Українська
русский [страна агрессор]
Attractions of Ukraine
Attractions of Lviv region
Found 469 attractions
Lviv region
Open map
Available for
Availability settings
Museum / gallery , Entertainment / leisure
The first oceanarium in Lviv opened in 2020 in the city center, on Tarasa Shevchenko Avenue, in the former premises of the "Kyiv" cinema. This is one of the projects of a team of professional aquarists led by Oleksandr and Yana Yanovsky.
On three floors there is a labyrinth with more than 20 aquariums of various sizes, as well as an underwater tunnel 18 meters long. At the time of its opening, the collection included more than 3,000 different sea creatures. In particular, blacktip sharks, three types of rays, spotted gars, porcupinefiseh, clownfishes, yellowface angelfishes, red lionfishes, Midas cichlids, giant gouramis, piranhas and other types of fish and sea turtles live in the oceanarium.
Excursions are conducted in Ukrainian, Russian, English and Polish. A souvenir shop is open, orders for aquarium fish are accepted.
Tarasa Shevchenko Avenue, 8 Lviv
Rating
Add to favorites
Add to route
Museum / gallery
The Lviv Photo Museum opened in 2023 in the basement of the Palace of Arts on Mykoly Kopernyka Street in Lviv.
The museum's exposition presents a unique collection of thousands of rare exhibits, which have been collected by the Lviv collector Roman Metelsky for years. These are cameras from the late 19th to the 21st centuries from all over the world, old equipment for viewing slides and films, photographs and photo frames, etc.
The museum consists of a permanent exhibition and a temporary changing exhibition. During the excursion, you can explore the world history of the development of photography and photographic equipment, the history of Lviv photography, the history of Ukrainian enlightenment and cinema in Lviv, and learn the personal stories of Lviv photo artists.
Mykoly Kopernyka Street, 17 Lviv
Theater / show , Architecture
The Lviv Puppet Theater was founded in 1946. It is located in a building that was built in 1913 as the "Craft Chamber" according to the project of architect Yan Protshke.
The building is made in the Neo-Renaissance style. Nowadays, fragments of authentic stained-glass windows in the Secession style and incredible forging are still preserved on the ceiling.
The Lviv Puppet Theater began its activities with the premiere of the folk tale "Ivasyk-Telesyk" based on Ivan Franko's fairy tale.
Danyla Halytskoho Square, 1 Lviv
The Lviv Railway History Museum is dedicated to the creation and development of the oldest railway line in Ukraine. It was founded in 1973 and became the first railway museum in Ukraine. It is located in the Palace of Science and Technology of the Lviv-West locomotive depot next to the railway station.
The exposition of the museum tells about the birth and construction of the Lviv Railway in Halychyna, Volhynia, in the Carpathians and further south to the city of Chernivtsi during the times of Austria-Hungary, Poland, the USSR and at the current stage of Ukraine's development.
Among the exhibits are rare documents, photographs, tools, devices, models, equipment and uniforms of employees of railway professions from different times. The pride of the museum is the album "Volodymyr-Volynskyi - Sokal Line" published in 1916, trilingual passenger tickets from 1918-1921, as well as the Koptomir counting machine, which was used until 1939.
Yuriya Fedkovycha Street, 54/56 Lviv
The Lviv Region Electrification History Museum was opened in 2018 at the initiative of Lvivoblenergo PJSC. The exhibition is located on the first floor of the "Lvivoblenergo" building near the "Zalizna Voda" park.
The museum tells about the history of energy development in Lviv from the end of the 19th century. In particular, the model of the first electric tram, which was launched in the city in 1894, is presented. Visitors are offered to set the tram in motion with the help of a dynamo.
You can also see a plan for the laying of cable lines of the city of Lviv from 1908, a copy of a street arc lamp from 1909, a model of a coal mine and its electrical equipment, electric meters from different times, working tools and remains of electricians.
The interior of the laboratory of engineer-inventor Nikola Tesla is reproduced in the museum, and the work of the Tesla coil is demonstrated.
In front of the entrance to the museum, there is a stand dedicated to the memory of Taras Krukenytskyi, director of the Lviv City Electricity Networks. A landmark for visitors is the mural depicting Nikola Tesla and Thomas Edison on the fence.
Visiting the museum is possible only with a guided tour and by prior appointment.
Yuriya Mushaka Street, 56 Lviv
Museum / gallery , Architecture
The Historical and Local Lore Museum in the city of Vynnyki is a communal institution of the Lviv Regional Council. It was opened in 1991 in the former mansion of doctor Yakiv Nahlyak (1935). The exposition is located in three halls.
The archeological collection presents everyday objects of primitive hunters, finds from the Trypillian period, a unique treasure from the Hallstatt-Laten era and a mysterious stone statue. Among the archaeological artifacts of the western region of Ukraine are a Viking sword, one of three cauldrons in the world with the image of Swabian warriors, a fragment of a stone tile with a "smiling face", etc.
The expositions of the "History of the Middle Ages" and "Modern History" departments tell about the origin and development of the city of Vynnyky. In particular, items from the Vynnyky Castle and the first tobacco factory of Galicia, a collection of ancient printed publications of the 17th-19th centuries, personal belongings of the famous opera singer Oleksandra Lyubich-Parakhonyak, ministers of the Ukrainian People's Republic of Ukraine Ivan Lypa and Ivan Ohiyenko are presented.
The museum also has exhibition halls in Vynnyky, which are located in a building at 5 Ivasyuka Street. Personal, scientific, ethnographic and artistic exhibitions, thematic lectures, seminars and symposia are held here.
The departments of the Lviv Regional Historical and Local Lore Museum are:- Volodymyr Patyk Museum (Lviv);- Weaving and Carpet Making Museum (Glyniany);- Lord Homestead Museum (Zhuravnyky).
Halytska Street, 26 Vynnyky
Palace / manor , Park / garden
Before the arrival of the Bolsheviks, the romantic palace in Rozdil belonged to the Lyantskoronsky count family.
The palace was built in 1874 by Count Karol Lyantskoronsky on the site of the old manor house founded in 1704 by the Lviv Zemstvo judge Mikhal Zhevusky.
The building in the style of the French Renaissance, designed by the architect Ivan Levinsky (according to other sources – Yulian Zakharevych), has been well preserved to this day. The galleries of the palace are decorated with medallions depicting the Olympian gods.
Count Lyantskoronsky, fascinated by ancient culture, traveled a lot in Asia Minor and collected a rich collection of sculpture and painting. A large part of the collection later ended up in the Drohobych Museum of Local Lore, and recently discovered ancient sculptures in the park, which were considered to be plaster copies, are currently kept in the Lviv Art Gallery.
In Soviet times, a sanatorium functioned on the territory of the manor.
Currently, the Zhevusky-Lyantskoronsky Palace in Rozdil is in private ownership, restoration is planned.
Mykhayla Hrushevskoho Street, 33 Rozdil
Palace / manor , Architecture
The Lyantskoronsky manor in the city of Komarno was founded in the 18th century opposite the old castle. The palace in the style of classicism was built at the end of the 19th century.
Until 1939, a Polish school was located in the estate. During the Second World War, the palace was badly damaged and has not been restored since then, now it is in ruins. The park is in a very neglected state.
Sambirska Street, 72 Komarno
The Lyantskoronsky Palace was built in Tartakiv in the 19th century on the site of the Potocki Castle, founded in the 18th century by the Polish magnate Feliks Kazymyr Potocki. Fragments of ramparts and walls from the southwest side of the old defensive castle have been preserved.
A new palace in the French neo-baroque style was built in Tartakiv by Zbihnev Lyantskoronsky. It is believed that the model for the architectural project of the Tartakiv Palace was the Casino de Paris (Casino de Paris) in Monaco. The two-story palace with a risalite and a balcony has a side tower. An L-shaped utility building is attached to the house from the south.
In Soviet times, a school was located in the Lyantskoronsky Palace. In 2010, the architectural monument was handed over to a private investor under the condition of restoration and creation of a tourist center.
Tarasa Shevchenko Street Tartakiv
Palace / manor , Architecture , Museum / gallery
The elegant Renaissance building of the palace was built for Count Sapeha, but later architect Yan de Vitte rebuilt it for the Lyubomyrskyi family.
Since the 19th century, the building belonged to the Ukrainian society "Prosvita".
Currently, the premises of the Lyubomirskyi Palace house the exposition of the Museum of Ancient European Furniture and Porcelain (680 items) - a branch of the Museum of Ethnography and Art Crafts of the Institute of Ethnology of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine.
Rynok Square, 10 Lviv
Architecture
The main railway station of Lviv is also called "Dvorets". Historically, this is the oldest railway station on the territory of Ukraine. The first train arrived in Lviv in 1861.
The current building of the station was built in 1904 according to the project of the architect Vladyslav Sadlovskyi. The facade is decorated with sculptures "Industry" and "Trade".
Dvirtseva Square, 1 Lviv
Architecture , Theater / show
The National Academic Ukrainian Drama Theater named after Mariya Zankovetska, which was called the "Galician La Scala", was at one time the largest theater in Lviv.
Built in 1837-1842 at the expense of Count Stanislav Skarbek (the letter "W" of his coat of arms "Abdank" is preserved on the portal). The project of the building in the style of Viennese classicism, about 96 meters long, 76 meters wide and covering an area of more than 7,000 square meters, was developed by architects Lyudvig Pihl and Yohann Salzmann. Three horses could enter under the portal with six Ionic columns. A progressive at that time heating and ventilation system was provided.
Niccolo Paganini, Ferenc Liszt, Sarah Bernard performed on this stage.
In 1923, the tetra was named after Mariya Zankovetska.
Lesi Ukrayinky Street, 1 Lviv
The museum-reserve of the Ukrainian writer Markiyan Shashkevych was opened in 1986 in his native village of Pidlyssia on the occasion of the 175th anniversary of his birth. It is located on the territory of the restored manor of the Shashkevych family.
Markiyan Shashkevych, a religious and cultural and public figure, the initiator of the new Ukrainian literature, the "awakener" of national consciousness in Galicia, was born in Pidlyssia in 1811, and spent his childhood years there.
The first Shashkevych museum room was opened at the local library back in 1959. Later, according to descriptions and documents, the Shashkevych estate was recreated, including his grandfather's house. The house reproduces the Western Ukrainian lifestyle of the first half of the 19th century.
The exposition reveals the difficult life path, priestly, social and creative activities of Markiyan Shashkevych, in particular his chairmanship of the "Ruthenian Triad" (Ruska Triytsia) society. The central place is given to the edition of "The Mermaid of Dniester" - a folk-literary almanac, printed in 1837 in a lively colloquial Ukrainian language. Among Shashkevych's personal belongings are presented a casket and a tuning fork, handed over from Poland by Yulian Kupchynskyi.
A well and an old oak from the time of the spiritual enlightener have been preserved on the territory of the manor. A bust of Markiyan Shashkevych by Dmytro Krvavych is installed near the museum.
Museum-Reserve of Markiyan Shashkevych is a branch of the Lviv National Art Gallery.
Markiyana Shashkevycha Street, 78 Pidlyssia
The local history museum of the village of Markopil is located in the premises of the Markopil secondary school.
Since 1998 he has been working on a voluntary basis. The museum exposition is divided into the periods "Ancient History", "Markopil Castle", "Markopil during the World Wars", "School Education of Markopil".
The museum has about 1,000 exhibits.
Shkilna Street, 7 Markopil
The castle-palace of the magnate Mars family was built in Sudova Vyshnia in the 18th-19th centuries at the height of historicism. It is an architectural monument of local importance.
A park designed by Arnold Rerinh was planted around the palace. The last owner, at the beginning of the 20th century (until 1939), was the owner of the brick factory Yan Mars.
In Soviet times, the building housed a dormitory of a zoo-veterinary technical school. Currently, the palace is in a dilapidated state due to a fire that occurred in 1993.
In 2023, the ruins of the Palace of Mars were sold at auction. The new owner of the historic building was the "Foundation of the Ukrainian-Polish People's History" LLC from Rivne. As one of the future projects, the new owners are considering social housing for internally displaced persons during the Russian-Ukrainian war.
Zavodska Street, 27A Sudova Vyshnia