the Intercession Church is two bell towers. According to experts, this is a peculiar interpretation of the three-domed church, an echo of the Ukrainian folk architecture of the 17th century.

A feature of the interior is the choirs in the three branches of the building. The painting on the sails and above the main entrance has been preserved.

In the 1960s, the church was closed and turned into a warehouse. Only 50 years later, the Intercession Church began to be used for its intended purpose again.

Map pin icon Kooperatyvna Street, 16 Parkhomivka

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Іванівський форт, Слобожанське
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Ivanivsky Fort (Saint John's Fortress)

Castle / fortress

Ivanivsky Fort (Saint John's Fortress) is part of the Ukrainian Defense Line.

At the beginning of the 18th century, this structure was built using only shovels and sacks to move the earth. A regular square. There are four bastions at the corners. In front of the southern and eastern walls are triangular ravelins, behind which hundreds of horsemen could hide. The shelves for the defenders of the fort are clearly visible on the tops of the walls. Inside the fort is a round pit of unclear purpose (most likely a reservoir). The fort is surrounded by a moat along its perimeter, and earthen ramparts with moats approach from the west and east.

The correct proportions, thoughtfulness of all components are impressive.

Map pin icon Slobozhanske

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Пожежно-технічна виставка, Ізюм
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Izium Fire and Technical Exhibition

Museum / gallery

The Izium branch of the Kharkiv Fire and Technical Exhibition was founded in 1996.

The exposition is divided into thematic sections: "History of the development of fire protection in Ukraine and the city of Izium", "Automation of technological processes. Fire protection of materials and structures", "State fire supervision. Regulatory and technical work. Fire prevention propaganda", "Harvest protection", "Development of fire equipment in Ukraine. Modern fire engines", "Service, training and combat work of fire protection", "Automatic means of detecting and extinguishing fires", "Civil protection. Consequences of fires".

Map pin icon Almazny Lane, 1A Izium

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Functional temporarily unavailable