Українська
русский [страна агрессор]
Attractions of Ukraine
Attractions of Kharkiv region
Found 181 attractions
Kharkiv region
Open map
Available for
Availability settings
Museum / gallery
The exposition of the Izium Museum of Local Lore named after Mykola Sibilov is located in an old residential building built in 1818 (reconstructed).
Currently, the museum has more than 11 thousand units of storage of fixed assets. The exposition presents archeological finds of different epochs and cultures, ancient tools, Polovtsian stone statues, etc. Special attention should be paid to: a beautiful numismatic collection, which presents rare coins, the Gospel in silver and gold - a gift from Peter I Izium Transfiguration cathedral (edition of the beginning of the XVIII century), personal belongings of the family of the Decembrist Andriy Rosen, works of painting: sketches by Serhiy Vasylkivsky, paintings by Mykhaylo Fedoriv, Vasyl Zabashta, Fenya Kogan.
During the large-scale Russian invasion of Ukraine, Izium found itself on the front line. The city was under full occupation from April to September. The infrastructure and residential multi-apartment buildings in Izium have been destroyed by 80%. The Museum of Local History also suffered significant damage - a Russian projectile hit the museum building. In addition, part of the collection was looted by the Russians. However, the workers of the Izium Museum of Local History managed to save the most valuable exhibits - the Gospel of 1707 in a silver and gilded frame, issued by Hetman Ivan Mazepa, as well as a portrait of Andriy Samborskyi, a well-known public figure of the 18th and 19th centuries in the Slobozhan region, made by his famous contemporary Yohan Baptist Lampi, and other valuable canvases , objects of the Cossack era.
Soborna Street, 12 Izium
Rating
Add to favorites
Add to route
Architecture , Museum / gallery
Kharkiv Art Museum is one of the oldest and most valuable art collections in Ukraine.
It is located in two old houses in the style of classicism with elements of baroque and modernism, built in 1912 by the famous Kharkiv architect Oleksiy Beketov for the merchant and industrialist Ivan Ihnatyshchev.
The museum's collection was started in 1805 by the founder of Kharkiv University Vasyl Karazin, who bought for the university 2477 graphic works by Albrekht Dyurer, Anton van Deyk, Fransua Bushe and other Western European masters.
The Department of Ukrainian and Russian Art of the XVI-XX centuries is based on the collections of the Kharkiv Art and Industrial Museum and nationally used private collections.
Now the funds of the Kharkiv Art Museum have more than 20 thousand exhibits. Works by Ivan Ayvazovsky, Ivan Shishkin, Mykola Ge, Vasyl Surikov, Mykola Pymonenko, Fedir Krychevsky, Oleksandr Murashko, Yuriy Narbut, Tetyana Yablonska, etc. are exhibited.
A separate hall is dedicated to the work of Illya Repin. In particular, one of the versions of Illya Repin's painting "Cossacks write a letter to the Turkish sultan" is presented.
The museum offers audio guides for people with visual impairments, tactile replicas of exhibits for touch viewing (4 works from the collection) and a video tour in sign language.
Zhon Myronosyts Street, 11 Kharkiv
The Museum of the History of the Kharkiv Municipal Enterprise "City Electric Transport" was founded in 1976 to mark the seventieth anniversary of the enterprise. In 1978, it received the status of "People's Museum".
The exposition illustrates all stages of the development of electric transport in Kharkiv - from the first horse-drawn tram to the present. Photographs, documents, models of tram and trolleybus cars of Kharkiv that previously operated on routes, travel tickets of all times, composters are presented. You can also see a diagram of Kharkiv transport with promising lines in the museum.
Dobrovoltsiv Street, 5 Kharkiv
The Kharkiv Fire and Technical Exhibition was founded in 1967. Has four branches: in Bohodukhiv, Izium, Kupyansk, and Lozova.
The exhibition, which presents exhibits from almost 200 years of the existence of the regional fire service in ten thematic halls, introduces the history of the Kharkiv region's fire service, the work of the modern State Emergency Service units, and allows you to gain knowledge that will help you act correctly in an extreme situation. The museum presents the uniform of firemen (chiefs of fire departments) of the past, old horse-drawn fire trucks, the uniform of firemen (chiefs of fire departments), special equipment, a signal bell that signaled an alarm, etc.
Sportyvna Street, 1 Kharkiv
The Kharkiv Historical Museum is named after Mykola Sumtsov, a Ukrainian folklorist, ethnographer, literary critic and public figure.
It was on his initiative that the Museum of Slobidska Ukraine named after Hryhoriy Skovoroda was created in Kharkiv in 1920, which is where the history of the current museum began.
In Soviet times, the museum was located in the premises of the Holy Intercession Monastery, but in 2003 it finally moved to the building of the former pawnshop, built in 1908-1912 according to the project of architect Borys Korniyenko. During the reconstruction in 2021, a glass pavilion was added to it.
Currently, the stock collection of the Kharkiv Historical Museum includes more than 330,000 items. Archaeological finds from the excavations of Bronze Age settlements, a set of objects from the Ancient Rus period from the Donets Hillfort of the XI-XII centuries, numismatic collections, ethnographic collections, collections of weapons, flags, etc. are collected in four departments. In particular, the only Ukrainian hetman flag of the 17th century, which belonged to Ivan Mazepa and two other Ukrainian hetmans, is presented. Another key exhibit is the "Kharkiv Fortress" diorama, which shows the appearance of the city in the 17th century.
The outdoor area displays military equipment, including the British Mark V heavy tank from the First World War and the Soviet T-34-85 from the Second World War. The nearby metro station "Historical Museum" was named in honor of the institution.
Universytetska Street, 5 Kharkiv
The Kharkiv Holocaust Museum was established in 1996 on the basis of materials and documents from the personal archive of Larysa Volovik.
The museum`s exposition presents leaflets, posters of the occupation period, resettlement orders, various actions against Jews throughout Ukraine.
The names of 52 Righteous of the World - Kharkiv residents who saved Jews during the war, risking their own lives, are immortalized in the Kharkiv Holocaust Museum.
Yaroslava Mudroho Street, 28 Kharkiv
Architecture
The mansion of the family of Kharkiv architect Oleksiy Beketov has been occupied by the Center for Science, Culture and Art "Kharkiv House of Scientists" since 1934.
Academician of architecture Oleksiy Beketov is considered a luminary among Kharkiv architects. In his work, he gravitated towards classical architecture, although he worked mainly in the Art Nouveau style. During more than half a century of work, he built about 40 buildings in Kharkiv, which largely determined the current architectural appearance of the city.
His own house in the former Myronosytskyi Lane is particularly elegant. The date of the start of construction - 1897 - is carved on the frieze under the pediment. The eclectic architecture of the building uses the forms of ancient Greece of the Hellenistic era. To the right of the entrance on the second floor there used to be a loggia, the entablature of which was supported by three caryatids. Multi-figure high-relief inserts are placed above the windows of the first floor. The second floor is framed by a colonnade of the Ionic order.
The ceremonial hall is decorated with stucco molding and a painted ceiling on the ceiling by the artist Mykola Uvarov. The dining room is painted in the style of ancient Russian terems by the artist Mykhaylo Pestrykov. Beketov's office is decorated with carved oak.
A central wooden staircase with carved oak handrails, lit by a large stained-glass window, connects the rooms.
Zhon Myronosyts Street, 10 Kharkiv
The Kharkiv airport began operating in 1932 after the completion of the construction of the "Osnova" airfield and the airport's service buildings.
In 1933, he was given the name of Pavo Postyshev. In 1936, Kharkiv Airport was recognized as the best airport in the USSR. In the pre-war years, it was an independent self-supporting unit directly subordinated to the Main Directorate of Civil Aviation. Air routes leading to the Crimea and the Caucasus pass through the airport. The largest passenger plane of those years - the six-engine giant P-124 (ANT-20bis) made a landing in Kharkiv on its way to Mineralny Vody airport. In 1941, a concrete runway was built at the airfield. With the beginning of the Second World War, the personnel of the airport became part of the Kyiv and Kharkiv special air groups of the Civil Air Fleet.
The existing airport terminal was built in the post-war years according to a typical project developed by the Moscow Research Institute "Aeroproject" in 1951 (architects Elkin, Kryukov, Mitkevych). This project was applied in Lviv, Sverdlovsk (now Yekaterinburg), Chelyabinsk and other cities of the USSR. The construction of the airport began in 1951, and its opening was dedicated to the pompous celebration of the 300th anniversary of the reunification of Ukraine with Russia. From the outside, the building of the air terminal is distinguished by the increased grandeur characteristic of the "Stalinist" architecture of the 30s - 50s. The central entrance is decorated with an eight-column portico with a high parapet of a complex outline. An elegant octagonal turret with a slender tent and a spire topped with a gilded wreath rises above the building. The interiors are richly equipped with stucco architectural details and paintings.
In 2010, a new international terminal "A" was opened, and the old one was reconstructed and turned into a VIP passenger service terminal.
Mriyi Street, 1 Kharkiv
Museum / gallery , Architecture
Kharkiv Literary Museum was opened in 1988 in an old mansion of the beginning of the 20th century.
The core of the collection consists of exhibits from the 1910s-1930s from the archives of Ivan Dniprovsky, Mariya Pylynska, Andriy Chernyshov (autographed books, correspondence of writers, photographs, personal belongings), original paintings by Kharkiv avant-garde artists (Nina Kosareva's collection), copies and originals of documents , which were transferred to the Ministry of Internal Affairs of Ukraine (Khotkevych's criminal case, Les Kurbas's passport, etc.), memorial exhibits "Vaplite" and others.
In addition to exhibitions, tours and interactive programs, Litmuseum offers events in the evening hours: presentations, cultural discussions, meetings with artists, master classes.
RUSSIAN-UKRAINIAN WAR
On the night of March 1, 2025, as a result of the Russian attack on Kharkiv, the building of the Kharkiv Literary Museum suffered significant damage.
Dmytra Bahaliya Street, 6 Kharkiv
The Kharkiv Municipal Gallery began its activities in 1996 and became the first gallery of municipal status in Ukraine. The main direction of activity is work with contemporary Ukrainian artists.
In its exhibition policy, the gallery combines programs and exhibitions of masters of traditional painting, graphics, sculpture, photography with projects of contemporary art, new media. Artists of the gallery: Borys Mykhaylov, Vitaliy Kulikov, Viktor Hontariv, Serhiy Bratkov, Viktor Sydorenko, Pavlo Makov, Vachahan Norazyan, Eduard Yashyn, Oleksandr Ridniy, Hanna Ivanova, Volodymyr Kochmar and many others, as well as a team of young authors: Alina Kleytman, Anton Tkachenko, Artem Volokitin, Vitaliy Kokhan, Hamlet Zynkivskiy, Hanna Bykova, Konstyantyn Zorkin, Olena Polyashchenko, Olha Fedorova, Roman Minin.
The gallery has two exhibition spaces: the main hall (more than 100 square meters) and the ARTbasement (140 square meters), which specializes in youth and experimental art.
Chernyshevska Street, 15 Kharkiv
Kharkiv National University named after Vasyl Karazin is one of the oldest and largest universities in Eastern Europe.
It was founded in 1805 as Kharkiv Imperial University. The initiator was the outstanding scientist and educator Vasyl Karazin, whose name the higher educational institution bears today.
Count Severyn Potoski became the first trustee of the university, he formed the teaching staff. Initially, the university was located in the Governor General's house, later it was moved to new buildings on Svobody Maidan.
Over two centuries, Kharkiv University became the center of Ukrainian national cultural revival, played an important role in the development of modern Ukrainian science and culture, and turned Kharkiv into one of the leading intellectual centers of the country. Today, 15,000 students study at 20 faculties of Kharkiv National University.
The University includes the Botanical Garden, the Museum of Nature, the Museum of Archeology and Ethnography, the University History Museum, "Landau Center", "Yermilov Center", Henrikh Semyradsky Art Gallery.
From the first days of Russia's large-scale invasion of Ukraine in 2022, Russian forces bombarded Kharkiv. Karazin University, which is one of Kharkiv's landmarks, was no exception to Russian missiles and projectiles. Some of its hulls are badly damaged. By the beginning of 2023, 25% of the university buildings have been destroyed.
maidan Svobody, 4 Kharkiv
The State Museum of Nature of the Vasyl Karazin Kharkiv National University is one of the oldest museums in Europe. It was founded by Count Severyn Potocki in 1807, who in 1806 bought a collection of foreign objects collected by Professor Andre from the Hanoverian pharmacist Gruner, and in 1807 - the zoological collection of the Italian Chetti.
In 23 halls of the museum there are scientific expositions of four departments: geology, invertebrates and vertebrates, evolution of the organic world and nature conservation. The exhibits in the halls are demonstrated not only in the form of systematic collections, but also in the form of biogroups and spectacular dioramas equipped with audiovisual means, and are distinguished by high quality artistic design. The scientific funds of the museum store more than 250 thousand exhibits.
Trinklera Street, 8 Kharkiv
The Kharkiv Planetarium was opened in 1957 on the initiative of the prominent astronomer Mykola Barabashov.
The "Middle Zeiss" apparatus is installed in the hall, which allows, in addition to the starry sky, to demonstrate other celestial phenomena.
The museum of cosmonautics and ufology (the science of the existence of extraterrestrial civilizations) works at the planetarium. Presented are four-meter figures of aliens, models of flying saucers made on the basis of eyewitness accounts, photographs of UFOs.
Kravtsova Lane, 15 Kharkiv
Natural object
"Kharkiv Switzerland" is a picturesque area in the valley of the Siverskyi Donets river south of Zmiiv.
The hills above the river offer wonderful views that have long inspired artists. Thus, the artist Petro Levchenko depicted this area in the painting "In the Kharkiv Region".
It is most convenient to climb the hills in the area of the bridge over the Siverskyi Donets at the entrance to Zadonetske.
2nd kilometer of the T-2105 highway Zmiiv
Zoo
Kharkiv Zoo is the oldest in Ukraine. The Kharkiv Zoological Garden was founded in 1896, when an exhibition of domestic animals and birds was organized on an area of 2 hectares rented near the University Garden. Later, the exhibition was replenished with wild animals, which were delivered to Kharkiv by residents of the surrounding villages.
In 1906, the construction and equipment of the main building of the aquarium was completed. In 1911, the South Russian Acclimatization Society decided to set up a zoo in Kharkiv, which became the third largest zoo in the Russian Empire. At the expense of the Society, winter premises and summer enclosures were built, wild animals and birds were purchased, some of which came from the Askania-Nova reserve.
During the Soviet-Ukrainian war at the beginning of the 20th century, the zoo was destroyed. In 1921, it began to be restored, and within a year, the capital's (at that time) Kharkiv Zoo was again open to visitors. In 1928, a whole echelon of animals arrived from Germany, including a lion, leopard, llama, kangaroo, mongoose, monkey, parrot, white-cheeked kazakh and many others. Swans, pelicans and about a hundred other species of waterfowl were brought from Transcaucasia. A pond with an area of 2,400 square meters was built in the ravine for geese, swans, flamingos and other aquatic animals. In the 1930s, a "mountain enclosure" with artificial slides was built, where turus, gazelles, and mouflons lived in conditions closest to natural ones. An elephant house, a monkey house, an aviary, pens for ungulates were built.
During the Second World War, most of the animals died, the zoo was rebuilt on an almost empty site. A new aquarium, winter quarters for large animals, pools for fish and waterfowl were built, and tens of thousands of trees and shrubs were replanted. During the time of the reforms, there were problems with financing and feeding the animals, and their number decreased somewhat.
Now it is one of the most favorite leisure places of Kharkiv residents - adults and children.
Sumska Street, 35 Kharkiv